So I heard a rumour that these new laws are going to be implemented next week instead of next year.
anybody verify? |
| #0 09:14am 21/11/06 |
i can only hope. young drivers are really bad and killing other people's kids sux.
| #1 09:22am 21/11/06 |
I'm all for it, I get my opens in 2 months :D
| #2 09:26am 21/11/06 |
эδєє
2 yrs to go :(
| #3 09:36am 21/11/06 |
sLiNky
For those who already have their P's, The new laws don't affect you.
| #4 09:45am 21/11/06 |
Instead of implimenting MORE laws and in turn generating more fines.
Why not trial a new method for obtaining a license. Like accumulating a certain amount of hours behind the wheel, both day and night driving. Kinda like a flight license(?) The current system to obtain a license is too easy. |
| #5 09:45am 21/11/06 |
Also, f*** losing your license then having to go back on your P's once this law rolls out.
What a load of bullocks. Someone who's held their license for 4-8years is still subject to this crap if they happen to get their license cancelled. |
| #6 09:49am 21/11/06 |
only for 12 months, if they are over 25
| #7 09:50am 21/11/06 |
Awesome new laws! Although the HPT should be a true and genuine compulsory Defensive Driving course.
Now Dept Trans needs to do this: Compulsory re-assessment for every second license renewal you do (eye exam, theory exam), between when you gain Open Licensing until the age of say 60-65, whereby it becomes a yearly competency test |
| #8 09:51am 21/11/06 |
sLiNky
^^
I believe they are enigma. While on your L's, you have to have x amount of hours logged into your log book. Both day and night driving. And x amount of hours have to be done with a driving instructor. I just can't remember how many hours it is. |
| #9 09:51am 21/11/06 |
Like accumulating a certain amount of hours behind the wheel, both day and night driving. Kinda like a flight license(?)It's funny because my dad is a driving instructor. Some yuppie parents pay him for up to 5 hours of basically "practice" a week... him babysitting them in his driving school car because the parents won't drive with/let the kid drive their falcon or whatever. So these people squeeze through after a couple of months of driving. One day their parents won't let them even drive with them in the car... the next day after the test they go "here... have a blast". Though they're no better drivers. I only got 1 lesson prior to my test, absolutely perfect test too. I attribute this to the fact I was probably out on the road for 60 minutes a day, everyday without fail. I was put in uncomfortable situations and drove a s***ty car (no first gear, no handbrake.... YAY hillstarts). |
| #10 09:52am 21/11/06 |
They should 'practise' through all different driving conditions. Not just when it is safest. I also think they should undertake one of those safety driving courses.
Can't wait for these to take affect. |
| #11 10:04am 21/11/06 |
They should make learner drivers use a range of computerised simluations like nfs and gt4
| #12 10:07am 21/11/06 |
sucked in you youins
| #13 10:08am 21/11/06 |
Also, f*** losing your license then having to go back on your P's once this law rolls out. How about not losing your license in the first place?? OMG NOES! COMMON SENSE! I think the new changes will be a good start to overhauling the licensing system and hopefully preventing deaths of the kiddies. I do however think that compulsory yearly or bi-yearly exams and reviews should also be required. Some of the current people on the roads are f***ing awful when it comes to obeying the law. Seniors should also have to pass medical exams every year. |
| #14 10:09am 21/11/06 |
i learned on my mums car for maybe 3 weeks driving about a km at a time from the busstop to our place.
i went for 3 lessons - the first was the first time i had driven in the wet and over 80km/hr, and both at the same time. the second was technique, and the third was a mock driving test. i passed with flying colours mentality has a lot to do with it, some kids you gotta kick the stupid out of them before they become good drivers |
| #15 10:11am 21/11/06 |
Seniors should also have to pass medical exams every year.At what age would you implement this though? |
| #16 10:13am 21/11/06 |
Somewhere around 60-65 - basically, when you next go in for a renewal within that age group, that's when it kicks off.
| #17 10:19am 21/11/06 |
What a load of bullocks. Someone who's held their license for 4-8years is still subject to this crap if they happen to get their license cancelled. Other than driving like a retard, how does one get their licence cancelled? |
| #18 10:27am 21/11/06 |
im almost 21 and i still dont have my license, cause driving is for noobs. also cbf.
