i didn't actually realise that this time next week i'll be laying in our oversized blowup pool eating prawns and cheese and enjoying the presents i've received as well as the company of family....
I guess because i haven't been able to go out and about as much i haven't seen all the Christmas-ee things going on.. but as my little brothers birthday is Christmas day he didnt stop raving about how good Christmas will be. Two things have changed for me this Christmas. 1. for the first time in at least 7 years, i have no idea what i'm getting.. there's nothing i really need, so i didn't ask for anything. 2. the first christmas in a long time where i haven't been in Brisbane :( Does anyone know what they're getting for Christmas, or some cool presents they are getting their loved ones.. share! I'm buying my old man the 3rd season of little brittain, my mum the bernie matthews book(some criminal who wrote a book she's obsessed with that s***) and my little brother the new eminem CD i think.. i've got no idea what to get my parents other halves but i'll figure it out |
| #0 12:29pm 18/12/06 |
My dad is obsessed with cycling, you know the lycra stuff and all... but I don't think he has a clue there's cycling mags at all out there... so I'm ringing up my skizto biking mate and asking him what's the best one and getting him a 12 month subscription.
For my mum, she's a bit weird and collects a certain thing for like a year or two... then changes (it was apes last year), now it's frogs. So it could be plastic frogs, soft frogs, ceramic frogs, frog calenders ect. I spent $260 and got her a high quality replica puppet of Kermit the frog, she is going to get OWNED on Xmas by that (she's the type that loves $5 knick knacks with no thought at all, the typical mum). |
| #1 12:35pm 18/12/06 |
With lots of brothers/sisters/brother in laws/sister in laws our family has done a "Secret Santa" for the past 5 years. Each adult picks a name out of a hat and spends $50 on that one person.
So each year, no one knows who has each other and the gifts are a nice surprise. I don't expect any more presents than that since the present giving part is all about children and they get showered with s***. Wii's, iPods, etc. Us adults kick back in the pool drinking booze, relaxing, etc - all the things that make Christmas awesome. Although this year I'll be beating down my nephew to play his Wii. I figure if I want anything, it'll be expensive and I would have bought it by now with my own money :). My gf & I used to buy presents but every year I managed to buy what she'd bought me. One year she bought me about 6 things and over the course of December I went out and bought them all for myself.. things like DVDs, belts, shoes, etc. She was pretty pissed off that year. This year we bought a house and have spent squillions on it so not a lot of need to buy presents - although I might be a prick and surprise her with something and she'll get the guilts for not buying me anything! |
| #2 12:49pm 18/12/06 |
This year has gone way too quick. Last year I was pregnant so each day felt like a week but this time around I swear it was only jan last month :(
I have no idea what I am getting from anyone. Not a clue and it is kinda nice. I always seem to figure it out and come the day no surprises for me. I went a bit overboard this year with the girls but that, for me, is what xmas is about - spoiling the kids :D |
| #3 12:49pm 18/12/06 |
Yeh this year has gone by so f***in quickly for me. Haven't really had time to think and now it's Xmas and I am totally unprepared. TBH, I don't really want anything for Xmas this year, and for the last few years I tell family not to spend money on me cause there is nothing I need. I tell people to get me Myer or JB vouchers now, because they are going to get me something and at least this way I can decide for myself down the track.
I organised my g/f's present ages ago so that's the important one I don't have to worry about. No idea what to get my family though:/ Added to that, this time last year I was working full time so I spent a bit more on presents, whereas this year I'm casual only working about 10hrs a week so everything I get will be crap:( |
| #4 12:56pm 18/12/06 |
I went a bit overboard this year with the girls but that, for me, is what xmas is about - spoiling the kids :D... or the birth of Jesus. I'm Catholic by birth, but I'm not a practicing Christian. Though everybody should still acknowledge why we're all here in the first place. |
| #5 12:56pm 18/12/06 |
The best thing that religion did for me was Christmas... although I do believe Jesus was an actual historical figure, I don't really believe the religious implications. Christmas is the one time of year that everyone is always nice to each other and in great spirits. You get together with family and just have fun.
