Topic: Recommend me a top shelf physio
Kilos
I have a lot of pain in a lot of different places. I've tried a few different physios, and recently found one that was pretty good, but he's just moved overseas so I need to find someone else to go to.

I live at Chermside but I'm willing to travel say, 20 mins to get there.

I'm sick of dropping money into random physios out of the phonebook, who don't listen to what your problem is, give you a quick massage and take your cash. I want a *good* one.

Any suggestions?
Drew Baker at Red Hill All Sports Physio.

The guy really loves his work and is constantly researching and applying the latest techniques and technology.

I saw half a dozen physios after a bad whiplash accident and none of them did s***. They'd just slap a machine on me and that was it - did nothing. Then a mate who was doing physio at UQ recommended Drew as one of the best. Went and saw him and he did more in 10minutes using just his hands than all the other physios did put together in 3+ hours. Dunno what I woulda done without him.

He's also a bloke so he's strong enough to manipulate your muscles properly etc. Don't waste your time with chick physios - not sexist - they're simply not strong enough.

It's also the same place/people that takes care of the broncos etc.
FYI, top shelf at the supermarket is where the generic brands are, the good ones are at eye level because they pay for that placement.

Chermside Area? I've been here once, so can't really give you any long term review of the place. http://www.northwestphysio.com.au/contactus.html
Kilos

The guy really loves his work and is constantly researching and applying the latest techniques and technology.

I saw half a dozen physios after a bad whiplash accident and none of them did s***. They'd just slap a machine on me and that was it - did nothing. Then a mate who was doing physio at UQ recommended Drew as one of the best. Went and saw him and he did more in 10minutes using just his hands than all the other physios did put together in 3+ hours. Dunno what I woulda done without him.

He's also a bloke so he's strong enough to manipulate your muscles properly etc. Don't waste your time with chick physios - not sexist - they're simply not strong enough.

That sounds like what I'm looking for.

Just looking at their site now - http://www.allsportsphysio.com.au/location_redhill.aspx - and it doesn't look like Drew Baker is listed there as a Physio?
ok, while we are at it:

ive trashed my back

13 years of never warming up or down and just going full bore into sports without taking care of myself

as a result, no real pain during the day, but i can no longer bowl at cricket, and am on limited other sports (bit of netty here and there is the best i can manage)

ive been resting totally for months, got rid of pain, but as soon as i do any exercise, my problem comes back

been seeing an osteopath for 4 months, costing me a fortune, and we've sort of hit a wall, so i want to try someone else

i mite give this dude a call also
The physios at active rehab at the mater are good, and look after quite a few of the sports teams too.

Up to you if you can be f***ed driving.
Looks like he may have left! I haven't been in there for over a year now. I'd give them a call and ask for his contact details, hopefully he hasn't gone overseas.
Kilos
Just google'd him - he seems to be working in South Australia now :(

Fuuuuuuuck.

Any other suggestions?
Joseph Garcia.

I don't have his contact details, however I can get them later tonight for you. My girly sees him. Not exactly a Physio, however from what you've said perhaps your trying to flog a dead horse and a physio cant fully help you.

Only problem is he is extremely good and has about a 2 week waiting list, sometimes longer.
He has studied for about 30 years and in many places around the world including Spain and China and has a vast array of knowledge and knows how to apply it. Costs about $50-$100 depending on how long and what you get done.
However, if your seeing physio's as much as you say then you should really be in a health fund which will cover you for most or all of the bill, easily paying for membership.
Denominator
see a good chiropractor as well they are quicker at relieving pain
Fark yeah that's him in adelaide. Could always email him and get him to recommend someone.
hi pharcyde, see my post. ok

also, chiro,lol.
Kilos
Hi giri, I don't wanna travel that far, considering it'll probably be a weekly session. That's like a 40 min drive I think...
ok, while we are at it:

ive trashed my back

13 years of never warming up or down and just going full bore into sports without taking care of myself

as a result, no real pain during the day, but i can no longer bowl at cricket, and am on limited other sports (bit of netty here and there is the best i can manage)

ive been resting totally for months, got rid of pain, but as soon as i do any exercise, my problem comes back

been seeing an osteopath for 4 months, costing me a fortune, and we've sort of hit a wall, so i want to try someone else

i mite give this dude a call also

Did my back to the point that I was in a lot of pain bowling (ok with just walking around etc). Everything in my lower back was so tight that it would audibly crack (sometimes multiple times) every delivery I tried to bowl at even half intensity. Luckily it was just muscular and they sorted it out at All Sports Indro within ten days. Having said that my back still cracks when I really stretch it out (it never did before) so there is some lingering tightness, but it's 100% for bowling.
yer, ive had lower back strains of varying degrees for ever, in the end was just playing with the pain

