Topic: Aussie Server MMOs?
Had a discussion with some guildies the other day, the basic point being that if I could find a decent MMO that had an Aussie or even NZ server I would drop WoW in a heartbeat.

Is there such a beast, even a relatively crap MMO like Shadowbane? I heard something random about a UO shard, but I'm not really interested in isometric 2D.

Is there anything in the works that has promised a local server, or to work with local ISPs to produce one? There's a real opportunity for a company to snatch the Australasian market IMO. With the MMO industry as tight as it is, even the small market share that we offer should be worth a server IMO.
i dont think there is a big enough australian market that would give up wow to play an australian based mmo.

Not an Aussie-based one, but one with domestic servers.

Given that there are thousands of Aussie WoW players I reckon there's a big enough market for actual servers. Hell, Blizzard have Oceanic realms as it is, they just don't host 'em here. WoW isn't that crash hot that if a clone came out that offered local servers I wouldn't ditch it in favour of.

Then again I don't give a s*** about my characters TBH, unlike most people I don't consider them an investment of time. If someone offered something similar with local servers I'm goneski, especially given that truly next-gen MMOs will likely be more skill / twitch oriented, and this will impact on gameplay on US servers from here.

Edit: But this isn't a viablility topic, its been done before. I just wanted to know if anyone knows about anything coming up (or current) that has local servers.

last edited by Hogfather at 16:27:13 25/Feb/07
applor
Keep an eye out on the new ones being released. The new LOTR MMORPG may have an aussie server. *shrugs*

I play eve-online, which doesn't have an aussie server - it has one server for all players making it one of the only mmorpg's that is true to being massively multiplayer.
Hmm Angmar sounded cool, if very deriviative of current offerings. I'll give it a run for sho if there's local servers!

I've heard that line about Eve before. Compared to max-64 or 128 players, a few thousand per server is pretty massive.

I've also heard that particularly early on, the gameplay is kinda tedious boring s***house :(
Given that there are thousands of Aussie WoW players
<

Compared to millions of players in other regions. Don't forget, we have the population of about New York.

I reckon there's a big enough market for actual servers.

Obviously we don't.

Hell, Blizzard have Oceanic realms as it is,

Which is only a half arsed approach to stop the crying that occurs a zero loss to them.
FFS how the f*** did I know you'd chime about it typo, despite this explicitly not being a thread about viability of Oceanic realms?

All I asked was if anyone knew if there was any games coming out that had domestic realms. That's it, I even mentioned that I wasn't interested in debating viability. I'm not particularly interested in wading through a couple pages of you and someone else quote-festing on the subject to find a few game titles.

I should have saved you the effort and written your reply for you; I practically picked it veratim.
I'd say wait for Huxley or Conan imo.

/roar.

I've heard good things about Conan actually from a fair few people. Do you know anything about their realm plans atm - or has anyone seen how it performs at higher latency?

This sounds like it will be painful at 500ms+:

A new multi-point melee system allows the players to swing their weapons where they direct it, in real-time, going head-on against the formulaic nature of online RPG combat.

I can imagine that a much more time critical or 'twitch' gameplay will screw us heavily, especially in the advertised PVP.

This is the most usefull and accurate post Loki has ever made.
That's it, I even mentioned that I wasn't interested in debating viability.

The problem is, that much of your point of view is built up on your expectation that it is viable. However, what you don't - apparently - understand is that the viability of the situation is, for the most part, your answer.

Anyway, my point is that while Australia has thousands, if not tens of thousands of potential customers, places like Europe, North America and South Korea have millions, if not 10s of millions of people.

With the extreme costs of developing a MMO, companies are going to focus on spending money in areas that get them the most amount of profit. Which, considering our potential gamer population, you'd have to make a game that had massive world wide appeal (like WoW) to capture enough people to make one viable server in Australia. Of course, if you've got a game that's good enough to capture that many players, you'd be focusing on the majority.

