Hey fellas, I am leaving this country for sometime in a few weeks. And I know my motivation for leaving but I was wondering how many other people are thinking of doing this. I am not leaving because I think this place is crap but because I am sick of the f***ing heat. Why would be the reason you would do this? If not why not? Just a curious thought I have had.
| #0 10:54am 16/05/07 |
Your leaving the country because of the heat? Move to melbourne.
| #1 10:59am 16/05/07 |
I wouldn't leave the country (for good) because of something like the heat.
I have kids so leaving for me won't be anything more than a holiday. I love this country :) |
| #2 11:00am 16/05/07 |
I want to be cold for 90% of the year and Melbourne has never real appealed to me.
| #3 11:00am 16/05/07 |
If it's the heat, why not go South to Melbourne or Sydney? I'm leaving Aus at the start of next year to goto Ireland because;
- I was born there but left when I was 2yrs old, subsequently I have a whole bunch of family that I don't know and want to meet. - My gf can earn a whole lot more bling over there than in Bris. - The heat, f***ing over it already. - Cheap travel throughout Europe and the US so I get to see some of the world. But the main reason is that I'm now engaged, next is wedding, next is children and so begins the life of "staying put". I don't want to be one of those people (neither does my gf) that has never seen the world because life made them stay in the one spot for 20yrs. |
| #4 11:02am 16/05/07 |
what the hell is wrong with you?
| #5 11:04am 16/05/07 |
Well there is more to it besides the heat that goes without saying. I want to see the world but Australia is just so far from so many places. That is both a curse and a blessing depending on how you look at it.
| #6 11:04am 16/05/07 |
I don't know if moving to Tasmania is classified as 'leaving the country'
| #7 11:06am 16/05/07 |
I'd move but I'd always come back here to retire for sure. Australia rocks.. for relaxing.
| #8 11:14am 16/05/07 |
I would consider leaving it for a change of scenery, but I'm in no hurry for that, I'm nowhere near done checking out australia's scenery yet
| #9 11:15am 16/05/07 |
you can see the world in things called planes.
Europe can get very very hot in summer time... When I was in central europe (poland/lithuania) I could not breath cause of the heat. I had to stay mainly indoors or swim... we then went to finland, helsinki (closer to npole) where the weather in summer is the best I have ever come across. |
| #10 11:23am 16/05/07 |
i'd think about leaving au for somewhere like honduras if i had a wad of phat loots & could retire early n live like a fukn tyrant with slaves n shiz. greater personal freedom, phat coke n latinos... orrrrjeh. :P
but that'll prolly never happen. if it was the heat that bothered me (n it doesnt that much) i'd goto albany in southern west australia... cool all year round... might retire there hopefully. :D |
| #11 11:34am 16/05/07 |
Another curious question. What don't you like about this place? I know nowhere is perfect but is there anything in this place that just s***s you to tears?
| #12 11:34am 16/05/07 |
Are you a fat bastard?
Also, there are lots of nice, cold places in Australia. Heck there are plenty within an hour of Brisbane. Why don't you just travel somewhere cold for a month or so during the time when Brisbane is uncomfortably cold? Brisbane weather absolutely rocks for 90% of the year. |
| #13 11:49am 16/05/07 |
To be perfectly honest I love this country totally. There is nothing I outright dislike about it, sure it has its weaknesses but I think of it as a total package.
- The heat is crap but then it allows you to swim. - Taxation is relatively high but then again we have law and order, and clean water etc. - Broadband is relatively slow but then again we have so many vast expanses for the benefits of our farmers and miners etc. All in all Australia has a little bit of everything, snow, desert, rain forest, city, country, mountains, beaches, islands. If you want cold, go to Tas, my dad goes down there every Summer and he is happy as larry with the average 15 degrees days. |
| #14 11:57am 16/05/07 |
Nah dude no I am not I just really prefer temps between 0-10 as opposed to 30.
| #15 11:58am 16/05/07 |
In for the cold, I'd love to move to canada. Planning on doing 12 months over there next year.
| #16 12:03pm 16/05/07 |
so where you moving to? isn't canada covered in snow for like half the year? screw that...
| #17 12:09pm 16/05/07 |
Doing something differnt.
Also just cause your married and or have chillen dosnt mean you have to stay put, you can still move. |
| #18 12:11pm 16/05/07 |
I am moving to London for a few months and then heading to Glasgow. It is where my family come from and I love the Scottish. Then after that Ireland I was there at Christmas and it just blew me away.
| #19 12:11pm 16/05/07 |
I would leave this country because of it's farked laws.