| #19 10:33am 21/11/06 |
groydis people like u annoy me... u guys always want a lift!!
| #20 10:40am 21/11/06 |
Should be a kw rating and not just "modified" cars - still. it's a step in the right direction
| #21 10:47am 21/11/06 |
dumb. these laws won't do s*** towards lowering the road toll. the things that people (not just young people) do to get involved in a life threatening accident are currently prohibited by law but people still do them... a bunch of new laws targetting a particular age group will just inconvenience the already lawful & those that do stupid things to cause accidents will contnue to do so.
the power restriction for cars does seem a step in the right direction but stuff like curfews & limiting passengers are just stupid infringements of personal freedoms based on what?! a really bad use of statistical data from my point of view. |
| #22 11:38am 21/11/06 |
Agree with hermitech
im almost 21 and i still dont have my license, cause driving is for noobs. also cbf. Yes, but having to take the bus/scum off mates/mummy drive you is so much more not noob like. Sure. /Hugs my 12 point open licence /Hugs my 4.0L LPG motor - the power and torque of a 253 with the economy of a small four. |
| #23 12:04pm 21/11/06 |
To lower the death toll on our roads i say we ban alcohol, drugs and cars all together.
ps. suck s*** noobies. |
| #24 12:09pm 21/11/06 |
they should just make petrol $10 a litre
think of the lives that would save |
| #25 12:19pm 21/11/06 |
Tuco
/Hugs my 12 point open licenceyou hug your ego to bed every night as well? |
| #26 12:30pm 21/11/06 |
253 is small - need bigger engines mang.
| #27 12:31pm 21/11/06 |
you also forgot to mention you were driving an auto |
| #28 12:49pm 21/11/06 |
sucks for responsible young ppls but its probably for the best. sooner zee better
| #29 12:52pm 21/11/06 |
Take a kid, 20-something, 11th month of P's - never did a thing wrong in his driving life. Always obeyed the speed limit. Never touched a drop of grog when he was the designated driver.
Takes a full car load of equally sensible people for a lift home after some fun down at the coast.. Enter a f***nut drink-driver, choosing to risk a drive home from the coast on the very same night, on the very same road, at the very same time. Drink driver does something really stupid. Kid didn't have the reflexes or skill to avoid stupid accident (in fact, not too many accomplished drivers would have had much luck either). Carload dead. Yep. It sure is inconvenient. For those either in the 18-25 group, or even beyond that, that think the peer law sucks - how many of your mates would bum rides...how often did you or a friend car pool for a group to save time/money? |
| #30 01:01pm 21/11/06 |
Never shared a car to save time/money, we shared so only 1 person would be sober.
| #31 01:10pm 21/11/06 |
And this scenario can still exist, but on a 1-for-1 basis.
The peer law isn't saying that "kids are too newb" - an entire family will get wiped out this christmas. Accidents don't discriminate on age. The peer law is simply a way of softening the "crippling" blow that a road fatality can leave on a family/community. I've no doubt whatsoever that this law was fuelled by that dreadful accident in Victoria a year or so ago, where a carful of High School grads were wiped out to a f***stain on the road mere days after finishing school. Bang - four families just lost one if not their only child in a single instant. Four kids about to start the next part of their lives, now gone. The entire town was in such a bad way, that they had the Essendon and Richmond footy clubs put on a Wizard Regional Challenge match in their town to raise awareness and charity funds. ***EDIT: I did a checkup and got my wires crossed - the charity match was for the Cardross Tragedy - that was a reckless hit-n-run on six kids who weren't in a vehicle at the time. I'm thinking of another accident.*** Out of any of the new laws, the only one that could be considered inconvenient would be the "no headsets while driving" law for a twenty-something courier. That will blow. last edited by Creepy at 13:32:18 21/Nov/06 |
| #32 01:32pm 21/11/06 |
Why not trial a new method for obtaining a license. Like accumulating a certain amount of hours behind the wheel, both day and night driving. I got my lisence in NSW, and you have to do this. Clock in a certain amount of hours for the period you are on your learners, certain amount of rain driving, night driving, driving on different roads ie residential areas, highways, built up traffic areas. Making sure you do everything. Then you have the practical exam to get your red p's, then a computer test to go up to green. Greens finish when youre 24/25 though, dont have to have them for another 12 months after you turn 25. Some of those new rules are going to be too hard to monitor. Just like the new law about not smoking in your vehicle. |
| #33 01:40pm 21/11/06 |
Knee jerk reactions when some dumbasses in a commode die ftw, way to draw attention away from the Pollies corruption.