In summary, your answer is no, there are no full scale professional MMOs being released with an Australian server and the reason why there are non is because it isn't viable, even if you think it might be.

Don't get me wrong, I'd love a MMO that was hosted in OZ. I just can see anybody actually doing it. I know the team at Mammoth Media have proposed to host a few MMOs for companies (DAOC and WOW IIRC), but it obviously didn't happen (I don't know why, I assume because the bean counters at Mythic and Blizzard are gay).

I'm not particularly interested in wading through a couple pages of you and someone else quote-festing on the subject to find a few game titles.

I like how your very next post is a multi-quote post. Good job.

I've heard good things about Conan actually from a fair few people. Do you know anything about their realm plans atm - or has anyone seen how it performs at higher latency?

Last time I looked, Conan was more shiny plastic people doing canned and unrealistic combat animations. I'd be surprised if Funcom (putting the FU in fun) can make it anything other than pure s***.
f*** you've made your point typo, you're not going to win at QGL by repeating yourself ad nauseum. We've discussed this before, I don't agree with you and you aren't gonna change my mind, please to be giving it up now kk?

Back on topic, applor:

The new LOTR MMORPG may have an aussie server. *shrugs*

Do you have any reference info for this, or is it just whimsy? I don't see anything on their site.

Lunch
how come you want an MMO thats oceanic? I've played heaps of mmo's and can't remember ever thinking 'this game would be so much better with a local server'. High population and a worldwide player base are pretty cool imo.

If it was a mmo twitch fps I could understand though :)

edit: Any large connection probs I ever encountered were serverside rather than latency issues with being abroad from the server.

last edited by Lunch at 22:00:23 25/Feb/07
applor
I've heard that line about Eve before. Compared to max-64 or 128 players, a few thousand per server is pretty massive.

They use a server cluster but what I meant was that EVERYONE is in the same world (in the case an enitre galaxy, scaled down somewhat of course)

I've also heard that particularly early on, the gameplay is kinda tedious boring s***house :(

Its true the game gets better and better the more you play but I would disagree its tedius or boring. Theres agent missions right from the start for whatever gameplay you want - combat, courier, R&D, mining etc. Once you find a decent corp to join things just keep getting better and then you get into PvP. Eve really is a dangerous game however and is definately not for everyone. The combat in eve is also about strategy, rather than reflexes etc. Lastly there is no level grinding - you have skills which you can train offline as well as online. Ima link the trailer simply coz it looks awesome not because I think you should play.

http://myeve.eve-online.com/download/videos/Default.asp?a=download&vid=149

Do you have any reference info for this, or is it just whimsy? I don't see anything on their site.

no I don't, it was speculation, hence the shrug
icewyrm
Eve is a financial simulator with spaceships. It's boring from start to finish, unless you really like making virtual money anyways.
f*** you've made your point typo, you're not going to win at QGL by repeating yourself ad nauseum. We've discussed this before, I don't agree with you and you aren't gonna change my mind, please to be giving it up now kk?

So, essentially you’re saying that your argument style is so weak that you don’t want to hear people with differing opinions? f*** that’s lame.

Turbine have never directly supported Australian players before and they certainly haven’t made it obvious that they intend to support Australian players any time recently. I’d be surprised if Turbine even care if we exist.

Same goes for Mythic, Blizzard, Sony, PlayNC … hell anybody. The closest thing to supporting Australian players is, as you said, oceanic servers – which are about as oceanic as proudmore or blackrock.
Crakaveli
lol e-hero is strong in this thread.
save the thread, save the world.

I'll save you if you put on that cheerleader kit again
Will Fury get hosting in AU?
So, essentially you’re saying that your argument style is so weak that you don’t want to hear people with differing opinions? f*** that’s lame.

No, that's not what I'm saying. Its kind of amusing that someone would present such a blatantly obvious straw man and in the same breath complain about argument style!

I just don't want to argue the premise of this thread's question with you. I asked a simple question, I'm putting you down as a "no", OK?
No, that's not what I'm saying. Its kind of amusing that someone would present such a blatantly obvious straw man and in the same breath complain about argument style!

