sLiNky
I'm looking at importing a Evo 6 with DOHC TURBO from japan within the next month or so. I am still on my P's.
so who here has a similar car, turbo, and how much does it cost? Cbeers |
| #0 12:34pm 29/03/07 |
Grimy
great car, insurance, IF anyone will give it to you, will be between $2500 - $3500, and because of age and that type of car, maybe not at all. I pay $1200 for a 25yo, clean record for a 400kw xr6 turbo with lots of mods. I was quoted the same amount for an EVO7 when i was tossing up between the two cars. good luck man, its gonna be an $$ bitch.
| #1 11:52pm 28/03/07 |
youch. f*** that for a joke.
| #2 11:56pm 28/03/07 |
Grimy
forgot to say its through Justcar insurance. They are by far the cheapest. Shannons will not touch anyone under 25 and even then its to their disgression. They denied me cos i wasn't in a car club, then on the second call they said no cos i didnt have a lockup garage.
| #3 12:06am 29/03/07 |
sounds like financial sodomy
| #4 12:36am 29/03/07 |
Suckah-Free
Sounds like you'll be getting
| #5 12:48am 29/03/07 |
Fubar
budget car insurance isn't bad pretty good prices. and they recon they will beat any other competitors prices.
and at least you don't ride i pay 4k a year for my bike such a c*** hole |
| #6 01:02am 29/03/07 |
awesome car, lets race
if you are older than 25, you can try suncorp suprisingly else, just go with shannons,justcar, whatever else the mob tells you to how much to import an evo? |
| #7 06:21am 29/03/07 |
You could just try not crashing?
Evo 6 with DOHC TURBOOh I am still on my P's.Wait.. |
| #8 06:27am 29/03/07 |
death. I'll just throw in that I'm 21 and I pay $600 a year for comprehensive... but I don't drive a sick ass ricemobile. edit: oh yeah, through AAMI |
| #9 06:32am 29/03/07 |
Didn't they change the laws so that P-platers couldn't get cars with turbos?
| #10 06:40am 29/03/07 |
Thought that came into effect July 1st, 2007...ergo, he's getting in before the lock.
| #11 06:50am 29/03/07 |
Yonis
Creepy thats for people who get their licence after that date, it doesn't affect people already on their p's
| #12 07:05am 29/03/07 |
Didn't they change the laws so that P-platers couldn't get cars with turbos?when the law comes it, it will be new p-platers anyway, not existing ones. |
| #13 07:10am 29/03/07 |
You could just try not crashing? Worst advice ever, never drive a car with out at least 3rd party property (fire and theft is usually not much more).. why ? if an accident does happen and you happen to dent that bently/roller/expensive car you won't get bent over. Ever wonder why insurance companies won't touch sub 25 p platers in a turbo ? Insurance companies are basically bookies (more like totalisers actually because the good ones never lose), and they are saying that the risk of you crashing is so high they won't even take a punt on it. last edited by Obes at 09:08:03 29/Mar/07 |
| #14 09:08am 29/03/07 |
Realistically, there are much easier and cheaper ways to look cool and get girls, than buying a money sink that is the foreign import.
Buy a bomb and do it up. Make it a labour of love. Save yourself the financial pain. |
| #15 09:05am 29/03/07 |
crazy obes & your pessimism! maybe he won't have an accident! ;)
Evo 6 with DOHC TURBO there are cams in the turbo? :P and at least you don't ride i pay 4k a year for my bike such a c*** hole that is mad man. surely you would be better off chucking that $4k in a holding fund... if you didn't have a claimable accident in just 3 years you would have enough to buy a brand new bike! i'd still get 3rd party property though of course. last edited by demon at 09:12:24 29/Mar/07 |
| #16 09:12am 29/03/07 |
Didn't even notice it till demon quoted...
