when did you have your afl epiphany? I was a union man for so long but in the last two seasons i've totally come around to afl, just wish I could understand the tactical side of it but damn the kicking and the marking alone has made me a regular weekend viewer of this stuff. Tonights game was awesome despite the low score.
Side note: ARC game tomorrow arvo at 4 in ballymore only $10 for students, be there cause we definitely need an australian rugby comp. |
| #0 05:37am 19/08/07 |
man, happened for me years ago
followed carlton before the lions came along (because a mate at the time was a mad carlton fan) realised the game had merit went to my first brisbane bears game and watched roger "the doger" merrit manhandle dudes up and down the field and i was hooked (mid 90s?) wifey and i had season membership (social club, oh her) for a few years before the lions started to play really well and we never had a bad time going to the footy and that awas even before the lions started to win when they started winning, it was just even better afl would have to be one of the best sports in the world, so much fitness, skill and excitement plus it makes me turn gay id so do it to browny edit: got more to add i dont think you will find more passionate supports than afl supporters, especially in melbourne, where its almost unbelievable how keen everyone is on the game. pies supporters in particular are a breed of their own. i wished i had been exposed to afl growing up in cairns (it was played up there, but just wasnt popular). playing afl as a junior has the potential to set you up for a life of being fit! if you start playing as a kid, the sky is the limit. ok, im done now, excellent thread! last edited by Spook at 07:02:41 19/Aug/07 |
| #1 07:02am 19/08/07 |
afl sux
league ftw! last edited by HeardY at 07:08:57 19/Aug/07 |
| #2 07:08am 19/08/07 |
heardy sux
| #3 07:34am 19/08/07 |
when brisbane started winning grand finals.
it ended when they lost. |
| #4 08:36am 19/08/07 |
High school when we started up a team for s***s and giggles and ended up getting into the grand final, ever since then I've been a follower.. wouldn't put it above Union though.
| #5 10:12am 19/08/07 |
sorry i read the thread title as:
epiphany -- gay related |
| #6 10:17am 19/08/07 |
mscactus
I really enjoy AFL and loved the Lions (until Lynchy retired) it just isn't quite the same for me anymore. As a football game and not just a perv, I probably rate NRL higher but as the Chief of the Furry Dwarves Footy Tipping Team, I am lobbying for the AFL to bring in Golden Point. I'm sick of the draws ruining the tipping week!!!
| #7 10:53am 19/08/07 |
Side note: ARC game tomorrow arvo at 4 in ballymore only $10 for students, be there cause we definitely need an australian rugby comp. This game is also on ABC2 at 4pm. There are 2 games on ABC/ABC2 each weekend from the ARC. Yesterday's game was Western Sydney vs Central Coast and it was awesome. The new trial rules they are using have made the game a lot faster though I don't like the rule allowing players to collapse mauls. |
| #8 11:28am 19/08/07 |
1995 I started following the Bears. I remember how big a deal it was just for them to make the finals for the first time that year, so that was fairly good timing from me to watch the rise to triple premiers. Since maybe 2000ish I've started watching whatever other games are on and almost enjoy the non-Lions games as much as the Lions games now.
| #9 11:40am 19/08/07 |
I can understand rugby people switching to AFL, because you'll pretty much fall asleep watching rugby. They have more action in an NFL timeout.
| #10 12:02pm 19/08/07 |
The GuVna
| #11 12:13pm 19/08/07 |
AFL is the worst sport ever made. The End
| #12 12:14pm 19/08/07 |
Twinsen
Aussie rules is invented by us...so you have to respect it... doing otherwise is un-Australian.
I've actually just recently had an NRL epiphany, a few months ago when storm were playing. |
| #13 12:16pm 19/08/07 |
A typical match generally can't keep me entertained in full, I'll usually wander off and come back later and watch bits of a game. Rarely will I sit and watch start to finish.
I can appreciate big marks and goals, but the scrappy play when they are fumbling the ball around on the ground detracts from the gameplay for me personally. |
| #14 01:03pm 19/08/07 |
sLiNky
I have been born and bred bears/lions fan. I used to play auskick when I was little, until my parents pulled me out to join scouts. wtf? Anywho. I played at the half time game in 1996, round 6, brisbane vs essedon. It was the first game under lights at the gabba. Since then I've been an avid supporter
| #15 06:33pm 19/08/07 |
Fubar
of all the sports afl is the best to watch.
alot better than watching a bunch of brain damaged brutts run into each other. |
| #16 07:35pm 19/08/07 |
Arguing the merits of one football code over another, so pointless. They're all rikey.
PS. Better luck next year Lions. |
| #17 03:00am 20/08/07 |
afl is a very athletic sport, i just enjoy seeing the players throw themselves around like mad c***s.
| #18 04:24am 20/08/07 |
Agamemnon
i dont mind the afl and this is from someone who is a rabid union fanatic :P
(growing up in NZ will do that to u hehe) but ya i can appreciate the skill level of those guys... but on a related note to the other Union fans in this thread...Best Rugby Website evar! 18 days to go... 18 days to lots of sleepless nights, tired days at work etc :P |
| #19 12:16pm 20/08/07 |
im gay for browny
| #20 01:17pm 20/08/07 |