Hang on, you actually say "Given that there are thousands of Aussie WoW players I reckon there's a big enough market for actual servers. " as a part of your argument that there should be and don't want to admit or discuss points that it isn't viable. Suggesting that your argument style is something along the lies of "I'm right" and then sticking your fingers in your ear isn't that much of a logical conclusion.

I just don't want to argue the premise of this thread's question with you.

That's fine, just just don't use a easily debatable argument to make your assertion and then say "I don't want to debate it". However, the best way to not have an argument with someone, say me, is to not reply to their (my) posts. End of story.

I'm putting you down as a "no", OK?

Man, I wonder what I meant by "In summary, your answer is no, there are no full scale professional MMOs being released with an Australian server and the reason why there are non is because it isn't viable, even if you think it might be."?

Hey look how smart typo is everyone!

Shouldn't you be out building a fence somewhere?
That's fine, just just don't use a easily debatable argument to make your assertion and then say "I don't want to debate it".

What if I do? What will happen?
However, the best way to not have an argument with someone, say me, is to not reply to their (my) posts. End of story.

Did you really just tell people to ignore your posts because you're argumentative?

I just wanna know if anyone on QGL knows of any MMos in development that have plans for a truly Oceanic server. Its not that big a deal!

last edited by Hogfather at 20:02:14 27/Feb/07
Please do not feed the trolls.

http://www.unleashthefury.com/ - is probably your best bet.
Thanks Thunder - just the sort of info I was after!
What if I do? What will happen?

Just like this, someone will call you on it and point out you're a douchebag.

Did you really just tell people to ignore your posts because you're argumentative?

Logically you have 3 choices to any disagreement with your assertions.

1) Debate them.
2) Ignore the disagreement and move on.
3) Cry like a fagot.

You chose option 3. You're not required to respond.

I just wanna know if anyone on QGL knows of any MMos in development that have plans for a truly Oceanic server. Its not that big a deal!

I never made it a big deal sobbing tears while sprouting s*** like "We've discussed this before, I don't agree with you and you aren't gonna change my mind, please to be giving it up now kk?" is what made it a big deal for you. I mean, were you stamping your feet while you posted that?
Term
I personally dont want to wade though pages of typotroll(tm term)

But hodge, we've asked heaps of them if they want a host in AU, Blizz with wow included, some gamemags published we were talking to bliz to host stuff, but it was just crap, we just performed all the latency analysis for them.

Not too confident in the Auran stuff, they are spending more time doing their press releases and trying to create a relationship between the number of wow sales and the expected money their mmo tech will make than releasing any info about games.

LOTR will not have a host in AU currently
Ultima Online was a pretty wicked game! They came out with a 3d version when i was playing a few years ago - it looks pretty nice!

And they have an oceania server, which may or may not still be active. Im sure you could find out if it is though.
typo ... ad hominem attacks now, just because someone refuses to play? For someone who styles himself as some sort of QGL debate team hero, you kind of suck at it. Just f*** off typo, I don't think I can be more plain than that. If only this forum had an ignore feature.

Good to hear you guys are being pro-active about it Term. I don't think we'll ever get the region properly serviced by laying down and assuming we're too small a market to warrant it.

Someone back up there said that latency doesn't affect MMOs - it does, particularly in PVP.

MMOs tend to have a heavier PVE focus than FPS games so you don't experience 'unplayable' content due to lag as much. Also, to protect the stability of the servers, a certain amount of player action lag is built into the gameplay - you usually can't perform actions like spells, skills, attacks etc less than a second or two apart. This will likely change as MMO server technology continues to evolve and MMOs become more like massive FPS arenas. We've seen some experiments already, such as Planetside, and many upcoming MMOs are touting their point of difference with the current swag as heavier focus on skill than gear-grinds.

You can bet that when MMO = skill rather than more mindless incremental character advancement that latency will be a huge factor!

