I recently finished up at my previous job to start something on the side. To pay the bills I'm gonna get a new job however, to take up any work in my field (web design) all the senior/lead positions are in Brisbane. Because I live on the Gold Coast, I really can't be arsed adding the travelling time to take on a job I really couldn't care less for regardless of pay and I'm not gonna put myself through the frustration of working some s*** kicker design job and totally turning me off everything I already do.
So, I was thinking of getting some casual work.. something different - could be anything, just something that pays well and requires no experience or some pissy 6 week course etc. We all hear stories of "my mate shovels s*** for $55/hr" so please, lets hear it out if any one has some suggestions - could be useful for other people on here too. |
| #0 05:25am 21/03/07 |
*PoP PrInCeSs*
Reason: Inappropriate |
#1 05:00pm 21/03/07
Bottle-o work, i was getting nearly 19 doller/hour and ont he weekend it would boost to 24 on saturdays and nearly 26 or sundays. worth a shot :)
| #2 08:27am 21/03/07 |
Wow...
You could get some work at the Rocklea Markets - early starts but the pay is pretty healthy. I know some guys who work there as well as uni and it's not uncommon for them to clear up to $1000/week |
| #3 08:28am 21/03/07 |
What exactly do they do at the rocklea markets, Zak?
| #4 09:04am 21/03/07 |
be a cabbie
| #5 09:04am 21/03/07 |
get stabbed, be a cabbie
| #6 09:09am 21/03/07 |
| #7 09:11am 21/03/07 |
I did a brief stint at the Rocklea markets, getting up at 3am, dipping rockmelons all morning, packing them, then home by 10. Not to bad but I'm not a morning person.
| #8 11:39am 21/03/07 |
he didn't want to go to Brisbane...
also, firefox 2's spell checking is awesome, but it doesn't know firefox. |
| #9 11:49am 21/03/07 |
debt collecting dude
there's several places in the city that pay ~$25/hr for casuals. have a look around for collections officer positions. they'll hire pretty much anyone cos of the high turnover rate of staff and the work is dead easy, just repetitive as f***. oic ur at the coast.. there might be some collections places there? last edited by reload! at 11:54:33 21/Mar/07 |
| #10 11:54am 21/03/07 |
Yup all good suggestions... keep 'em coming!
I found a collections officer position looking into that. And cabbie work could be funny. Who the f*** is pop princess? I don't even know you.. neglected attention whore much?? |
| #11 02:44pm 21/03/07 |
Nitro, you could impersonate Tony Barber .. you were always good at that
| #12 02:56pm 21/03/07 |
If you can work for Australia Post Mail Centre's, you're set.
They treat you well, good pay, awesome penalties and simple work. Got to love casual loading, 30% after midnight loading, double time for weekends, add on overtime (plus you get meal allowance :D)... I was getting close to $30/hr for regular time (never did overtime) for an 18year old standing around working massive mail sorting machines. last edited by CHUB at 15:02:13 21/Mar/07 |
| #13 03:02pm 21/03/07 |
Suckah-Free
I currently work at a mail house and we deal with alot of other big companies inlcuding Australia Post.
Pay isn't as good as AP, though i still get 25% casual loading and 20% shift allowance plus a time and half on weekends on top of all the penalties. Easy work and good pay, though i can't see myself doing it for the rest of my life. That reminds me.. off to work. last edited by Suckah-Free at 16:19:13 21/Mar/07 |
| #14 04:19pm 21/03/07 |
Sounds like casual at AP is the way to go. Full time rates blow, according to the site: # Salary range per annum
* $29,709 - $35,447 (Adult full time rates) * $14,855 – 30,270 (Junior full time rates) U sure they still have good casual rates since John Howards IR laws came in? |
| #15 04:33pm 21/03/07 |
p.s debt collecting? like breaking kneecaps? what does debt collecting actually involve?
| #16 04:51pm 21/03/07 |
i saw an add to be a nude model for $24 an hour at south bank. u dont have to do anything except sit their naked, fairly easy...
| #17 04:52pm 21/03/07 |
nat
i think they're talking about telephone debt collecting
dont do it for anymore than a few months tho or else you'll become suicidal ;) |
| #18 05:07pm 21/03/07 |
Yeah it's ringing people who have missed repayments.
