Can it be done?
I have a dvd that once burnt couldn't be copied. DVD Shrink and 1ClickDVD both give errors 89% of the way through. I have tried to repair the disc but no luck. Is there something out there that will rip what it can? And for the record, they are dvd's made by me (not starring me) and I just want to make a copy :( |
| #0 09:55pm 24/11/06 |
making kiddy porn now then ey?
| #1 09:58pm 24/11/06 |
maybe u got a bogus disk, could try doing a dvd to dvd copy then ripping bit of an arse around tho
| #2 10:00pm 24/11/06 |
dvd decrypter`ize it to the hard drive in ISO mode, tell it to ignore read errors. However, if the data is munted beyond readability, whatever's on the disc at that point might be screwed and if it's the middle of a video it'll probably stuff that video up too.
oh and VLC can rip parts of dvds, just set it to open the dvd and enable the file stream, aim it at the destination file, set file type and you can even transcode it to divx or mov & shizzle. last edited by whoop at 22:24:36 24/Nov/06 |
| #3 10:24pm 24/11/06 |
Actually Kat, DVD Shrink should be able to do it. Well if it will let you re-author the disc and after it previews the thing, use the slider bar to to make a start and finish point of the part you wanna rip.
But if it gives you the error while checking the disc at the beginning then you're outta luck. 8-) |
| #4 10:29pm 24/11/06 |
Is there something out there that will rip what it can? on the chance that you are using media that is somewhat worn/scratched/etc, try ripping an iso/image of it from a DVD READER instead of a burner. The lazers in DVD burners (and CDRW/DVD combo drives) are finer, and less likely to slaw thru a flawed/scratched-up disc like those trusty old LiteOn DVD readers can. That said, I've used Alcohol 120% to make images of discs that were unreadable - it just skipped thru read errors and produced the best image it could. In the worst case scenario I'd try would be booting off some kind of live linux cd. You'll be amazed at what you can rip off 'rooted' discs in these distros (with the simple GUI-based tools) that Windows won't allow |
| #5 12:30am 25/11/06 |
Ecstasy
making kiddy porn now then ey? you're a f***ing arsehole mate. Sorry Kat, don't really know, but I reckon your best bet is to check out the Doom9 forum as those guys seem pretty cluey when it comes to anything DVD related... http://forum.doom9.org |
| #6 11:00am 25/11/06 |
d[o_0]b: Yeah, looks like the issue is inside the dvd. It isn't scratched on either side, but there are inconsistencies on the edge at one spot
whoop: Cheers. DVDDecrypter has been running for 3 and a half hours now. Told it to skip errors and it is stuck at 88% telling me it is erroring. W 13:29:37 Failed to read Sector 1807217 - L-EC Uncorrectable Error I am guessing I just let it go and if it runs for 24 hours or so it is rooted and exit? Or it is rooted now? I have had a look at VLC and can't find what you mean but will have another look after. Reverend Evil: Liar ;) DVD shrink can't even analyse the disc :( koopz: cheers. Another thing I can add to the list :D Ecstacy: another one. Awesome! |
| #7 02:35pm 25/11/06 |
what the hell? 3 hours? took me like half an hour to 45 minutes to get through a stuffed cd. Did you tell it to ignore read errors? Also what version do you have? I have 3.5.4.0.
click this vlc windows Step1: click that open (eject) button Step2: tick the "stream" box and hit the settings button Step3: tick the "file" box and hit browse** Step4: browse to a location on your computer, type a file name and click save ** you may need to change the encapsulation method, I set mine to mpeg1 as you can see. Then just keep clicking OK. In general I've had VLC streaming away at a video and clicked cancel and it's left whatever it got done before I cancelled it so with any luck it'll rip what it can, probably get an error and leave you with whatever video it go through before it got interrupted. |
| #8 02:55pm 25/11/06 |
get Rip it for me and the required fixvst it uses (it will point to the web page for the latest version) and it pretty much will do or fix anything you are trying to rip. It works seemlessley with Decrypter and DVD shrink. Let it do its stuff, it will use Decyrpter to sort dummy sectors ect.ect.., then it cleans it all up and you simply open shrink and away you go. It has eneabled me to write stuff even CD check couldn't retrieve from 'bad' disc.
| #9 03:52pm 25/11/06 |
| #9 |