Though 99% of countries in the world have farked laws too. There are a few cool little places out there though. |
| #20 12:12pm 16/05/07 |
what a f*****
the heat is what makes australia awesome yor a fatty arent you with a sweating problem? |
| #21 12:18pm 16/05/07 |
Man I want to move somewhere hotter, these pussy Brisbane summers we're getting lately aren't hot ENOUGH!
| #22 12:22pm 16/05/07 |
i'm leaving to live in the netherlands in under 2 weeks.. moving over cause of a g/f.. however its only so we can move back to australia down the track.. australia is too good a country not to want to live here..
| #23 12:24pm 16/05/07 |
Spook you only say that because I don't find Paris Hilton attractive. Are you still bitter over that little man.
| #24 12:27pm 16/05/07 |
Your leaving the country because of the heat? Move to melbourne. Oh please. The last thing we need down here is more Ocker Queenslander accents :P But if you're really desperate to get away from the heat, you could always move to Straughn (west coast of Tassie). last edited by Raven at 12:38:36 16/May/07 |
| #25 12:38pm 16/05/07 |
f*** yeah trog. I say motherf***ing increase global warming
| #26 12:36pm 16/05/07 |
I'd leave if I was paid to leave. Basically home is anywhere with the highest paying job.
Speaking of jobs, I have an interview with Qantas at the end of the month for the graduate position. (partly hijacking) but anyone been to a Qantas face to face interview before? |
| #27 12:37pm 16/05/07 |
a hijacking job for quantas eh???
ALU ACKBAR |
| #28 12:43pm 16/05/07 |
Does Qantas employ Muslims?
| #29 12:44pm 16/05/07 |
Spook you only say that because I don't find Paris Hilton attractive. Are you still bitter over that little man. no, im saying it coz i love the heat, its only a small part of what i love about australia i play cricket in teh sun all day to get more heat, i go to bdo's so i can get more heat in me, heat means swimming, means beers, means doing stuff, stuff is awesome what is the cold good for? (appart form my car and my computar) u cant play sport in it? anyone who has ever caught a cricket ball with cold hands will know what im talkinga bout, and just look at the sort of cricketers living in a cold country breeds! australia is the best damn place in the world and i dont even like the beach overly best foods, best drinks, best people, best activities ive seen the rest of the world, and i didnt like it, it just didnt rate compared with aus if you think you can do better than here, i suggest you go and find out what the rest of us all ready know dont come back love spook ps paris is awesome |
| #30 12:49pm 16/05/07 |
Oh spook you do like to talk tough don't you. Keep up the good work you make giggle mainly because you have no idea about much at all do you. I will save you the worry and answer the question you have been asking yourself all these 10 years you have been alive. Yes spook you are f*** head who will never amount to f*** all because you are f*** all.
| #31 12:57pm 16/05/07 |
and the best thing about oz: hottest, easiest, nastiest babes.
| #32 01:01pm 16/05/07 |
lolz
| #33 01:02pm 16/05/07 |
i agree with spook
| #34 01:04pm 16/05/07 |
DirtyApe you may need to go to a cooler climate to hose down that angor
| #35 01:05pm 16/05/07 |
i f***ing hate the heat, but not enough to move anywhere else
| #36 01:14pm 16/05/07 |
you're not one of those a******s who walk around in the summertime saying "how about this heat?"
| #37 01:17pm 16/05/07 |
This thread is dripping with emo bulls***. |
| #38 01:19pm 16/05/07 |
go take a dive fagget
| #39 01:32pm 16/05/07 |
and I wasn't even looking for a bite! |
| #40 01:44pm 16/05/07 |
no i don't walk around in summer, it's too hot
| #41 01:51pm 16/05/07 |
pave has a segway
| #42 02:02pm 16/05/07 |
more like a segGAY hahahahahha pave == pwnt.
| #43 02:15pm 16/05/07 |
haha doob that would be sweet
| #44 02:26pm 16/05/07 |
Merlyn
Why would you leave this country?