Some banks have their own debt collectors who attempt to collect on a debt up to x number of days and then charge off the debt to debt collecting firms like collections house. I used to collect on consumer credit, people who had fallen one or more minimum monthly payments behind. Easy job, but like nat said, after a few months it drives you crazy. I lasted 9 months and quit after having three formal meetings for not working, just sitting in wrap time after a call, f***ing around on the internet. heh. They put up with a lot of s*** because it costs lots to train a new duder and even then ur collection skillz aint too hot til you've been doing it for a while. |
| #19 05:35pm 21/03/07 |
I think you mean "Well paying casual jobs". Anywho construction industry hands down.
| #20 05:43pm 21/03/07 |
I was hoping it was door to door with baseball bat debt collecting.
| #21 05:47pm 21/03/07 |
Who the f*** is pop princess? I don't even know you.. neglected attention whore much?? f***ing werd nitro, you could trying teaching people cs :p |
| #22 08:00pm 21/03/07 |
progamer
failing that, what sort of hours you looking for? night job? night fill, bar work etc day job? bottleshop, call centre dude, help desk dude |
| #23 08:21pm 21/03/07 |
Fubar
if you are looking for good money and don't mind nights jump on seek they normally have heaps of jobs on there.
| #24 04:18am 22/03/07 |
if youre not a lazy cnt, get a job as a concrete / brickey laborer with a good company
dont wanna go with a company too big, but then again not a company too small thts where you will find awesome wages, but youv gotta work for it.. concreting is good because i loved the hours. most times youre on site by say 530 - 6 in the morning, and if youre not doing s***ty house slabs day in day out (never get into that) youll be home by 1-2pm latest of a day! still got the whole f***en day left to do whatever you wnat to!!!! |
| #25 07:01am 22/03/07 |
now existence sucks cock for a living.. |
| #26 09:11am 22/03/07 |
dafugg
Here's an idea.. how about contract web development? You do what you want to do and you get paid for it.
| #27 09:23am 22/03/07 |
take up w3 again and teach noobs how to play, i made a bit of cash off that
sif be a bricky exist. bar work pays pretty well, i work at the paddo hotel and sit on about 25 an hr on weekends doing fukn easy work down in the comedy club AP is good pay, generally all those early / late jobs have good pay, bottle-o is cakewalk s***. but be a progaymer i would be if i didn't stop CS |
| #28 12:49pm 22/03/07 |
kr0wb4r
lol raider did you work with luten(mark)? he was a glassy down in the comedy club at the paddo.
| #29 05:28pm 23/03/07 |
Kilos
Call Centre work is very well paid for what you do in a lot of cases. It's honestly just a case of shopping around, so to speak, to find the best paying one. Some of them will advertise "OMG AWESOME PAYING JOB" - check those out. If they guarantee that you get a base wage, and not work off a commission, give it a go.
I used to work for Orange Mobile (Hutchison Telecoms). It was 38 hours a week, but casual pay, so you don't get holiday pay or anything. I got $20 per hour, and also a ~$2k commission every month on TOP of what I was getting paid hourly. I quit because the place is run by a pack of retards, but if you can put up with stupidity (I can't), it was a phenominal place to work, pay-wise. |
| #30 06:03pm 23/03/07 |
ive worked in call centres for 3.5 years and im completely over it, i started at ge in there new buisness department when i was 17, run by retards so i quit, then i worked in centrelinks call centre, it wasnt actually that bad, the generall attitude was pretty relaxed because of the amount of f***wits that called up people didnt take things to seriously, then i worked for axa and it was the gay.