what ive done now is something different as its up high, just below the neck

never really any pain, unless i play sport and then afterwards it blows up and is extremely uncomfortable

however, bowling is something different, my bowling action compresses the spine up the top and i feel it, feel it bad

im desparate to get back to cricket, as i believe i have a few good years left, even if its just indoor

my usual osteopath just massages and manipulates the spine, got rid of the nagging pain, but as soon as ive gone back to sport, its come back

dont particularly want to give up anything, just want exerises to fix the problem

sick of phsios and this osteopath, want a sports doctor, someone who will understand
Yeah, I think it's just luck of the draw. Sometimes you just get a good physio that knows how to treat that particular injury, sometimes they don't. After they sorted out my back so quickly, I went back there when I stuffed up my knee (not to bad, but an inconvenience). The same lady that knew exactly what to do for my back (and pushed me back into bowling within a few days - against everyone else's advice and logic!), spent a lot of time (and my money) sorting it out and it still is far from 100%.
Perhaps your nerves have incorrectly learned to move your muscles, which could be causing strain and pain. So a physio could re-align things and remove the stress, yet the nerves would continue to move the muscles in incorrect ways and restore the strain and pain. You would have to retrain your nerves by not doing the movements which are causing this strain and do movements that cause little strain. How you could do this I don't know. Tis just a guess.
Splash
you're just getting old Spook, nothing you can do about it
physios suck get a accupunturist or chiro...

That's just my experience

Your experience is s***. An acupuncturist is a joke of a profession. Chiro is boarder line.
Casa, acupuncturists have their place as do physio's and chiro's. You would be silly to see a physio for a problem an acupuncturist could fix and vice versa. It would be kind of like seeing a hardware specialist for a software problem, they may be able to help a bit as they are related fields, sometimes even fix the problem.
What problems can acupuncturists fix Toll?
Last I heard, the scientific evidence suggested that acupuncturists don't change anything:O It's all in the mind.
Ok, lets say you get some pain relief from acupuncture, how does that help you strengthen up damaged muscles, or restore strength and stability around a joint, or retrain muscles to be used properly (as at least one of these is generally required for full recovery from most sporting injuries I've had/seen in team mates)?
I thought the point of acupuncture was to tell the mind something was wrong and fix it? So it would be all in the mind?

I've had busted ligaments in several parts of my body...had physios work on them for months with zero success, within a week of receiving acupuncture they were complety fixed.
And importantly, do they give a happy ending?
i would like a happy ending after my backs fixed if thats at all possible

provided its given by some hawt young azn bird

people have told me to get accupunture, but im sceptical

i have seen 3 different physios in the past 9months and they did little

Last I heard, the scientific evidence suggested that acupuncturists don't change anything:O It's all in the mind.

In a paper: Histamine dilutions modulate basophil activation. It is shown that ultra high dilutions of Histamine (10 to the -30) have an activating effect on a type of white blood cells called basophils. This level of dilution is thought to be very unlikely to contain a single molecule of Histamine. Part of this experiment was repeated in 4 different laboratories.

There were, before this paper, many attempts to show that such dilutions have no effect. That it was all to do with the Placebo affect. In many cases they may right, however as shown in the above case it can indeed have an effect.

While it isn't about acupuncture, it points out that even though many scientific studies have shown negative findings it only takes one to show otherwise.
There may be a positive effect of acupuncture that has, as yet, to be tested. Then again, it may just be the Placebo affect after all.
Also there is no reason why placebo effect cant work both ways. If you believe enough that remedy doesn't work, then you may just negate the more subtle effects that it has.
I've had busted ligaments in several parts of my body...had physios work on them for months with zero success, within a week of receiving acupuncture they were complety fixed.

Having said that, wasn't that also the same time you stopped attempting auto-felatio?
I've clean broken both my collarbones and let them heal naturally and now my back muscles are all out of wack. In hindisght I probably should have had them surgically corrected as I experience some form of pain/discomfort everyday and have just learnt to live with it.

I've been to various physio's chiro's and its always just temporary releif.

The best place I have been was an Osteopath guy in West End, the manipulation hurt so f***ing bad but it helped a lot. He said my muscles felt like corrugated iron :S Not only was it just a massage deal he gave went over some excercises/stretches I should be doing to help improve the situation.