and at least you don't ride i pay 4k a year for my bike such a c*** holewhat the f*** bike did you buy? did you get a R1 on your L's or something? How old are you, what licence and what bike? |
| #17 09:36am 29/03/07 |
ham water
fubar, what kind of bike do you ride cos $4k sounds insane. i have an 06 Z750 and i pay $600. it is a naked bike but even quotes i got for faired bikes like r6 or r1 were nowhere near $4000. im with swann insurance, maybe give them a call
| #18 09:36am 29/03/07 |
I am 23 and drive a turbo Stagea, through JCI my insurance is just over $1k pa for full comp agreed at 14k. Claim excesses are pure rape though :/
Quotes I got for other stuff such as a riceline or soarer for lower values were $1.6k+. |
| #19 09:50am 29/03/07 |
Fizzer
Just do what i did when i was tossing up buying a car. Ring up just car and get a quote. Just tell em you're looking to buy such and such car and they'll give you a pretty accurate ballpark.
| #20 09:53am 29/03/07 |
it's gonna be awfully expensive.
It might be worth your while trying an insurance broker. But on your P's.....good luck. |
| #21 10:10am 29/03/07 |
Justcars is a branch of AAMI.
I had pretty good impressions with JCI and so that's who I'm with. They don't care what mods you do - doesn't increase your premium or whether or not they will insure you, just as long as you tell them about the mods and they're legal you're sweet (well that's what they told me on my policy anyways). |
| #22 10:19am 29/03/07 |
sLiNky
how much to import an evo? Not much. Total cost for import and customs inspection, roadworthy is about $6000. Didn't they change the laws so that P-platers couldn't get cars with turbos? Yes, but only for those who get their P plates AFTER july 1st. I've been on my P's now for a few months. Buy a bomb and do it up. Make it a labour of love. Save yourself the financial pain. I was going to do this. Buy an old moke. But it's too hard to get parts. So I'm looking at 2k or more. She'll be right. What I might to is get mum and dad to insure it in their name, and then just put me on the policy until im off my P's. But they already have 3 cars under their name, and wont be able to justify having a fourth (Through RACQ). So I will insure the old magna under my name, and then pay the difference between the magna and the evo. |
| #23 12:02pm 29/03/07 |
You will cry when you crash it.
And I do mean when, not if. |
| #24 12:12pm 29/03/07 |
what's the forum policy on misspelt subject titles these days?
last edited by infi at 12:34:51 29/Mar/07 |
| #25 12:34pm 29/03/07 |
sLiNky
^lol
And loki, quite possibly. Everyone has a crash sometime in their lifetime. |
| #26 12:35pm 29/03/07 |
Fizzer
So I'm looking at 2k or more. She'll be right. What I might to is get mum and dad to insure it in their name, and then just put me on the policy until im off my P's. But they already have 3 cars under their name, and wont be able to justify having a fourth (Through RACQ). So I will insure the old magna under my name, and then pay the difference between the magna and the evo. Good luck with that. RACQ won't touch gray imports so i doubt you'll have any luck with anyone other than JCI. Also I could be wrong but when I went through JCI it goes on the youngest/least experience driver. I'm a rating one but if the missus gets her license and drives it then i'd go down to a rating 7 :(. Sure you could not tell em but i dunno how you'd go come time to make a claim. Your parents will probably be the ones making the claim anyhow. Given you've had your license a few months with that sorta car i doubt you'll be around come time to collect on the insurance. |
| #27 12:38pm 29/03/07 |
You should just not buy a turbo. You do not need a car that powerful on your P's. Your just going to cause an accident. I cannot wait for this new law to come in for P Platers.
| #28 12:41pm 29/03/07 |
Agreed Tiny, but i think Darwin's Law still exists...
| #29 12:50pm 29/03/07 |
Coochie
I thought you couldn't import cars that you can buy from factory dealers in Aus...and can't you get Evo 6's at dealers?
| #30 12:51pm 29/03/07 |
Suckah-Free
Or you could do what i do, dont insure, crash, pay back damages of $10.50 a month over 600 years and profit.