most call centres are finance related and with finance comes f***wits beyond any other. the other call centres are sales or helpdesks of some discription and id imagine they are just as bad. but yeah the money is fine and if you can tolarate the work then its your best bet, the turnover is huge so there are always jobs. |
| #31 06:11pm 23/03/07 |
Contract web design. My friend works for a small design company that is based on Madison Avenue, but lives in Indooroopilly. Big $ and clients like Shady/Interscope. But you gotta be pro :P
| #32 01:44am 24/03/07 |
Einy is making good $ with his new vagina
| #33 02:03am 24/03/07 |
cant be that good, he couldnt afford a turbo
| #34 07:47am 24/03/07 |
Market Research work isn't too bad. I get payed more than $20 an hour working in the call room. The only real down side is the inconsistency of hours. You might work 40+ hours one week, then get nothing the next. You also lose your weekends :(
| #35 07:50am 24/03/07 |
How do you get into the construction industry?
| #36 10:45am 26/03/07 |
first step: lower iq considerably.
second step: total disregard for anything to do with your health third step: profit (only slightly) |
| #37 10:53am 26/03/07 |
Doesn't seem to be any casual IT work around.. Any ideas where to find casual IT work?
| #38 11:14am 26/03/07 |
paper. individual businesses websites. job websites. job agencies.
| #39 11:42am 26/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
I work at a Nightclub in brisbane and the pay is pretty good, i'm a manager so i get a slightly higher pay rate, but with tips included the pay is pretty good... so i recommend trying to get into bar work, once you've got your foot in the door you can go anywhere in the world and work, and its just heaps of fun!!
(depending on the venue) |
| #40 03:59pm 26/03/07 |
Are you a manager or are you one of those bartenders who the real managers get to do their dirty work for them for like a couple of extra bucks an hour?
| #41 07:59pm 26/03/07 |
bouncer you mean?
| #42 08:11pm 26/03/07 |
Tepid
I worked at the fringe bar for a while as glassie. let me say its very hard work (if you have a good work ethic). its easy if you are lazy.
i did bar work at the hammo also. easy as s*** but too boring and long shifts (10 hours). joining army. will be better. by the way... which nightclub, je$$y? |
| #43 11:47pm 26/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
Lol, no i am an actual bar manager, and i do my own work for myself :D
I work at fams... |
| #44 04:29am 27/03/07 |
But you say you get tips. Since when does a real manager work behind the bar?
| #45 09:19am 27/03/07 |
Yeah, sounds like fpot is on the money.
| #46 09:24am 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
I am a BAR MANAGER, i manage a bar, so i also serve ppl, and therefore make tips..
| #47 10:57am 27/03/07 |
Do you wear a uniform? Are you allowed to drink on the job? Do you hire and fire people? When you come in on your night off, do you drink for free?
Or as I said before, are you one of those bartenders who the real managers get to do all the delegation for them, so they can get on the piss in peace? |
| #48 11:09am 27/03/07 |
fpot speaks the truth. Real bar "managers" do nothing. They just lounge around in casual clothes with an ear piece so they can hear when the bouncers spot a hottie etc.
Club/bar work is s***house. Working in a hot, sweaty, smokey (until recently) environment, dealing with drunks and drugged people, constant non-stop work on your feet. Working until 3am or later. f***ing terrible. Takes a huge toll on your health and most people only last a couple of years until they're completely run down from it. And the pay is s***house for what it is. There's much easier, relaxed, and daytime jobs out there. |
| #49 11:24am 27/03/07 |
The pay isn't that bad. Some of my mates who are bartenders can clear $1000/wk on their good weeks. Once you are senior the payrate goes to about $15/hr but where I work the waitresses/barstaff make a s***load of tips. Plus it is really easy for them to have a few drinks on the job so it is pretty cruisy. Saturday mornings just about all of the bar staff are wasted :)
| #50 11:28am 27/03/07 |
drunk at work is so cool. what a dream job.
| #51 11:33am 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
Yes i wear a uniform, yes i hire people, no i dont drink alcohol (at all) and no one is "allowed" to drink on the job, no i dont get delegated tasks, i have a bar to run which i run, the venue manager sits in the office and runs the venue which is a lot more than 5 bars..
| #52 11:39am 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
Oh, i forgot, not even the owners of the club drink for free so no no one does...
| #53 11:39am 27/03/07 |
what a load of bs. owner can do whatever they like.
| #54 11:44am 27/03/07 |
Wearing a uniform = instant not real manager.