| #34 01:42pm 21/11/06 |
eP
From July 1, 2007, provisional license holders under 25 years of age must adhere to vehicle power restrictions..... w00t NO MORE RICE BURNERS MWAHAHHAHA. |
| #35 03:48pm 21/11/06 |
eP
way to draw attention away from the Pollies corruption.Because that had lots to do with kids driving stupidly and crashing. |
| #36 03:49pm 21/11/06 |
I think they should just have power restrictions for everyone
| #37 03:55pm 21/11/06 |
just so! i think the noisy smelly youth of today should be a bit less enthusiastic on the velocitator pedal & be a little more judical with the deceleratronsmic pedal & should also listen to less rap music & get haircuts & get off the drugs & stop stealing my lupins!
| #38 04:15pm 21/11/06 |
i cant go for my learners for exactly 6 months.
happy birthday to me... |
| #39 04:19pm 21/11/06 |
I have no problem with these laws, simular stuff has been in NSW for sometime now. The introduction of power restrictions is another step in the right direction. Im not sure about QLD but in NSW there are power restrictions on motorbikes until you are on your unrestricted bike licence and cars should be no different. |
| #40 05:07pm 21/11/06 |
Velvet
Vehicles such as V8 or turbo charged cars, or I think this sucks and will be quite an unpopular restriction but at the same time i think it's very appropriate. I don;t doubt that a lot of young people are sensible capable drivers but it can't be denied that high powered vehicles are incredibly dangerous. That coupled with enthusiastic, inexperienced drivers is in my opinion a bit of a dodgy combination and should be avoided. That said the laws don't effect me. If they did i would probably be pissed off that i couldn't own a v8. |
| #41 05:07pm 21/11/06 |
I got my lisence in NSW, and you have to do this. Clock in a certain amount of hours for the period you are on your learners, certain amount of rain driving, night driving, driving on different roads ie residential areas, highways, built up traffic areas. Making sure you do everything. That sounds excellent. If QLD doesn't already have a system like that we should! Some people mearly use their car/license to get from A to B and really nothing more. So I can see why it's so hard for some of you to understand how a person can lose their license (ZOMG 12POINTS LOL). Just don't break the law right? Heh, some people enjoy driving. Maybe a little too much sometimes. Also the convience of driving home after a night on the piss is too tempting and easy. Don't forget the new law about repeat offenses with double demerit points :x dumb. these laws won't do s*** towards lowering the road toll. the things that people (not just young people) do to get involved in a life threatening accident are currently prohibited by law but people still do them... a bunch of new laws targetting a particular age group will just inconvenience the already lawful & those that do stupid things to cause accidents will contnue to do so. Good point from someone old and crusty |
| #42 05:20pm 21/11/06 |
Considering (very) high-powered cars are now available at a low cost it's a good move. With $10-15k which is easily obtained by young people these days in their first job you can get a car putting out somewhere like 280-320fwkW with s*** brakes, s*** handling, s*** tyres and s*** everything else.
That just isn't safe for inexperienced drivers. |
| #43 05:20pm 21/11/06 |
yup, im 100 percent behind these laws
hopefully they will help to take s***box toranas off the roads (v8s lolz) and i dont mind power restrictions for everyone under the age of say 30 when you get to my age, you have enough experience under the belt to be a super kik ass driver i shoudlnt even have to wear a seatbelt, im such a good driver and i should be allowed to drive as powerful a vehicle as they can make |
| #44 05:26pm 21/11/06 |
Well yer that is a obvious yet some what extreme example.
