Topic: Tax Question - Buying a PC without Depreciation
Jeramiah
I had an idea the other day in regards to getting a pc from tax, without having to claim for depreciation.

I work as a draftsperson, so if i was to get a pc @ home just for drafting for work then would i be able to do the following:

the pc starts off as an old amd1200.. i suddenly decide that it isn't upto scratch to run autocad, so i upgrade it stage by stage, invoiced seperately at under $300 a piece:
week1: cpu <$300
week2: mobo to suite $200~
week3: ram $250
week4: video $250
week5: hd & kb & mouse $250
week6: 19" lcd monitor #1 $299
week7: 19" lcd monitor #2 $299
week8: 19" lcd monitor #3 $299
week9: extras for the pc <$300 (case/psu/fans,dvd,etc)
week9: extras for the pc <$300 (more hd, networking equipment)
week10: 2nd hand a3 printer: <$300
$3050~ invoiced seperately @ under $300ea and catagorised as upgrades/accessories on a 100% work related pc.

In this situation, would it be legal to claim all of these parts then to get 100% of it back straight away?

i wouldve asked my accountant, but theyve gone overseas for holidays & are uncontactable
sounds shifty legal
I can legally claim computer parts purchased for my PCs at home which I use for work purposes (and keyboards, mice, etc).

But my industry is IT so that may be why I can get away with it.
you're a drafty eh? i'm looking for a job drafting, i'm 2/3 of the way through a assoc degree. 1 more year to go

where do you work? would they take me on full time over the hols and then part time during the year so i can finish tafe?

whats you msn
MoGs
You won't be able to claim the full amount mate ... i'd depreciate it ... cause if you don't then you'll be getting a visit from the auditing department who will be on your case like a fat kid on a cup cake.

The only way that you would have been able to claim the full amount was if it was directly related to your job ... hence why IT people can claim almost the full amount for items.

PS ... for those working in the IT field, if you use the internet at home that kinda relates to work you can claim up to 60% of your yearly internet bill.

Ah, I love claiming for occupation.

I do a TINY bit of guitar teaching and I claim for everything, even cd's/dvd's.
As well as internet, you can claim a small portion of your house as a home office - so a small bit of your electricity, rates, etc can also be claimed on tax.

It's not alot, like a few cents per square meter per hour or something - but its better in my pocket than a dole bludging uni students pocket.
I'd ask a knowledgable tax accountant.

Cos the ATO love to bend people over and do unspeakable things.
Jeramiah
hmmm.. looks like ill be holding off for a little while then

paveway, what kind of assoc degree are you studying?, read your pm for my email.

i work in the electical industry, so as soon as i can apply i will be enrolling in adv diploma in electrical engineering..
Denny
i studied tax law for two semesters (god awful btw) and the gist of the law is that if you're doing something in order to avoid paying tax then its illegal even if not specifically not allowed. You're quite obviously fundamentally changing the computer in such a way as to avoid depreciation.
here ya go
oh ok i'm doing civil engineering

never mind.
Denny
the key provision being 3

The UCA provides an immediate deduction for a depreciating asset where the asset satisfies all of the following requirements:

it cost $300 or less

you used it mainly for the purpose of producing assessable income that is not income from carrying on a business

it is not part of a set of assets that you acquired in the income year that cost more than $300, and

it is not one of a number of identical or substantially identical items that you acquired in the income year that together cost more than $300.
Ticman i think you will find the majority of uni students actually work whilst they are at uni. Not many people claim youth allowance whilst studying, which is a legitimate claim anyway. So you reffering to us uni students as dole bludgers kind of hits a raw note. I work 35 hours a week during my semester and have done for the last 4 years. So think before you speak.
yes imo your strategy seems aimed at avoiding tax, thus would be not allowed.
Tax is gay... working for the ATO was even gayer... thank god i'm out of that s*** hole.
I get $28 a fortnight from Centrelink for Youth Allowance because my dad earns $41k (which is s*** all) and I don't even live with him.

Damn noobs, considering if I DONT study I get $440 a fortnight.

Centrelink is gay, ATO is gay, QLD transport is gay, public hospitals are gay... government based businesses just suck altogether.
yeah i worked there too - for 3 months. worst 3 months of my life, all the chicks have huge asses.

last edited by infi at 18:00:48 24/Nov/06
Ticman i think you will find the majority of uni students actually work whilst they are at uni. Not many people claim youth allowance whilst studying, which is a legitimate claim anyway. So you reffering to us uni students as dole bludgers kind of hits a raw note. I work 35 hours a week during my semester and have done for the last 4 years. So think before you speak.

Huh what? You post like I give a crap..
sounds dodgy
im telling my tax office mate
Jeramiah
sounds dodgy
im telling my tax office mate
hey easy there ;p

i havent done anything bad i was just finding otu if it was legal or not