And if you say the owner can't drink for free then I get the feeling you have no f***ing idea what is going on where you work. last edited by fpot at 11:47:08 27/Mar/07 |
| #55 11:47am 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
Yer cos you know everything, especially how to run a massive business, and that's what you do hey...
just take everything for free so u end up costing your business more Dumb ass... |
| #56 11:47am 27/03/07 |
just take everything for free so u end up costing your business moreYeh, because the owner drinking for free is going to put a massive hole in the companies revenue. |
| #57 11:49am 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
or you've got no fukn idea fpot (cos clearly by all the knowledge you have on my workplace you've worked there b4 right??)
wtf is with you dicks thinking you know everything... |
| #58 11:50am 27/03/07 |
i am just saying that a business owner that doesn't feel they have the prerogative to do whatever, isn't really in control of his/her business.
ps the whole purpose of owning a business is to consume things you would normally otherwise consume, except instead having the ATO pay 30% of it for you. beware, dumbasses are everywhere. |
| #59 11:51am 27/03/07 |
I've worked in the industry for a year now, and if there is one thing I've learnt, it is that the owners and (proper) management of a club are never going to pay for a drink.
The notion that the club 'owner' comes in and plonks money down at the bar is laughable, it simply does not happen. When the owner comes into my workplace, he has his own callsign on the radio (which I have forgotten, he rarely comes in :P) and instantly has a security guard assigned solely to watch him. If any of the bar staff asked for money when he bought a drink and had worked there longer than 2 weeks they'd probably get fired. |
| #60 11:54am 27/03/07 |
back in the day when my family owned and ran a restaurant together we bassically ate and drank out of the restaurant, we saved so much money on food that we would otherwise buy grocery shopping that the small dent in the buisness from our own consumption was hardly worth noticing in the grand scheme of things, as far as drinking alcohol the odd one never hurt but it was never something done excessively.
the truth is that it does effect the profits in the end, the shot of bourbon you had which costs you say 30cents which you would sell to a customer for $5 is actually costing you $4.70 . its all about how you look at it. sure its not a huge dent, but it all adds up. also this is just an example the prices and cost are just for example purposes and do not reflect the actual cost or sale price of said items. |
| #61 11:59am 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
Yes, i have also been in the industrie for a few yrs, and.. the 4 clubs that the owners own in the valley have a "black card system" which allows them a set amount each weekend, so theoretically they are still paying for every product they are buying...
| #62 11:59am 27/03/07 |
I guess it is possible that the coast works differently to Brisbane.
How tight knit is the community up there. It's like a small country town down here ie. Everyone knows everyone and if something happens everyone knows sort of thing. |
| #63 12:01pm 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
Most probably, i have worked in a few decent clubs/bars before working at family, and none have come anywhere near being run half as good as what it is run..
| #64 12:07pm 27/03/07 |
myWhiteWolf
Once you are senior the payrate goes to about $15/hr sorry, thats s*** pay. i could earn that (only being 19, it to like $17/$18 when your 21) doing supermarket work. and i was never home later than 10:30 (damn stocktake). |
| #65 12:53pm 27/03/07 |
Was that before or after you got kicked out of your house for not paying rent?
| #66 12:56pm 27/03/07 |
sorry, thats s*** pay.At a supermarket do people pay you $80 tips a night and do you get to get on the piss at work etc etc? The reason the pay is so low is because management knows the tips are so high... that is if you serve well enough to get the tips. Got it yet? |
| #67 01:08pm 27/03/07 |
Don't worry fpot, he'll get it when he can.
| #68 01:09pm 27/03/07 |
step
Servo work pays pretty well, get just under $26/hr on weekends, $19 during the week.
| #69 01:15pm 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
$15 is still really really low for bar work, esp if it's a nightclub... $15 would still be low for glassy rate..
