Topic: Greenbridge open today
just walked over and back this morning

very convenient

good to have some decent living options now if you go to uq, u dont have to live over the horrible side of town anymore

u dont have to live over the horrible side of town anymore

The Northside?
the southside
lol the northside rocks
That's what she said.
wynnum ftw
southside > other sides
I agree with the Suprise Spruiker.
UQ is in st. lucia which is the westside u morons. And the west side is the nicest side of brisbane without question. Any idiot knows that. If u think otherwise, you're a bogan and just don't realise it.
Isn't Ipswich, Goodna, Inala & Darra out West?
Lunch
lol!
lol yeah ... inner-west is yuppyville ... outer-west is bogan country
face it, australia is one big bogan country full of commodore driving, vb drinking, winnie blue smoking flannel wearing BOGANS. Just because you drive a skyline doesn't make you any different, they're common as dogsballs now and just as cheap so they're just the new commodore.
hawthorne is big stuff.
any side that is connected to the city by milton rd/coro drive isnt nice

those are some of the s***tiest, most congested roads in brisbane

StopShootingMe
whoop is correct. But forgot to mention thongs and stubbies.
Isn't Ipswich, Goodna, Inala & Darra out West?

Most of those places are getting filled with working class/middle class professional types. Since the housing boom forced many of them out of Brisbane. Ipswich, Goodna, Inala and Darra are still riding a bit of property boom, and as such owners are evicting their trailer trash occupants and renovating their houses for market.

I bet the Rosewood Centrelink is prime for a massive renovation.
cbd > *
cbd > *

why?
I'd hate to live in the city - it's filled with workaholics and ppl with no real understanding of what exists beyond the shopping centre.
Anyone know what the parking rules are on the Dutton Park side of things?

I had a pamphlet let on my windshield a while back which said that most of the streets in the suburb around the bridge will have a 2 hour parking limit, which makes it useless for driving there to walk to uni over the bridge (I believe that's the point).
where are the pics?
I don't know about that 2 hour thing for the local streets, but there's still a car park there i think?
I saw the opening thing on the news, they were filming down the walking part and some hot chick was jogging down towards the camera and there was some guy on a bike riding in the other direction and as the chick runs past you see him swing his head around checking her out, I laughed coz he got caught so bad
that's f***ed how the council can just go "oh we're making these 3 suburbs 2 hours parking max" that's just f***ed f***ed f***ed, that is the situation where I work - you can't park within several kilometers of here, they're effectively banning cars, or forcing them to seek out costly private parking services. And most of the empty car parks you see around have tow away signs threatening you, but no number to call someone to ask if you can buy a parking spot there etc...
And on the train there are no seats.

f***ED!
Tuco
And on the train there are no seats.
did the concept of standing ever cross your mind? think outside the square.

http://www.hupi.ch/FunStuff/Schwachsinn/IndianTrain2.jpg
I had a pamphlet let on my windshield a while back which said that most of the streets in the suburb around the bridge will have a 2 hour parking limit, which makes it useless for driving there to walk to uni over the bridge (I believe that's the point).

I think the point was to open up public transport from the south side to the west side without going though the middle of the city first.
To me the Green Bridge was a bit of a waste of time.

The idea was kind of right, making a pedestrian/bicycle/bus only bridge, but why don't the bus routes go anywhere once they get to UQ?

From my side of the river (Yeronga) you still need to go through the city to get to that side of the river, even by bus. How is the Green Bridge supposed to help congestion if it's only for UQ students? Sure the uni is big, but helping more workers get from the southern/eastern suburbs to the Milton/Toowong area without having to go through the CBD might have been a better idea.

I think they realised their mistake a bit when the Riverside Expressway shut down and now they're putting in the Hale St Bridge, but they could have gone part way to solving the reliance on the Expressway with a public transport link from Dutton Park/West End to St Lucia/Toowong that actually goes somewhere at the other end.

(btw, I haven't been to the bridge yet, so if I'm wrong about the fact that the busway goes nowhere at the UQ end then feel free to correct me - I'm only going by what they showed in this brochure a while back.)
Cerb,

Hale Street Bridge was in the works over a year before the Riverside Expressway shut down (I know, I worked on the project a bit).

There is also the "north-south bypass tunnel" under construction. The only other river crossing you won't see until after 2026 based on the South East Queensland Infrastructure Plan.

http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/bccwr/images/transport/transapex_map.jpg

Link #5

http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/BCC:STANDARD::pc=PC_1783

I've spent the last 18 months working on links 2 and 3 (mostly 2) and now we're taking a crack at #4
if you're working with the roads dept or what ever, then suggest my awesome idea.

coronation drive, 1 way, no traffic lights.

milton road, 1 way(opposite, duh) no traffic lights.

both linking up with the ICB and riverside expressway.

while you're pitching my idea, ask who the slapper is that thought it would be a good idea to make every single major arterial into and out of the city turn from a highway to a red light there by f***ing everything up.

centernary hwy -> toowong shamozzal.
inner city bypass -> kingsford smith drive shamozzal
inner city bypass -> milton road entry shamozzal
inner city bypass -> red light at the end trying to goto the gold coast or west SHAMOZZAL
http://img464.imageshack.us/img464/1639/northsideny6.gif
Nah I work for a consulting firm that won the contracts for both projects, not for Brisbane City Council itself.
Chermside shout out
Geebung represent!
cbd > *
why?
Because it's the city. Also cause you can get trashed and walk home rather than wait for a cab or con a friend into being the desiginated driver for the night... among other reasons...
From my side of the river (Yeronga) you still need to go through the city to get to that side of the river, even by bus. How is the Green Bridge supposed to help congestion if it's only for UQ students? Sure the uni is big, but helping more workers get from the southern/eastern suburbs to the Milton/Toowong area without having to go through the CBD might have been a better idea.

The original intent was to have major routes moved though the green room. However the fags at Dutton Park, University of Queensland and St Lucia residence all cried about the loss of the quality of their lifestyle because the new buss routes would rape their babies the council promised not re-route old routes though St Lucia.

Actually, the very first goal was to have a car and buss bridge; but of course cars would not only rape the local’s babies, it would also eat them; so the council made a compromise. The conspiracy is that the buss bridge allows them to open up car traffic at any time in the future.

Because it's the city. Also cause you can get trashed and walk home rather than wait for a cab or con a friend into being the desiginated driver for the night... among other reasons...

I want to move to the CBD simply so I Can roll out of bed at 7:30 am (Instead of 6) and walk into work at 8am then get home at 5:10 pm (instead of six).
i see they are shutting down the riverside expressway again today for load testing to see if the original problem was repaired
whereabouts in chermy pave?
Simple solution is to only let UQ students and St. Lucia residents use their cars over the bridge.
hamilton road
Shoulda been called the Mayne Bridge.

Simple solution is to only let UQ students and St. Lucia residents use their cars over the bridge.

Do u know *how* many students go to UQ?? 33,000 in total for all 3 campuses, and I'd think about half of these attend the St Lucia campus. There's enough congestion on the St Lucia side of the bridge; the Dutton Park side simply just wouldn't be able to handle it and I doubt that residents on that side of the bridge would agree to such a thing...

Further (and most importantly I believe), the bridge has been built to get more students from that side of Brisbane on public transport (quicker than driving in through the city) so that the congestion on the St Lucia side will hopefully ease. This seems a good idea to me.
definitely shouldve bin called the go between bridge
i see they are shutting down the riverside expressway again today for load testing

i had to shut down your mum for load testing.
g1