More currently, it makes more complicated events (think Razorgore in BWL) that much more difficult to defeat. Back in EQ, end-game Aussie guilds often reported that where timing was critical (such as Complete Heal chains) they were at a disadvantage cf. their US counterparts. Offshore servers also increase the likelihood of individuals experiencing connection problems as ISPs experience technical trouble with their offshore links. And if you've ever been a rogue in WoW trying to PVP against other melee players you'll know why latency is important.

I'd love to hear from someone who has played WoW in the States or somewhere else against a local server. I remember moving from dial-up to cable in EQ and how much different the game felt - I reckon the difference with a broadband connected Aussie server would be just as tangible.

f*** where'd that essay spring from. TLDR maybe, but you get the idea!
Term
yep, agreed latency does affect MMO's with respect to PVP and some finer points of raid events in PVR

Re the pvr issues at the time of the latency documentation we provided to blizz, most of that stuff wasnt really in it, or had just been put in and we didnt have time to test.

We did however submit that mmo's can have a negative affect on PVP play depending on how it delt with latency.

Happy to send you what I submitted to blizz if you want a read, it was the only reason the game was made available for sale in AU on the US launch, at that point they had already decided they would not host here, it was a case of trying to convince them releasing here at the same time as US was a good thing, and Vivendi AU played a huge part in helping us do that, they were great.
Term
But I agree, more needs to be done by Mammoth and companies like it to convince MMO publishers that AU/NZ combined can produce a workable MMO model where hosting and support is provided out of Australia providing the game is sufficiently decent. IF the game is s***, aint nothing going to save it, aus hosting or otherwise.
Crusty old man
What about that game that's getting all that attention in PC Powerplay? Fury? That's an aussie MMOG isn't it? And by the sounds of it, latency is going to be very important.

Also, Hi Term!

Also, Hi Typo!
Term got so desperate at one point he even had me talk to some Vivendi guy for over an hour about how not releasing it in Australia was silly, because Australian would simply buy it from the US anyways thus they wouldn't get the sales, and how they had a huge untapped market waiting to play the game, blizzard fan bois, mmo fan bois plus random people just looking for a new game.

They quite seriously were not going to release it here, full stop end of story.
Happy to send you what I submitted to blizz if you want a read, it was the only reason the game was made available for sale in AU on the US launch

Cool - PM sent w/ email. Be good for a read!

Interesting to note that they weren't even planning a simultaneous game launch in Australia. /boggle

But I agree, more needs to be done by Mammoth and companies like it to convince MMO publishers that AU/NZ combined can produce a workable MMO model where hosting and support is provided out of Australia providing the game is sufficiently decent.

QFT!
Hogfather ... its my honest belief you have Term (and Mammoth) to thank for WOW being released here at all. (I also pretend my phone call helped). And for the games industry to the Australian market even semi seriously.

IMO The Mammoth guys are unique, they were very much an Australian Gamers advocacy that had credible links to a lot of areas of the industry, and to their credit they did it for games they didn't even give a rats about and did it while whiney bitches cried about them (gamers are such a waste of oxygen). But they did that for the community, not because they could make a dollar, no money to be made spending hours arguing with a publisher about a simultaneous releases.

ps. I have no connection to Mammoth and never have had. I am not a fan boi of Mammoth (in fact I have many a disagreement with quite a number of them). But I do recognise what they were/are trying to do (and yes they are trying to make a dollar doing it, but good on them, and good on the initial people: Term, Jim, Nats, Trog; for employing people from our community eg. Saint, Boba, Vic, Blah, Dan etc etc). They could have outsourced it all to the cheapest of cheap and hit up the big players in the industry claiming to be representing us and done a runner with the money (A3 style). But they haven't.