| #70 01:21pm 27/03/07 |
At a supermarket do people pay you $80 tips a night and do you get to get on the piss at work etc etc? tips? u mean short changing drunks, amirite?! |
| #71 01:55pm 27/03/07 |
You're still meant to claim tips as income and pay tax on them. So $80 would be more like 60 - 70... which is less than $10/hour (for an 8 hour shift). So, being liberal, 15+9 = $24 an hour, which still isn't great money to be working amongst that filth at all hours of the night.
| #72 02:13pm 27/03/07 |
tips? u mean short changing drunks, amirite?!i once paid $50 for a XXXX gold stubby when i was so drunk i could barely stand |
| #73 02:34pm 27/03/07 |
Suckah-Free
What eftpos is saying is that senior bartenders make most of their living off tips given from drunks, and by $80 a night he really means every 2 weeks.
But eftpos is a bouncer and he says they're going places so it must be right |
| #74 02:35pm 27/03/07 |
I doubt anywhere in australia you'd make $80 a night in tips. Who tips in australia? Only time i tip is if im at dinner with a bunch of mates who are all boozed and causing a rucous.
| #75 02:46pm 27/03/07 |
Suckah-Free
I'd say a lot of tips would be given to cab drivers but even then $80 a night is still a stretch.
So tell him to turn it up. |
| #76 02:55pm 27/03/07 |
I tip cabbies and pizza delivery guys, but I'd never tip somebody behind a bar.
| #77 02:58pm 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
You'd be surprised the amount of tips a bar tender can make a night, $80 is min-average... But also depends how busy the place is you work at..
last edited by j E $ s Y at 15:02:54 27/Mar/07 |
| #78 03:02pm 27/03/07 |
You'd be surprised the amount of tips a bar tender can make a night, $80 is min-average... But also depends how Fixed. |
| #79 03:04pm 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
Nice....
| #80 03:09pm 27/03/07 |
Suckah-Free
It all makes sense now, fpot has big boobies, i see how he could come up with that figure.
| #81 03:15pm 27/03/07 |
I've heard of some ridiculous tipping in the valley. I guess the sorts of tools who are willing to go there and get drunk at $7 a stubby have enough money to be tipping heaps too... especially if they're on happy drugs:D
| #82 03:17pm 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
You just need to think, eg. Family on a sat night is very busy, imagine if every 2nd or 3rd customer u served tipped 50c, it all adds up, plus regulars, walk off's etc..
| #83 03:22pm 27/03/07 |
I thought the bars at family were just there for decoration cos everyone is on drugs?
| #84 03:30pm 27/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
lol.. nope choppas need water...
| #85 03:37pm 27/03/07 |
I doubt anywhere in australia you'd make $80 a night in tipsI've seen the tip sheet and the good bartenders are making that easy. The newbs average around $40. I've seen someone (a hot chick) make over a thousand in tips in one night. |
| #86 05:51pm 27/03/07 |
do they actually record their tips? i thought the whole point was being cash no one could ever know how much you made in tips.
| #87 05:54pm 27/03/07 |
They have to give like 20% or something back to the company so they have to record them for that.
| #88 06:07pm 27/03/07 |
Fubar
i use to get a min of 80 in tips a night and if it was a function it would be close the the 150 mark.
| #89 02:44am 28/03/07 |
I'm not entirely against the concept of tipping, but I think it should only be due when you're received service that goes above and beyond the call of duty. If a cabby helps me load my s*** into the boot, gives me a good conversation on the ride, then helps me unload my cargo, he's gonna make a few extra bucks from me. The service in the US tends to far outshine the service in a lot of Australian industries due to tipping. The only problem is that in the US tips are expected, so people get ripped off in terms of wages. I think tipping should become common for cases of excellent service here, but kept off the record books so it doesn't result in people getting raped by employees.
| #90 11:29am 28/03/07 |
but kept off the record books so it doesn't result in people getting raped by employees. Yeah instead the ATO can rape them for undeclared income... GREAT IDEA! |
| #91 12:12pm 28/03/07 |
haha as if the ato can do s*** about tips
| #92 12:15pm 28/03/07 |
You guys are f***ing cheap. I always tip bartenders, only take the notes from the change and they keep the rest.