The only one I remember now is 2 tennis balls inside a sock, lie down ontop of the balls, one each side of your spine and roll up and down over the muscles. Hurts like a bitch but it really helped me. I've since stopped due to sheer laziness, after reading this thread I probably should start doing it again.
chronic pain is fkn annoying.

im a fairly fit and active 21 yr old, and for the entirety of my childhood and even up till about 6 months ago i was free as a bird, played all sports, full contact and everything. however, every year or so i managed to badly sprain/roll my right ankle. usually i just stayed off it for a bit, however, last time i did it, it really fkn hurt for a while. went to a physio, they said i shoulda been stretching it out and getting proper rehab for it every time. cos my ripped tendons healed and scarred and now arent as flexible. they want me to wear orthotics or wateva those things are, but im not wearing tho pansy ass things.

so yea, my ankle kinda hurts most of the time during sport now :-(, and is a walking timebomb to sprain again, as apparently my reflexes in it arent as good.

ahh well, s*** happens.

also, orthotics are for n00bs
The best place I have been was an Osteopath guy in West End, the manipulation hurt so f***ing bad but it helped a lot. He said my muscles felt like corrugated iron :S Not only was it just a massage deal he gave went over some excercises/stretches I should be doing to help improve the situation.

in the nursing union building opposite from coles at westend?

coz thats where i go now (steve)

they are booked solid and i was just lucky to get in

tung
Token Black Man
i use a remedial massage guy (whos actually my mate) for general back issues

i need to find an osteopath, but seriously if its bad spook go see an orthopaedic surgeon. they have the best references for good back-type people that can help you out
yer, im getting desparte

thinking of maybe getting an mri scan or something as well

already had back xrays, thinking maybe it was a stress fracture, but nothing showed up
they want me to wear orthotics or wateva those things are, but im not wearing tho pansy ass things.

soon enough you'll be walking like mick doohan, and you're how old..?

you'll probably regret not being able to do things with your kids like kick a footy in 20 years time.
also, orthotics are for n00bs

well suffer the consequences now and more so later in life
I was a teenage hand model
vote 1 for witch doctors
By all means, see conventional doctors and whatnot. If there is a clear cut problem they can often fix it. If they don't help out seek out alternative therapy and get Health cover.
osteopathy *cough*bulls****cough*

yeah my dad goes here too. he's been seeing physios for a bunch of different injuries for years in a few different cities and reckons this guy is the best he's ever seen.
L Townsend 182, Tufnell Road, BANYO, 4014 QLD 07-32670272

This guy is awesome and close to you. When i stuffed my knee he made it bettar! <3
in the nursing union building opposite from coles at westend?

coz thats where i go now (steve)

they are booked solid and i was just lucky to get in

Not really sure cause it was probably 18 months ago at least. I seem to remember it was really close to a Commonwealth Bank, nfi on the guys name.
osteopathy *cough*bulls****cough*

do tell nubbin

i thought osteopathy was reasonably respected

i hadnt really heard of it before i went looking earlier this year

to be honest, im sort of not really impressed

my guy does the same thing each time i visit, just manipulates my back

im constantly begging him for exercises to do, and he doesnt give me a lot (ive got more from the net than from him)
From personal experience I found

Physio was a lot of muscle/tissue work
Chiro was bone/joint manipulation
Osteo was a mix of chiro and physio

I preferred Osteo out of the 3 easily. Maybe you should try another Osteopath before totally writing it off.

So ?

Studies have proven placebo's to be as effective as top line expensive drugs.

Its called the placebo effect
I was a sceptic too, until I tried it. I'd have to say it actually does let muscles relax, which then means they can pop the back back in with out creating stupid amounts of pain/secondary injuries (ie. physios). And while studies might say it does nothing, but something I have noticed with people who have tried it is, if you ask them what their sleep was like the night after having it done. they usually say they slept like a log. ps. the acupuncturist I went to also did manipulation, and deep tissue. (I only feel tho that they are good for temporarily reducing/masking pain and there for letting muscles relax, and doing it with out drugs is a better option).

Don't forget modern medicine laughed at leeches, but now uses them again.

I haven't ever seen a physio work except in post surgery rehab. In fact any time a physio has touched a back they seem to make it worse. But that's purely anecdotal from what I have seen them do to nurses with back injured doing extended CPR (g/f is a nurse, and my 2 siblings are nurses).
I have seen chiros, osteos and pinstickers work when it comes to backs/necks.
I dont like accupuncture, but ive only had it done once. Drew Baker has a degree in it and he combines it with electric currents n s***, but i didnt try that. Shame he's in adelaide now.
I haven't ever seen a physio work except in post surgery rehab. In fact any time a physio has touched a back they seem to make it worse.

Physio worked great for mine and a few other fast bowlers I've known get back injuries.
Body Perceptions Physiotherapy and Lifestyle Centre
PO BOX 822

SPRING HILL
QLD, 4004

p: 07 3839 4323
f: 07 3838 8129
w: http://www.bodyperceptions.com.au

Mostly sports related stuff.. but general stuff also..