The above is all ... YMMV, IMHO, IME of basically an outsider.
Term
you sir, are a legend.
i didnt read all of this thread.. because i hate wow with a passion.. but just to clear something up..

to make an AU server for wow would require ALOT more players playing on them..

currently.. there is i think 6-7 oceanic realms? maybe a cpl more..

before they would open a data centre you would need 40+ realms.. there is no where near the demand in Australia to justify it.

the last i heard all of the wow realms are run from about 6 data centres in the US and each centre averages 40 realms on each

ps wow can suck a dick
Does Mammoth have the appropriate bandwidth/infrastructure to run/host an MMO server inside Australia ?
Term
Yes
ypo ... ad hominem attacks now, just because someone refuses to play?

No, you’re playing along just fine. If you refused to play you wouldn’t respond to my posts.

Just f*** off typo, I don't think I can be more plain than that. If only this forum had an ignore feature.

In all honesty, an ignore feature would probably kill the forums. This forum was built on flaming and arguing. As much as posters like Hunter made the forums feel like a war zone at times, it at least broke up the ‘in crowd’ dickery that occurs.

You could just go … “oh f***, it’s a typotroll (tm term) and just miss my post completely. Instead you just whine about it.

My first post wasn’t even intended to be a troll, it was just intended to tell you the reason why. It wasn’t until you started crying about it that I started fishing for bigger bites. Good job.

Also, Hi Typo!

Hi Mantra!

Happy to send you what I submitted to blizz if you want a read, it was the only reason the game was made available for sale in AU on the US launch

You know, you should probably publish it on Ausgamers. I’m sure most Australian MMO gamers would be interested in the read. I know I certainly would.

Interesting to note that they weren't even planning a simultaneous game launch in Australia. /boggle

Up until WoW, nobody –in the MMO market- had really released something in Australia or if they had it wasn’t really noticeable – or it was well after the official release. I remember when a whole bunch of us from #Ausgamers pre-ordered DAoC straight from the states it wasn’t an exceptional case, just a pain in the arse.

I know before hand that a lot of importers didn’t feel that Australia had enough of a market for MMO games, simply because they hadn’t gotten many sales when they eventually did release games. I remember a conversation I had about why it took EQ so long to arrive in stores and to paraphase the guy he said “there’s only a couple of hundred Australians who play EQ, it isn’t worth it”. When I said there was a couple of hundred Australians just on my crappy feeder guild, he couldn’t believe it.

---

The effort that MM put into getting WoW released in Australia is an exceptionally awesome thing and the only bad thing about the entire picture is that it took so much effort to convince “the powers that be”. The ramifications of the pressure/argument meant that other large games started to market Australia for release, or at the very least publishers started exporting the game to Australia.
you should quote more people typo
yes

Great! so you just need to find someone with an MMO to offer you!

I assume you did up a business case etc for Blizzard (etc) to try and get them to set up a local server? I'd be keen to see such a thing if you have one.

I don't think its possible; he's probably up against the character limit for replies already. I didn't expect the admission of trolling from someone determined to look so very clever, but I guess that was all that was left typo?

Anyway, looks like its been established that while there isn't anything on offer at the moment. But the market is growing and the good people at Ausgamers are at work on the problem. That'll do me!

If I break up my posts for each person I respond to I get people crying that I post too much. If I group them into one post I get people crying that I quote too many people.

I don't think its possible; he's probably up against the character limit for replies already.

Hah, you should see Demon sized rants.

I didn't expect the admission of trolling from someone determined to look so very clever, but I guess that was all that was left typo?

Hi, you might not know this but QGL forums is built on trolling and flaming. I've been a long time troll on these forums, way longer than you've even been a member. Why shouldn't I announce that I troll for arguments?

At least I've got an open enough mind to have my opinions and ideals challenged instead of getting my panties in a bunch and stamping my feet.
Demon sized rants ? whatever ... demon is a mild mannered cadder.

s]-[itman was the king of 10kb replies that said "I disagree"

oh ... and don't lie typo ... we know you don't wear panties (except when clubbing on Friday nights).

Hi, you might not know this but QGL forums is built on trolling and flaming. I've been a long time troll on these forums, way longer than you've even been a member. Why shouldn't I announce that I troll for arguments?