$2 here and there isn't very much to me, but if everyone gave that to a bartender they would make like 100+ a night easy. Bartenders have to put up with drunk idiots all night long, at least if they are making tips they stay happy. |
| #93 12:15pm 28/03/07 |
how would the ATO prove it?
edit: and furthermore there is no way the ATO would give two s***s about it. last edited by infi at 12:22:01 28/Mar/07 |
| #94 12:22pm 28/03/07 |
Yeah instead the ATO can rape them for undeclared income... GREAT IDEA! how the f*** are the ato going to know (a) if your making tips (b) how much tips you make theres no f***ing way in the world that the ATO can do s*** about it. |
| #95 12:17pm 28/03/07 |
Of course the ATO can do something about it. If they cared they could easily as part of an audit go to the restaurant and offer a tip of some sort ( or just watch for somebody else to tip ). If the person accepts the tip and the company doesn't get tips and the employee has never declared tips, then I guess they can. I would imagine they'd have a mathematical formula to determine roughly how much that person would have been tipped and rape them for that.
| #96 12:22pm 28/03/07 |
Yeah instead the ATO can rape them for undeclared income... GREAT IDEA! Yeha the income ATO will find out about HOW exactly? Just like the ATO raping all the thousands of people getting away with doing cash in hand work with no tax? |
| #97 12:24pm 28/03/07 |
i think they do casual positions in the telephone betting call center here at TAB, its something like $25/hr (not sure on that) to sit in aircon and takes ppl's bets no experience necessary.
or part time supervisor http://jobs.seek.com.au/users/apply/index.ascx?JobID=8764976 otherwise just call the TAB and enquire about it if your interested its a large center and usually jobs going all the time. |
| #98 12:32pm 28/03/07 |
That sounds pretty cool doob. I've been interested in inbound call centre work for a while now, since it usually pays more or the same as outbound, is less difficult and the work comes in waves rather than a constant stream of dialing people.
| #99 12:46pm 28/03/07 |
| #100 02:26pm 28/03/07 |
If the person accepts the tip and the company doesn't get tips and the employee has never declared tips, then I guess they can. I would imagine they'd have a mathematical formula to determine roughly how much that person would have been tipped and rape them for that. that my friend, is a pile of steaming s***. There is no way in this world they can guesstimate how much tips u have by watching you. All the tips could be pooled and split between all the workers, they could keep all the tip themselves, they could share it with someone else. Your living in a vary unrealistic world if u think the ATO have that much resources or would waste time sending ppl to restaurants/bars etc. |
| #101 05:02pm 28/03/07 |
I used to make about $5 in tips a week, but I worled in an old man bar. But I didn't have to wear a uniform so I must be cool.
What Jessy said about Family is right, same with a few of the other 'more professional' establishments. Owners don't just come in and drink for free if they are running a proper business, as it stuffs up all the stocktakes among other things. In my bar 'career' I worked at Fridays, Alices, Criterion, Adrenalin, Port Office, Exchange and Hotel LA. All of them had different systems, likeat the Cri/Alices where I was a Duty Manager I could drink what I liked when I liked and not even ring it up in the till, and take kegs home for parties. At Friday's I drank for free, but not to the extend of Alices/Cri. At Hotel LA it was relaxed, but you didn't drink on the job and you paid for drinks 9 times out of 10. The managers did what they liked though. Port Office barstaff/glassies weren't allowed to drink there, whether you paid or not, owners never came in, and besides the entertainment dude who was paid to 'be cool' no senior staff got free drinks. Basically if you worked there, you were precluded from socialising there. Exhange was similr to PO, but more relaxed on the rules. Adrenalin was like nazi germany, even the owners who were there most nights would ring up their post mix in the tills with their special code. Like all bars, staff got free softdrink, but everything had to go through the till unsder 'staff sofdrink' code. So there you go, it varies a great deal from club to club. |
| #102 07:58pm 28/03/07 |
ol raider did you work with luten(mark)? he was a glassy down in the comedy club at the paddo. haven't checked it since page 2, i worked with a guy called mark depending on which 1 it is.. guy buggered his shoulder up had to take some time off work and left pretty soon after.. that the fella? edit: tips are fkn rare, it's shot changing drunks.. own up u bastards... also if u are a bartender.. get in on the functions / off tables they always tip likes pros without you ripping em one. last edited by Raider at 23:08:53 28/Mar/07 |
| #103 11:08pm 28/03/07 |
j E $ s Y
Whatever company that recorded the tips and took 20% of their tips that they earnt are soooo dodgy.. I've never heard of anywhere doing that, or recording ppls tips either..