last edited by Suckah-Free at 13:06:43 29/Mar/07 |
| #31 01:06pm 29/03/07 |
sLiNky
You should just not buy a turbo. You do not need a car that powerful on your P's. Your just going to cause an accident. I cannot wait for this new law to come in for P Platers. For those who get their P plates after july 1st, not before. But I may not get it with a turbo. Its just most of them come with a turbo installed. So I may not get a choice in the matter. Good luck with that. RACQ won't touch gray imports so i doubt you'll have any luck with anyone other than JCI. Also I could be wrong but when I went through JCI it goes on the youngest/least experience driver. I'm a rating one but if the missus gets her license and drives it then i'd go down to a rating 7 :(. Dang. Because atm, I'm on my parents policy, so therefore I start at a rating four, not five. Alritey, I'll give them a ring and get a quote. |
| #32 01:09pm 29/03/07 |
haha, that doesn't pay for your own car though does it now? :)
| #33 01:09pm 29/03/07 |
sLiNky
Or you could do what i do, dont insure, crash, pay back damages of $10.50 a month over 600 years and profit. how do you figure that? |
| #34 01:10pm 29/03/07 |
Call me crazy, but I would ask the insurance agencies before a bunch of people on the internet. I was looking up a supra TT or a skyline r34 gt-t and it was coming up at about $1k comprehensive for a 28 year old with shannons or jci, cant remember. That was just the online checks. If you call them up, they should be able to give you a better idea of how much the insurance will be.
| #35 01:35pm 29/03/07 |
BiKESEAT
I was quoted $1400 for an xr6 turbo ute at age 23, on a rating 1. Ended up doing novated lease through work, $550 a year oh yeah.
Same price for the tornado i'm picking up either today or tomorrow too =) |
| #36 02:41pm 29/03/07 |
eP
plus you are a piece of s*** slinky. stick to mummies magna my man - ya bro thinks he is tops doin 100+ in a 60 in it so why cant you?
I put whatever you pay on insurance that you crash the thing within 6 months. Do what all those little 16, 17 year old c***s are doing. Buy a VL berlina or something. Not too much power and if you crash it - its cool, cause its a piece of s***. =D |
| #37 02:55pm 29/03/07 |
f*** paying $2k-$3k a year in insurance
| #38 02:57pm 29/03/07 |
you and your crazy ideas shad
| #39 03:17pm 29/03/07 |
for a $6k car forget anything but 3rd party property, fire and theft
comprehensive isn't worth it also, all evos are turbo |
| #40 05:57pm 29/03/07 |
shrapse
| #41 06:04pm 29/03/07 |
f*** full comp, theyll do everything they can not to pay you anyway. see; rarakus 33
Just man up and drive smart, or drive like a cainer and pay for what you break dont get an evo either its weak s***. too many diffs. |
| #42 06:25pm 29/03/07 |
-=CluBCaT=-
$1059 / year for full comp (rating 1)
MY99 w/ a number of engine mods + usuaul mods (clutch, gearbox, wheels, 3" TBE, FMIC + CAI, coilovers etc) With Suncorp my premium doesn't change with mods only my excess (which is only a problem if you are at fault) which is pretty nice. My excess at the moment is almost $2k. for comparison my '02 Vectra costs me $850 for full comp w/ $400 excess. |
| #43 06:40pm 29/03/07 |
I wonder if having half the drivers in wrx's middle aged men and women drive the insurance price down.
| #44 07:28pm 29/03/07 |
BaratsAndBereta kick f***ing ass
| #45 07:32pm 29/03/07 |
I recently paid $1809 for my 350Z, it's stock standard NA V6 with a few accessories and I'm 24..
| #46 09:11pm 29/03/07 |
Ouch.
| #47 09:13pm 29/03/07 |
Ouch.I'll say, all that car and no turbo. |
| #48 09:22pm 29/03/07 |
i pay about 800 bux a year for my trubo skyline with all manner of fancy mods
but im old and a kik ass driver sup suncorp rating 14lyfe, come here and give us a big kiss |
| #49 09:22pm 29/03/07 |
Storm
I've got a Silvia K's with a few mods on it. Up until well, three weeks ago, I was insured with Just Car - they were cheap and an "easy" option. Having experienced their claims "system" as a not-at-fault driver, I won't be going back, ever.