All the above is true; and while I have only been around QGL for seven years or so its entirely long enough to know who, and what you are thanks. I'm well aware of your pedigree as an old school c******* around here, just didn't expect such a blanket admission :)

Oh, couldn't let this go either. I should know better but there is a certain annoying fascination with reponding to your trolling :(

At least I've got an open enough mind to have my opinions and ideals challenged instead of getting my panties in a bunch and stamping my feet.

Fine. Allow me to be clear on this point - I'm quite happy to have my ideas challenged as you so pompously put it. I've certainly been happy to jump into a discussion on here and denend my point of view.

I just don't want to debate with you. Your argument style is unneringly verbose and tediously pedestrian. You continually accuse people of refusing to acknowledge your points while blindly failing to address theirs in your epics. I simply have no desire to know (or change) your opinion on any topic whatsoever, and choose not to engage you in debate.

That is my choice.

I didn't want to make this personal or to point this out to you. Its not my thing to be unnecessarily nasty to people I only know of on the internet. Calling you a wanker is one thing, pointing out that I find your personality utterly revolting is entirely another.

As someone around here so aptly put it a while back, sorry to punch you in the feelings typo.

last edited by Hogfather at 17:12:53 03/Mar/07
jesus i've been around on qgl for about 7 years too come to think of it

f*** i'm getting old
I couldn't be bothered reading the replies in this thread, I'd just like to say, choosing an MMO based on whether it has Australian servers or not seems pretty retarded. Personally, I choose my games based on whether they suck or not or whether I enjoy playing them or not.

Considering most MMOs play fine on a 300 - 400ms ping, which is what I generally get, I dont see why an Australian server is such a huge deal.

To summarise, cry more.
PVP is based around reaction times, its like playing quake on a modem vs someone on cable. That is why it is a big deal, if someone said there was going to be an aus WoW server tomorrow, I would transfer my characters over in a second. You can just deal with it but it's not a level playing field.
That is my choice.

Sure it is. Except:

1) Don’t bring up an assertion for your point that arguably isn’t true. Doing so, which you did, only leads someone to saying “just because you don’t want there to be something limiting our fun, doesn’t mean it’s true”.

2) If someone accidentally wonders in on a point you don’t want to argue about, don’t cry like a fagot about it; it’s not going to get any better. Again, this was also your decision. Lets face it, if you didn’t want this argument and you didn’t engage in some sort of personal (to paraphrase)“ffs type just f*** of you wanker” attack there wouldn’t have been any hostility or trolling efforts.

Also, often when I’m at home or work doing something can have threads open for hours before I actually get around to making my post, which could have easily happened too this post. I didn’t actually intend on picking some sort of e-fight, you did … I just responded in kind because it’s kind of funny.

Oh, couldn't let this go either. I should know better but there is a certain annoying fascination with reponding to your trolling :(

See, kind of funny! It isn’t personal, at least I don’t take anything personal that happens on these forums.

I just don't want to debate with you. Your argument style is unneringly verbose and tediously pedestrian. You continually accuse people of refusing to acknowledge your points while blindly failing to address theirs in your epics. I simply have no desire to know (or change) your opinion on any topic whatsoever, and choose not to engage you in debate.

You don’t even know my assertions for population density making it difficult to produce a MMO server in Australia, how can you know if it’s worth debating it. More to the point, how do you know if I’m wrong or if I won’t change my views.

Actually, I’ll let you into a secret; if you can provide a solid argument for why it should other than “my guild mates and I reckon”, I’ll be over-the-f***ing-moon ecstatic.

I didn't want to make this personal or to point this out to you. Its not my thing to be unnecessarily nasty to people I only know of on the internet. Calling you a wanker is one thing, pointing out that I find your personality utterly revolting is entirely another.

I don’t want to spring this on you, but you really don’t know me at all. I’d hazard that most people on here would actually get along with me in real life just fine. At least the last time I had any opportunity to see any of them we all got along just fine.