Well, the answer is that i already have. I left Australia permenantly almost 5 years ago and it has been the best desicion. I moved to Sweden because of my (now) wife. Of course i still miss certain aspects of Australia, particular family but life is just to good here compared to "home" (and yet i still do call australia home sometimes) People have mentioned travel beign a big part of living in Europe. In about 5 hours i am goign on a little buisness/pleasure trip over the next 7 days. Göteborg - Dublin - Frankfurt - Luxemborg - Strasbourg. All this for a little under AU$200 return. You simply can't do anything like that back in Aus. In the end, home is where you make it. I made a desicion to try it here and i love it and tell everyone that i simply don't wish to go back to my home country... i am now in it. |
| #45 02:26pm 16/05/07 |
Man I want to move somewhere hotter, these pussy Brisbane summers we're getting lately aren't hot ENOUGH! Fkn A! As uber-mild as it is, I hate even the Brisbane winter and wish we could have the hottest part of the summer all year round. |
| #46 02:29pm 16/05/07 |
"oh noes the heat"
to quote Chopper (well Ronny Johns as chopper) ... "Harden the f*** up!" |
| #47 02:49pm 16/05/07 |
um.. buy an aircon!?
| #48 02:50pm 16/05/07 |
Two&Eight
Why leave Australia? Not enough people per square mile here. Someone said it earlier, Australia's fantastic to retire in but when you're young, go where the action is. Also, f*** the heat.
| #49 03:31pm 16/05/07 |
Why would you leave this country? I wouldn't |
| #50 03:35pm 16/05/07 |
Fkn A! As uber-mild as it is, I hate even the Brisbane winter and wish we could have the hottest part of the summer all year round. Move further north! Plenty of bulls*** hot almost all year round up this way haha I love the heat, though it really f***s with MS. I might have to move somewhere colder one day :( Though living where it snowed would be cool, skiing is pretty fun. Why can't it snow in the tropics?! |
| #51 04:16pm 16/05/07 |
I wouldn't I don't think any other country would let you in gimpy |
| #52 04:16pm 16/05/07 |
Heat doesn't bother me... waking up in the morning when its f***ing 0 degrees does bother me.
When I go to NZ a few times a year I only stay for the weekend because its just too cold. Saying that, I'd move to europe for other reasons, and I am keen on moving to Canada or even the US but I heard the US is a c*** to go work in unless you got a US passport. |
| #53 04:32pm 16/05/07 |
you'll be back in a year
| #54 04:35pm 16/05/07 |
brisbane isn't fkn that hot u need to harden the fk up imo
| #55 04:38pm 16/05/07 |
I left because I wanted to do cheap travel to cool places, and as Merlyn said you just can't do it in Australia. The temperature is a big difference to Brisbane - I had never even seen snow before I moved to London, but in the time I have been here so far it has snowed 3-4 times. However, it can get painfully cold (like it can get painfully hot in Brisbane) so if cold is what you want, you got it :)
Love it over here, but I will come home to Brisbane when I'm done as I miss it (even with the heat and lack of water). |
| #56 04:43pm 16/05/07 |
I had never even seen snow before I moved to London, but in the time I have been here so far it has snowed 3-4 times Heard of Thredbo? or Hotham? Or New Zealand? London is a s*** place to live, and the money wouldn't make up for it imo. |
| #57 05:04pm 16/05/07 |
| #58 05:14pm 16/05/07 |
WTF! ^
| #59 05:29pm 16/05/07 |
nightstalker
who cares if brisbane is too hot or not. brisbane runs out of water in 9months (if it holds out that long). good reason to move imo.
| #60 05:53pm 16/05/07 |
who cares if brisbane is too hot or not. brisbane runs out of water in 9months (if it holds out that long). good reason to move imo. Then move to another city then. |
| #61 06:09pm 16/05/07 |
what heat?
| #62 06:19pm 16/05/07 |
Australia has f*** all compared to the rest of the world, several european countries are far better to live in, Sweden is definately one of them, so is Spain, it f***ing rocks, you guys just have no idea. Leaving Australia and travelling the world is the best decision you'll ever make dude. |
| #63 06:20pm 16/05/07 |
f***in ban all the un-Australian tossers.
| #64 06:24pm 16/05/07 |
Suckah-Free
I personally wouldn't want to live anywhere else long term other than Australia, that's for sure.