I've moved across to Vigil insurance, who from all accounts have an excellent system. The accident I had was with an NRMA insured driver, who was at fault. I couldn't drive my car away at the scene (the front passenger side headlamp/bumper/intercooler area was pushed back against the passenger side wheel such that it couldn't move). I called Just Car and had it moved away - Just Car then refused to tell me where the car was, nor give me choice of repairer, nor co-operate with NRMA so I could organise for a no-charge rental car in the meantime while my ride was getting fixed up. I called the repairer they were going to send it to, to make sure he was able to fix my car properly, and he basically told me the intercooler would be replaced with whatever was cheapest, and they'd get the panel damage sorted out by mostly bogging it up. He seemed to think this was a good option, as I'd have the car back quickly. Needless to say, I promptly removed the car from their system and put it through the NRMA system as a third party not at fault driver. They let me choose my repairer, who has ordered exact replacement parts for anything that was even remotely damaged. They've also sprung for a no-cost rental car while the car gets fixed - no small ask considering its now been off the road 5 weeks, and will be at least 2 more. I guess to summarise, insurance isn't just about which is the cheapest. Any schmo can run into you, its about how the company you go with processes the claim - Just Car/Shannons will be as bad as each other, as they are both AAMI companies and run through the same system. Check Vigil out - everything i've read suggests they're pretty good. |
| #50 09:34pm 29/03/07 |
TT Soarer, FMIC, Catback, lowered and some gay 17's.
22yrs old, Rating 1 $933 Premium this year, and some bulls*** excess. Cant wait to see what they say when i throw on the big single :D Edit: tbh with the OP, every insurance company is going to rape you without lube, & charge you atleast 3k a year for the pleasure. Reasonably new car, turbo (zomg hes going to crash it) and young. Good Luck last edited by Frag at 21:55:39 29/Mar/07 |
| #51 09:55pm 29/03/07 |
sLiNky
plus you are a piece of s*** slinky. stick to mummies magna my man - ya bro thinks he is tops doin 100+ in a 60 in it so why cant you? unlike my brother, I am a good driver. I am not stupid either. I had my P's a few months before he did, and he is a year old. I am not my brother, and i am not stupid when I drive. |
| #52 09:56pm 29/03/07 |
I too love suncorp
love them love them love them |
| #53 10:12pm 29/03/07 |
Fubar
http://motorcycle-web.com/honda/cbr600rr_2005/2006-Honda-CBR600RRc_s.jpg
honda cbr600rr 2006 brand new i just turned 20 and i am on my opens |
| #54 10:55pm 29/03/07 |
Fubar
http://www.secondamano.it/photoAds/20060401/2/1052486.jpg
a better pic i will have to get my digi cam up and get some pics of mine |
| #55 11:26pm 29/03/07 |
f*** off jim
i loved suncorp first |
| #56 05:56am 30/03/07 |
I've had nothing but awesome service from AAMI, my VL got flogged and burnt I was rollin in a new toyota corolla 2 days later for 2 weeks. Then they paid out my third party theft claim in full.
Seeing JCI is a branch of AAMI I figured I would stay with them. |
| #57 09:29am 30/03/07 |
I think I should check out Suncorp and maybe Vigil. Last renewal I called up Shannons and they wanted a ridiculous sum of money (2x JCI premium). I just took a look at Ryno Insurance as well, who are popular on various wrx forums.
I pay ~$750 per year with JCI at the moment, but their service and excess is crap. Oh yeah, '93 Silvia with a 'few' mods: http://www.sidwahz.com/wiki/index.php/Orbitors_S13 last edited by orbitor at 09:33:29 30/Mar/07 |
| #58 09:33am 30/03/07 |
did you flog the corolla rental?
| #59 09:31am 30/03/07 |
-=CluBCaT=-
sup Suncorp rating 14lyfe, come here and give us a big kiss Amen to that... |
| #60 09:42am 30/03/07 |
Insolence
I was with JCI up until recently, r33 Skyline. As a rating 1, Premium wasn't too bad ~$900 however, my combined excesses (normal, vehicle, age and wheels) pushed it to around $3k.