The actual birth of Jesus was not even 25th December anyway. |
| #6 01:00pm 18/12/06 |
Arent i here to party and drink?
| #7 01:00pm 18/12/06 |
Christmas is the one time of year that everyone is always nice to each other and in great spirits. You get together with family and just have fun.Yeah, to act like Jesus... I don't believe in it either one bit... but I still embrace the story and the values. |
| #8 01:03pm 18/12/06 |
Resonate
| #9 01:06pm 18/12/06 |
Hahah, that is one of the funniest things I've ever seen.
| #10 01:08pm 18/12/06 |
hahah great.
i think i will go to midnight mass this year if i can stay awake |
| #11 01:16pm 18/12/06 |
Yeah, to act like Jesus... layabout all day in a mangy manger... no thx. :D I don't believe in it either one bit... but I still embrace the story and the values. why? |
| #12 01:17pm 18/12/06 |
Are you religious Mav or are just paying your respect to the tradition? Just seeing how many people are in a similar boat.
why?He was a good role model, too good because he wasn't real :) I don't see anything wrong with embracing a story. There should be more people like Jesus. last edited by CHUB at 13:18:40 18/Dec/06 |
| #13 01:18pm 18/12/06 |
i think its norty anywhere selling inflatable pools in this time of water restrictions
id be dobbing on anyone i seen using one also, christmas is retarted ive told petal shes not getting anything until after xmas is over, i aint going anywhere near no shopping centres i also hate all teh stupid xmas lights everywhere, would be demanding they be taken down, or the users pay extra for their rediculous wasting of my electricity |
| #14 01:23pm 18/12/06 |
... or the birth of Jesus. You do realise that we still celebrated Yuletide (for the Winter Solstice) festival in much the same way we celebrate Christmas nowadays, except minus the jesus/santa characters, long before anyone had heard the word Jesus. Same with Easter (Easter is the name of the fertility goddess the festival is about - hence the eggs and rabbits). The church would rather rename exisiting holidays than to give us new ones. Cheap bastards. |
| #15 01:30pm 18/12/06 |
You do realiseI had no idea but I wouldn't doubt it at all. Though I go with the masses :) |
| #16 01:35pm 18/12/06 |
... or the birth of Jesus. If it was the day of his birth, maybe so.....but it isn't I'm Catholic by birth, but I'm not a practicing Christian. Though everybody should still acknowledge why we're all here in the first place. I am not here because of Jesus. |
| #17 01:38pm 18/12/06 |
If it was the day of his birth, maybe so.....but it isn't When was it? |
| #18 01:42pm 18/12/06 |
Token Black Man
its my birthday on christmas eve :O
| #19 01:42pm 18/12/06 |
2x 20lt Jerry Cans and a set of Stauns.
I wanted a Lift kit, buf for some reason the family didn't want to spend 6 grand on me :( |
| #20 01:45pm 18/12/06 |
I'm not religious chub but i like the idea of it.. i'm trying to become more in touch with god as gay/emo as that sounds to everyone. religions absolutely fascinate me though.
spook, the inflatable pool is that big you actually have to chlorinate it, so no refilling everyday like norty people. |
| #21 01:46pm 18/12/06 |
2x 20lt Jerry CansRandom off-topic, I've been offered $250 for my Jerry can, it's so f***ing leet... I got to check the date on it someday... I thought I read 1946 but that doesn't seem right. Such awesomne quality, the lid is a funnel on a hinge with it's own mesh filter. |
| #22 01:48pm 18/12/06 |
myWhiteWolf
i think its norty anywhere selling inflatable pools in this time of water restrictions Holy crap! thats a lot of old crust in that paragraph. reminds me of old man simpson |
| #23 01:48pm 18/12/06 |
Like the time we went over to shelbyville during the war, I wore an onion on my belt....which was the style at the time...you couldnt get those white ones, you could only get those big yellow ones.................now where was I........oh yeah, the important thing was I was wearing an onion on my belt, which was the style at the time, you couldnt get those... (trails off) |
| #24 01:53pm 18/12/06 |
Well actually they aligned them with the Pagan traditions to make it easier to convert the heathens.
| #25 01:56pm 18/12/06 |
Let's not turn this into Another Religious Debate™
| #26 01:58pm 18/12/06 |
... or the birth of Jesus.no, she clearly said "that, for me, is what xmas is about" |
| #27 02:06pm 18/12/06 |
well, thats ok then mav
| #28 02:13pm 18/12/06 |
I gave my wife her Chrissie present early this year, a couple of corporate seats at the Robbie Williams Concert on Thursday night...he was awesome. I could have watched him for hours a real good entertainer and a top voice, hit every note dead on. I'd rate the show as almost as good as the Bowie Reality concert I saw a while back and I am huge Bowie fan so thats saying something.