Stinky, i'm sorry but it is a load off s*** what you said about the ATO, no way possible that they could find out.... Unless the place is dodgy like ^^.. last edited by j E $ s Y at 00:40:30 29/Mar/07 |
| #104 12:40am 29/03/07 |
Fubar
as doob said the tab is really good money just sit there on a phone and take orders. i have a mate who i use to work with at a resturant who does that now
| #105 01:12am 29/03/07 |
Pogo
edit: tips are fkn rare, it's shot changing drunks.. QFT. One time I wasn't even drunk, handed a $20 over for a beer, turned my back, turned back around and the beer was there and the bitch didn't give me any change. When I asked for it she said I'd have to wait until the club closed and they counted all the tills. Bloody thief. I was mello at the time and let it go but I'd crack a massive s*** if someone tried to do that to me these days. |
| #106 08:21am 29/03/07 |
Whatever company that recorded the tips and took 20% of their tips that they earnt are soooo dodgy.It goes into the xmas party fund and it's money well spent :) |
| #107 01:07pm 29/03/07 |
It goes into the xmas party fund and it's money well spent :) thats bs, making u pay for the xmas party... |
| #108 01:13pm 29/03/07 |
yeah totally f***ed. employer should always pay for christmas party. what tightasses.
| #109 01:14pm 29/03/07 |
I don't pay... the bartenders do. |
| #110 01:32pm 29/03/07 |
tips are stupid, asif anyone who pours a drink deserves a tip, if they are getting tips then the glassys, cooks/chefs/ and the business itself should get a portion cause at the end of the day everyone did there little bit to "earn" that tip.
| #111 01:43pm 29/03/07 |
it's a bit of a double standard that the staff with the face to face contact get to make the extra money, and all the behind the scene get squat.
i remember in an episode of Las Vegas (top show btw) that all the dealers had to pool their tips and then split it with everyone. in fact every table had a separate slot for tips. so i can see the philosophy that was mentioned of pooling the tips in bars. alternatively, bartender's might already have their rates discounted taking into account an average amount of tips they should generate. also keep in mind that the backroom people don't have to handle the drunks and a******s so that maybe offset by their extra tip income. last edited by infi at 13:53:25 29/Mar/07 |
| #112 01:53pm 29/03/07 |
yea it´s especially important to share tips in casino environment because the dealers getting the huge tips most likely are at a losing table and having a reasonably pleasant time, where the guys getting nothing are spanking the players and they´re swearing/abusing/etc
| #113 02:25pm 29/03/07 |
tips are stupid, asif anyone who pours a drink deserves a tip, if they are getting tips then the glassys, cooks/chefs/ and the business itself should get a portion cause at the end of the day everyone did there little bit to "earn" that tip. im quite sure that management/chefs get payed more than bartenders do.. so their increased wage covers the tips and the glassies find money on the ground (which is their tips) also keep in mind that the backroom people don't have to handle the drunks and a******s so that maybe offset by their extra tip income. and yes, the back ppl sit in an air con office doing paper work or other s***. i didnt use to tip bartenders either until i started working in the industry and realised how much they do appreciate it and how much $2 here and there does mean |
| #114 02:28pm 29/03/07 |
im quite sure that management/chefs get payed more than bartenders do.. so their increased wage covers the tips and the glassies find money on the ground (which is their tips) that would be a vailid argument if the award wage was a pos, which luckily in australia its not. at the end of the day everyone chips in to provide the service thats given, people get paid to deal with drunks, people get paid to not deal with drunks and collect glasses/ cook out the back. regardless if the pay between areas is different everyone is equally contributing to that persons whos job it is to be face to face with the customer, there for everyone is entitled to the tip. the cooks make sure the meals come out in a