The mere suggestion that you actually know my personality and if it revolts you or not just seems to be the height of ignorance. I mean, it’s almost in the same league as suggestion that you might come over and beat me up or punch me in the back at a QGL LAN.

As someone around here so aptly put it a while back, sorry to punch you in the feelings typo.

I hate to tell you, but your punch missed. I’m still, “Hogsbreath is responding that’s f***ing awesome” stage. You’ll know I’m over it when I can’t be bothered reading the next post. In fact, the only person who seems to have really gotten personal and defensive/offensive is you.
^ Holy mother of f***.
Is that part of J.K. Rowlings next book or something?
That's f***ing massive.

p.s.

tl;dr
No s***. TLDR.

I'll have a read of something if you can get it under 4 paragraphs mate. I got s*** to do.
aha u got typ-owned in the f*** hog. AD HOMO YOURSELF.
typo has a chubby for all the attention you giving him hoggy

just do what the rest of us do and ignore him until he goes away
Hi Scoggex! Anyone ever tell you you're a really f***en clever guy? Maybe one day eh?

Yeh I really should Spook, certainly only making it worse. Its like a yappy little dog, you just get these urges to kick the annoying f***en thing even though it won't shut it up.
Hi Hoggy? anyone ever tell u your a f***en dipstick? oh wait typo just did aha

f***enell. two 'f' words, no verbose latin or italics and less than 2 paragraphs to boot. does this mean you are gonna stfu now?
smashingpumpkin
I play on an east coast WoW server with 56k......no complaints here.
Wow - I wouldn't have picked Scoggex and typo for a match. I know you're a bit of a dimwit Scoggy, and he does use lots of big words, but you can do better mate.

Pumpkin - do you do much PVP?
All I took out of this thread is that regardless of ping, khel can roll a female night elf and type /dance while naked (both the toon and himself) at the auctionhouse in IF.
Is that part of J.K. Rowlings next book or something?

The only people that think J.K. Rowlings produces verbose books are people with a grade 5 reading average.

I'll have a read of something if you can get it under 4 paragraphs mate. I got s*** to do.

Obviously … oh wait.

Yeh I really should Spook, certainly only making it worse. Its like a yappy little dog, you just get these urges to kick the annoying f***en thing even though it won't shut it up.

Haha
khel can roll a female night elf and type /dance while naked (both the toon and himself) at the auctionhouse in IF.

You say it like its a bad thing...
SIGH, i can't believe you people are so STUPID!!!!!!!!

the REASON why we don't have MMOs is because australia INFRASTRUCTURE is so EXPENSIVE, not because of low DEMAND. IF we had cheaper INFRASTRUCTURE we could support our low DEMAND.

you stupid c***S

the REASON why we don't have MMOs is because australia INFRASTRUCTURE is so EXPENSIVE, not because of low DEMAND. IF we had cheaper INFRASTRUCTURE we could support our low DEMAND.

Bollocks. Given that you'd be a content provider and quite a significant one, daresay you'd get really good infrastructure prices.
smashingpumpkin
Pumpkin - do you do much PVP?

You've got me there....I do alright in Warsong, but i can barely move in Arathi Basin =\

Hey, I wasn't being too serious... but... I found your point interesting nonetheless.

What about bandwidth prices? I thought Telstra was still holding everyone to ransom...

I haven't really thought too much on the infrastructure argument. Although, I wouldn't be surprised if the profit margin wouldn't be quite as effective as it is in say the US, Europe or South Korea because of inflated prices of bandwidth. However, without doing the maths, I'd imagine that there are probably to mitigate or absorb that loss, the most likely being paying a higher fee. I mean, who wouldn't pay a few dollars more per month to play on a local server?

As a home or business user you're usually receiving content, so you're paying to have that content sent to you. If you're providing content you're in a different basket as far as the tier 1 ISPs go and can get mega discounts on the basis that you're providing content that someone else will pay to download.