Also I love Little Britain as well and my 6yr old spilled the beans the other day as he was with mum when she was secretly buying a little extra for me under the tree, he says, "hey dad, mum got you a live concert of little brittle!!" I beat it out of her and she admitted to a live Little Britain concert. Looking forward to putting this on whilst the mother in law in is the room, she is easily offended and staunchly 'Brittish"...should be good for a laugh. |
| #29 02:19pm 18/12/06 |
i heartily support spook's bah-humbuggin'! :D christmas is just an excuse for selling things that no one wants.
| #30 02:22pm 18/12/06 |
It's also a good excuse for heavy day time drinking.
| #31 02:32pm 18/12/06 |
Christmas is boring when you are over 16 , until you have kids and then it rocks... unless you are male and don't care about spending your hard earnt money on people you only see when they are getting something from you
| #32 02:51pm 18/12/06 |
Christmas is good for me. Lots of family, pissups and eating of foods. Plus my workload is light ;)
| #33 03:06pm 18/12/06 |
Staroka
its my birthday on christmas eve :O mine too.. i've only done half my christmas shopping... and i doubt i'll get to finish.. :( |
| #34 03:11pm 18/12/06 |
its my birthday on christmas eve :O It's the black jesus! |
| #35 03:12pm 18/12/06 |
Christmas is good for me because i get to work on a day i dont celebrate and earn 55 an hour all day long.
Suckers. |
| #36 03:25pm 18/12/06 |
... or the birth of Jesus. Nobody knows when Jesus was born, although we can guess it wasn't December 25th. In ancient Babylon, the feast of the Son of Isis (Goddess of Nature) was celebrated on December 25. Raucous partying, gluttonous eating and drinking, and gift-giving were traditions of this feast. In Rome, the Winter Solstice was celebrated many years before the birth of Christ. The pagans of northern Europe celebrated the their own winter solstice, known as Yule. Yule was symbolic of the pagan Sun God, Mithras, being born, and was observed on the shortest day of the year. In 350 ad, Pope Julius I declared that Christ’s birth would be celebrated on December 25. There is little doubt that he was trying to make it as painless as possible for pagan Romans (who remained a majority at that time) to convert to Christianity. The new religion went down a bit easier, knowing that their feasts would not be taken away from them. Christmas (Christ-Mass) as we know it today, most historians agree, began in Germany, though Catholics and Lutherans still disagree about which church celebrated it first. The earliest record of an evergreen being decorated in a Christian celebration was in 1521 in the Alsace region of Germany. A prominent Lutheran minister of the day cried blasphemy: “Better that they should look to the true tree of life, Christ.” |
| #37 03:40pm 18/12/06 |
good info there typo
last edited by маvєяık at 16:45:20 18/Dec/06 |
| #38 04:45pm 18/12/06 |
christmas sucks dicks.
In 350 ad, Pope Julius I declared that Christ’s birth would be celebrated on December 25. There is little doubt that he was trying to make it as painless as possible for pagan Romans (who remained a majority at that time) to convert to Christianity. The new religion went down a bit easier, knowing that their feasts would not be taken away from them. this was all covered in the da vinci code... yawn last edited by infi at 19:25:43 18/Dec/06 |
| #39 07:25pm 18/12/06 |
this was all covered in the da vinci code... yawnwhat a whacked comment |
| #40 07:29pm 18/12/06 |
Who cares about jesus and s***, its all about eating good food and beer.
| #41 07:33pm 18/12/06 |
and having the inlaws move in and take over
| #42 07:38pm 18/12/06 |
are you suggesting typo's factual issues were not covered in the da vinci code?
| #43 07:40pm 18/12/06 |
christmas sux
| #44 08:31pm 18/12/06 |
I am on the bah-humbug side too.
f*** christmas it has become all about money by corporate america! it's just f***ing stupid and an excuse to spend money also this will be my first one o/s, I do intend on calling the family back home and stuff |
| #45 10:51pm 18/12/06 |
korbs
No christmas for me this year. I have taken a job to deliver a new 40' sailing yacht from France to Belize (in S.America) and i fly out tomorrow. If we get some good winds though, we should make it to the Canary Islands for NY.