I've now switched to Ryno, ~$700 premium and ~$500 excess once i turn 25 next month. Although they're a small company, they're backed by a large underwriter so i dont expect any problems should i have cause to lodge a claim. Probably worth you checking them out. |
| #61 12:34pm 30/03/07 |
i wouldn't go with suncorp. your premiums go towards fixing crazy 4WD driver's 4WDs when they continually break them over and over in senarios that are not even actually covered by their policies... then again, if you are a crazy 4wd driver, i suppose this is a good thing. |
| #62 12:44pm 30/03/07 |
cue jim
| #63 12:50pm 30/03/07 |
hey what gave it away mr hardware
and what's this about scenarios not covered by policy trent!? |
| #64 03:24pm 30/03/07 |
Like when some people may break stuff inside a 4wd park or when not on a designated/marked road.
ps. my insurance has a full off road clause. |
| #65 04:10pm 30/03/07 |
Fizzer
I was with JCI up until recently, r33 Skyline. As a rating 1, Premium wasn't too bad ~$900 however, my combined excesses (normal, vehicle, age and wheels) pushed it to around $3k. You've pretty much described my current situation. I have an r33 gts NA 6 and i'm on rating 1 - paid about $980 this year i think. Will be 24 in sep - how much are you currently paying (sub 25yo)? |
| #66 04:23pm 30/03/07 |
Insolence
Dont know, what my last policy cost me. I've thrown out the renewal notice for the following year, but it was 950 i think for the r33 turbo, insured for agreed amount of $17k.
| #67 05:15pm 30/03/07 |
Fnukle
ps. my insurance has a full off road clause.haha |
| #68 05:25pm 30/03/07 |
Ahh so if I don't drive with your "crew" and break my car frequently, its obviously chuckle worthy ?
| #69 05:36pm 30/03/07 |
I've found NRMA pretty good. With my AU XR6 VCT w/ cat back sports exhaust alot of other insurers like suncorp, commbank etc wouldn't touch it cos the other half is 24, but NRMA had no issues. ~$800/yr, $450 excess insured for agreed $15k (I'm 25 btw). last edited by AnaRoT at 18:55:21 30/Mar/07 |
| #70 06:55pm 30/03/07 |
chuckle
| #71 06:58pm 30/03/07 |
what do you mean? i wasn't talking about you.. http://blahnana.qgl.org/pics/misc/porblem.jpg haha, another crazy 4wd is obscuring the view of the sealed road in a picture... last edited by ara at 19:06:42 30/Mar/07 |
| #72 07:06pm 30/03/07 |
gazetted road that - diaper rd, jimna state forest :P
| #73 08:05pm 30/03/07 |
That looks expensive :(
| #74 09:12pm 30/03/07 |
winched it back upright and drove it home
excess is $350 |
| #75 10:03pm 30/03/07 |
I fail to see how that ended up happening on that piece of track... where they going really fast or something? f***ing bush newbies. |
| #76 06:23am 31/03/07 |
you fail to see, because you are a noob
| #77 08:58am 31/03/07 |
Fnukle
It was like playing cs
Routinely running to point about to get into the fight when some tree stump jumps outta nowhere with a BOOM!-HEADSHOT!!!!?!!1WTF???!! last edited by Fnukle at 09:43:37 31/Mar/07 |
| #78 09:43am 31/03/07 |
lol. I fail to see because there is nothing there, unless its not visible in the picture, which would be fare enough. I've seen many 2wd's driven over terrain much like that. |
| #79 12:04pm 31/03/07 |
suuuuuuuure you have
| #80 05:50pm 31/03/07 |
They were too busy hooting and hollerin out the window while trying to squash some native wildlife to notice the tree he was driving up.
Besides, broken 4wd's are apparently "street cred". |
| #81 06:23pm 31/03/07 |
| #81 |