timely fashion and are presentable, the waitress/waiter walks over with a smile on there face and puts it on the table, the glassy walks over and pics up the s*** with out being invasive. it all contributes to the customers experience, and there for everyone deserves there share of the tip. when we had our family restaurant there was so much arguing from the staff about tips and tip systems that we ended up refusing all tips and telling customers to come back, in some cases offering the customer a discount for repeat business or suggesting to a friend to come along. if we thought that someone was providing exceptional service we provided them with a bonus wether it was cash free drinks or what ever. however the system was flawed as the waitresses still took tips and kept them to themselves. in the end we fired everyone and ran it ourselves the way we wanted to. then i got to keep all the tips HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHH! but yeah tips are gay. |
| #115 02:37pm 29/03/07 |
also keep in mind that the backroom people don't have to handle the drunks and a******s so that maybe offset by their extra tip income. bull f***ing s***. bar-tenders spot the drunks, then we got to deal with them fark dude the bartender people don't have to deal with s*** or lift a finger, if they want someone gone they just have to say it and let others do the dirty work. |
| #116 08:47pm 29/03/07 |
but yeah tips are gay. your gay |
| #117 04:42pm 30/03/07 |
yea it´s especially important to share tips in casino environment because the dealers getting the huge tips most likely are at a losing table and having a reasonably pleasant time, where the guys getting nothing are spanking the players and they´re swearing/abusing/etc Pretty sure you can't accept tips at the casino... |
| #118 06:00pm 30/03/07 |
Port Office barstaff/glassies weren't allowed to drink there, whether you paid or not, owners never came in, and besides the entertainment dude who was paid to 'be cool' no senior staff got free drinks are you talking about the DJ? cause the old dj there, matt was his name he got me a couple of free drinks from time to time |
| #119 06:12pm 30/03/07 |
He should try and get you a new bumper
| #120 06:27pm 30/03/07 |
i got one today actually
| #121 06:45pm 30/03/07 |
Any other ideas for part-time / casual jobs?
I wouldn't be suited to work in hospitality or construction. I have 7 years IT experience, but can't do it full-time anymore. I may be able to do it part-time / casual, depending on the conditions. |
| #122 11:48am 31/03/07 |
call centre would be your best bet then dude
| #123 04:17pm 31/03/07 |
mscactus
Yeah call centre is good money.. just don't stay in it too long.. drives ya nuts.. I'm about to quit mine any day now.
| #124 04:49pm 31/03/07 |
if your gonna do call centre just dont work at GE. its horrible
| #125 07:03pm 31/03/07 |
Resonate
Maybe a dealer spot at treasury? They are absolutely desperate for new dealers now days to which you will be trained in pretty much all the games within a year, also theres gonna be a brand new section coming in filled with poker tables as they have lodged a application for no limit with qogr and plan to hold tournaments.
After 3 months starting wage is $24.83 and it goes up from there with the more games you learn, also free buffet, free uniforms and a 15 minute break every hour which is paid for. So in an 8 hour shift you actually only work 6 hours but get paid for the other 2. It's a stupidly cruisy, casual job. One saturday night i started at 8 but didn't actually start dealing till 12:30, then i applied for an early out so by 2am i was out the door. Got paid for 6 hours, only did 1.5 hours of actual "work" and managed to watch the rugby game while they figured out where to put me. |
| #126 11:24pm 02/04/07 |
omg who r u
| #127 01:05am 03/04/07 |
smashingpumpkin
Do any of the call center jobs allow you to work only a few days a week? I'm only available Friday, Saturday, Sunday and most Mondays.
All the jobs for the call centers i see out on Seek.com or the like are full time or 30hrs+.... If anyone works in one that would allow for a 20hr/week could ya PM me a number? Cheers |
| #128 12:14pm 03/04/07 |
| #128 |