As for living in Brisbane, not 100% sure. I would have to see Sydney and Melbourne first to make a decision about whether or not to move interstate. For now i'm with my immeidate family, settling in a career-type job and married, so Brisbane suits my "settling down" phase fine. Though it's definately good to get away and travel the world. I went to one of the most dangerous places on earth, ie - iraq, for a few months and came back refreshed for crying out loud. A holliday is a holliday and usually is a good change of pace from the laid back brisbane atmosphere. That being said, i wouldn't mind moving to Dubai for a few years sometime down the track (it's hot as all f*** though). Perhaps with a diploma + degree + experience + a fluent bilingual tongue i can get a job that pays phat moolaz. Maybe even marry a couple more wives while i'm there and come back to brisi to live like a king. 1 x Wife for the cooking, 1 x Wife for the cleaning, 1 x Wife for the finance, 1 x Wife for the fine ass. CHA CHING! Jokes f*****s jokes. last edited by Suckah-Free at 18:42:37 16/May/07 |
| #65 06:42pm 16/05/07 |
travel? yes. travel early and often. do the working holiday thing for awhile.
but move to another country permanently? get nicked several european countries are far better to live in, Sweden is definately one of them, so is Spain, it f***ing rocks, you guys just have no idea. obviously a lot of people in this thread do have an idea, it isn't just people who have never travelled to such exotic lands as spain. if you can take away your family, friends, culture, social ties, etc and transplant them into some other country (or you are seriously whipped by some foreign chick) then yeah, the facilities, climate, or public health system of some other country might suit your preferences more. |
| #66 06:35pm 16/05/07 |
Heard of Thredbo? or Hotham? Or New Zealand?Why did you ask that question? He didn't blame living in Australia for not having seen snow, he simply mentioned he hadn't seen snow until he went to London. |
| #67 06:41pm 16/05/07 |
a mate of mine is trying for a rigging job in dubai paying 5k USD / week
but.. he has to work with all the ragheads... |
| #68 07:19pm 16/05/07 |
5k US a week and he wouldn't have anything to spend it on while on the rig. Doesn't sound bad in theory...but he might die...but might live...seems worth it.
| #69 07:28pm 16/05/07 |
travel? yes. travel early and often. do the working holiday thing for awhile.yeah, but who knows, after working in a place for a while you might decide that you like it there and want to stay.... that's why i'm here |
| #70 07:35pm 16/05/07 |
I would leave the country if the current government doesn't pull it's collective finger from its arse and fix the f***ing water situation. I'd leave before I die of thirst.
| #71 08:02pm 16/05/07 |
i'd live somewhere big brother isn't on television, thats about the only reason.
| #72 08:04pm 16/05/07 |
^ move to NT then, TJ said Big Brother isn't on tv where she's from
| #73 09:19pm 16/05/07 |
agree with viper, sweden owns!
yeah, i left brisbane for a 1month holiday to London. 5.5yeas later im still here, lol! returning to brisso in August for the first time, cant wait. i hear they have a round about in Logan Village now... weird! |
| #74 09:31pm 16/05/07 |
I'm going to Europe for 2 years cause i've never been :D
| #75 09:38pm 16/05/07 |
I'll be leaving the country in a few months to work overseas. My main motivation for leaving is to learn other languages and make some zenny. I'll be going to Japan first to brush up on my skills. I was thinking of going to Fukuoka first since I have friends there and it's a lot like Brisbane in terms of size and weather (but a bit cooler :D). After 6 months or so (well basically once I think my skills are good enough to get by on my own) I'm thinking of heading north, like far enough so that it snows in winter, just because I've never lived somewhere that it snows.
After that I either wanna learn German or Spanish, so I'll prolly go to Germany or any other Spanish speaking country (there's 20 to chose from!) depending on where I can find work. My advice to anybody who wants a quick and easy way to get work overseas: get a degree in quickest, easiest thing you can find. Just a cruisy arts degree will do (learning a language or two might be a good idea). There's a massive amount of overseas language teaching schools that will take a native English speaker with a degree in ANYTHING. The three most spoken languages in the world (in order) are Mandarin, Spanish then English. So if you just did arts for 3 years and did a couple of years of Spanish and Mandarin, you'd be in a pretty good position for getting jobs overseas. |
| #76 10:35pm 16/05/07 |
When I was in Japan I met a Scottish guy who was married to a Jap woman and he did the english teaching thing at the school I was at. He lived there for 8 years and couldn't speak japanese at all apart from the usual greetings. Pretty poor effort after 8 years if you ask me.
| #77 10:42pm 16/05/07 |
Yeah that's pretty dodgy. A lot of services in Japan have English if you need it though. You could get by without learning a word of Japanese. I don't plan on doing that though. Immersing yourself in a language is the ONLY way to acquire it (language learning and acquisition are two very different things), why waste an opportunity like that?