All i want for christmas is steady trade-winds, no rain and lots of fish to catch. |
| #46 11:46pm 18/12/06 |
myWhiteWolf
holy s*** you have the best job korbs.
how much are you getting for the delivery? |
| #47 12:26am 19/12/06 |
I want your job korbs... now...
| #48 01:26am 19/12/06 |
korbs
/derail
I'll probably end up making about £1200 (~AU$2300) for the 2 months it will take. The pay isn't great, but i'm not doing it for the money. The opportunity for travel and getting to sail everyday more than makes up for this. Just escaping the rat-race makes up for it IMO. Anyone interested in a sailing career (and you can start at any age), you neefd to first get your RYA Yachtmaster ticket. There are heaps of sailing schools around that you can do it through, including the excellent Southern Cross Sailing based down at Manly. I think they have a 'fast-track' program to take you from novice to Yachtmaster in 17 weeks or something. Deciding to leave my cushy job in IT and persue sailing was the best decision i ever made. /derail Have an awesome christmas dudes. Drive safe. last edited by korbs at 02:37:40 19/Dec/06 |
| #49 02:37am 19/12/06 |
The total cost of the 17 week course is $16,650 AUS. Jesus dude, that ain't cheap - considering you say the money is peanuts, does the money you get 'include' all accom/meals whilst onboard, if so at least you don't have any 'living' costs - though I'd imagine you'd have to pay rent and rent in Englad is pretty exxy |
| #50 03:25am 19/12/06 |
korbs
the course i did was over here in England, was 6 months long and cost £12000. I had been saving up to do it for around 3 years though. I also paid off all loans and debts.
The way the delivery works is- the client pays you a sum to get the boat from A to B, say £5000. With that sum, you have to buy all safety gear for the vessel, all food, water and fuel and pay the crew (2 people). Whatever is left over is yours to keep. So, you could go totally jewish and skimp on decent food and go with a minimum of safety kit and make heaps, or spend big, have a safe and happy delivery with loads of food and not make so much in the end. Depends totally on how you play it. For me, i would rather have a good time and not make so much at the end. That said, i'm doing deliveries more for the experience than anything else atm, after this one i come back to the UK to work for a company which organises and runs sailing circumnavigation races as a training mate. If you want to make some big bux in the industry you can by going down the superyacht route, but that doesn't appeal to me atm. See some case studies |
| #51 04:45am 19/12/06 |
I've been checking out the Uksa stuff for a while.. whats it like up there?? facilities good etc??
Did u do the crew and skipper training course??? Would i get by if i just did the straight crew training? |
| #52 05:36am 19/12/06 |
korbs
PM me and i'll tell you all about it.
| #53 06:47am 19/12/06 |
are you suggesting typo's factual issues were not covered in the da vinci code?I am suggesting your making that comment and gesture of a yawn, is whacked |
| #54 08:21am 19/12/06 |
http://www.ourbrisbane.com/news/
PLEASE let it rain on xmas day |
| #55 01:01pm 19/12/06 |
what are we looking at on that site?
| #56 02:25pm 19/12/06 |
the weather forecast for xmas day i presume. 29c & cloudy i hope means an arvo thunderstorm :D
| #57 02:29pm 19/12/06 |
Staroka
i remember when i moved down here.. one xmas we had sooo much rain it flooded our downstairs of our 2 set house. for my birthday i got to squeegy the water from out of the garage.. fun.
| #58 03:10pm 19/12/06 |
Christmas, how the hell did that happen?
As of 20 mins ago all Christmas shopping is officially done, with the exception of my mother whom I have no idea what to give, and Im waiting until the last minute for some divine inspiration. If anyone has some ideas, weve got like $100.00 to spend, and suggestions would be appreciated! As for christmas and why we celebrate it the way we do etc etc, Youre forgetting about St Nicholas. Born in Turkey (wasnt Turkey then), his wealthy parents died when he was young and he spent the rest of his life giving away his inheritance through gifts etc, mostly to children. It is commonly accepted that he died in early December and in memory of his life the people gave each other gifts. The bf and I are looking for one of those bigger sized out of ground colapsable swimming pools. One that has a filter and clorinate etc, but because of the level 4 water restrictions youre not allowed to fill them up. Excited about Christmas! |
| #59 04:24pm 19/12/06 |
the weather forecast for xmas day i presume. 29c & cloudy i hope means an arvo thunderstorm :D yeah it wouldn't be driftmas without some rain |
| #60 04:41pm 19/12/06 |
lol @ the S1 page!
You are still the gimpiest looking person to ever walk this earth Maxe. |
| #61 04:46pm 19/12/06 |