| #78 10:57pm 16/05/07 |
Heard of Thredbo? or Hotham? Or New Zealand? As Jim hinted at, I didn't move here to see snow. I simply mentioned it as an example of how I had not experienced things as simple as snow in Brisbane. Why do you say living in London is s***? Have you done it? If so why was it s***? Even if you don't like London that much it's a pretty handy place to base yourself if you want to do lots of travelling (like I do). So far I have only been to Austria and France, but looking at going to Turkey and Spain in the coming months, then Ireland, Italy, Germany, Switzerland and France again later in the year on a big trip. All of this within a few hours of where you live - it's not too shabby. It's not un-Australian to want to do this sort of thing - the simple fact is Australia can only provide so much in the way of travel/cultural experiences/etc - we are too isolated to even hope to match. But I'll still be coming home once I miss it too much :) |
| #79 03:28am 17/05/07 |
Why leave this country???
In essence I headed off to london simply because I could travel here with no hassle, no visa requirements care of being an irish citizen and i can enter back into australia whenever i want via australian citizenship... The biggest thing i faced was the idea of dieing and not knowing.. Young guy such as myself, i wasn't really settled into a career, relationships/family etc.. there wasn't anything really keeping me in brisbane so that afforded me the freedom to move about wherever and whenever... you really only can do the whole travel the world thing once or twice or more if you're never going to settle (hell who am i to say whats acceptable, i might never go back myself).. Very much a subjective thing but there is a great deal to do over here and having an open ended timetable to do some of it was definitely a clincher |
| #80 04:09am 17/05/07 |
ooo Angry ape, bring that angst to Glasgow n see what happens!
| #81 05:59am 17/05/07 |
I left Aus to 'travel' more, however, I've done it with my work - so it was heaps easier <3 business class flights ;)
Plus I've got a British passport, so travelling anywhere in the EU is a piece of piss, which rocks. Saying this, Australia will ALWAYS be home, I love Australia like any other bogan does, but to be honest, I am very f***ing happy I am over here travelling and having a ball. At this stage I'll be over this way for anoter 2 years, my swan song will be the 2009 Ashes, pretty confident that I will jump on the fanatics tour for ~6 weeks or however long it is and then head back to Aus to a new role at my place! Saying that, we've got offices all over the world and I'd love to live in Canada for a stint, so I might even head over there. |
| #82 06:20am 17/05/07 |
I left because the US office of the company I work for gave me a pay rise I could never have matched in Australia, and I always wanted to try life out here in the US.
That said, I've lived in Cairns, Brisbane and Melbourne. I've been all over Australia save for Broome and Tassy. I've checked out Japan, Canada, the UK and the Netherlands. I know where I'd rest my hat - Australia. In the end, nothing beats it for way of life, the people, the sports(!!) and variety of terrain and climate. I try to come home as often as I can. Looking forward to hanging out in Brissy again in July. |
| #83 06:44am 17/05/07 |
Brisbanes problem isnt the heat, its the humidity. Ew!
Recently went to Melbourne for little over a week and I LURVE it down there, really want to move! But yeah, when the water dries up Ill be heading to greener pastures, hopefully in Europe. |
| #84 10:03am 18/05/07 |
Maybe if all you fags planning to leave when you've exhausted your local environment's natural resources ( i.e. water ) f***ed off already, the rest of us can easier conserve what we have until we have suitable infrastructure in place.
| #85 10:54am 18/05/07 |
until we have suitable infrastructure in place don't hold your breath |
| #86 11:11am 18/05/07 |
suitable infrastructure... collect as much of your own water as you can when it falls from the sky, utilise your water more efficiently and get charged a lot of money for all town water you pull down to supplement your own
that's my idea of a suitable infrastructure |
| #87 12:53pm 18/05/07 |
Needed better spanish for my degree so came to chile, going to 8 countries in 3 continents on the "way home" kinda just as a looksie at how other people live and if IŽd want to leave Australia to live for a considerable amount of time in the future.
| #88 01:34pm 18/05/07 |
Bugger travelling for chasing work - I want to build something so travelling is part of my work! I'd love to know i'm hopping on the plane to make a buck rather than save and blow it for holidays!
I'd move overseas for the culture.. particularlly europe. I still haven't seen much aus yet besides the east coast. I think I'm gonna get a coon beater XF and do one of those charity bash things. Who's in? |
| #89 03:51pm 18/05/07 |
me
| #90 04:14pm 18/05/07 |