Power to weight restrictions should be put in place. Not just "performance" cars. Cause that's open to interpretation. And as some of you may know, police aren't very good with policing "modified" vehicles. Something absolutly stock and from factory can be deemed defectable. QLD police are going to have a field day with young drivers and "performance" vehicles. |
| #45 05:27pm 21/11/06 |
It's not so extreme - grab an LS1 powered Crumpledore (VT SS Series 2 - hardly defines the term 'performance') and spend $1200 on a computer upgrade and bammo.. more power but your still driving a Commodore that cant stop or turn a corner.
Those that do put their lives (and others) in danger are usually in the 'car crazy' demographic and would probably know about these cheap mods. With teenage nieces and nephews it scares the piss out of me to know they could end up in one of these cars. |
| #46 05:34pm 21/11/06 |
and i dont mind power restrictions for everyone under the age of say 30 Actually you raise a good point. Why should it be about age? Shouldn't it be about years of driving experience? So anyone with under 8 years (based on people getting their license at 17) of driving experience should be restricted, that way some nub who gets his licence at the age of 30 (groydis) can't just go out and get some s***box commodore v8 and kill someone. |
| #47 05:50pm 21/11/06 |
Velvet
good point ara. That thought crossed my mind too.
| #48 05:50pm 21/11/06 |
i predict that in 2007 the number of car/motorcycle accidents in queensland will be greater than what they were in 2006 with more fatalities & injuries in roughly the same age group demographics. i predict that people older than the age groups affected will blame 'those damn crazy kids' & yet be horrified that maybe one of thier kids might be in such an accident... because as we all know only other peoples kids are crazy. i predict the government will announce that the new laws were a great success. :P
| #49 05:53pm 21/11/06 |
isn't that an easy prediciton to make, based on cars constantly becoming more powerful, growth of road users and lack of funding for road maintenance? |
| #50 05:58pm 21/11/06 |
yes. all of my predictions are easy to make... that's why i made them.. coz t was easy. :D but aren't these laws supposed to achieve something? my point is i reckon they won't achieve thier proposed function... ie: lowering the road toll, specifically with regard to young people.
| #51 06:04pm 21/11/06 |
more power but your still driving a Commodore that cant stop or turn a corner. hahaha so true, that must hurt the commo fan's feelngs |
| #52 06:11pm 21/11/06 |
what's the difference between a 1400kg R31 4 door and a 1400kg Commodore?
they handle just as s*** as each other. |
| #53 06:21pm 21/11/06 |
Because that had lots to do with kids driving stupidly and crashing.even the pollies get lucky enough to have something thrown at their feet once and awhile :) |
| #54 06:41pm 21/11/06 |
myWhiteWolf
i think that you should have a blood alcohol content of 0, regardless of age, gender, sexual orientation.
| #55 07:00pm 21/11/06 |
It's easy just to sit here and read demon's predictions. And I guess that's what I like about it - it's easy. Just sitting here, rocking back and forth, reading demon's predictions.
| #56 07:53pm 21/11/06 |
Staroka
thank goodness i'm on my opens already... >_<
i do think that hopefully it may help but. to bad people are stupid. |
| #57 08:02pm 21/11/06 |
BACs < 0.05 don't impair reaction times at all
| #58 08:15pm 21/11/06 |
adhere to a ban on passengers using a mobile so does that mean even your passengers can't use their mobile if it has a loud speaker function, or they can use it as long as they don't use the loud speaker function? Because seriously, I tried the "speaker phone" function on my phone and I had to hold it up to my ear to hear anything in the car which renders it useless anyway. It's easy just to sit here and read demon's predictions. And I guess that's what I like about it - it's easy. Just sitting here, rocking back and forth, reading demon's predictions. old men and their rocking chairs. edit edit: what the f***? I edited this reply, and it turned it into a new thread? how? last edited by whoop at 21:02:20 21/Nov/06 |
| #59 09:02pm 21/11/06 |
myWhiteWolf
BACs < 0.05 don't impair reaction times at all change that to "noticably" and you might have an argument. the smalest amount of alcohol is going to affect you, wether its on a noticable level or not. and if thats so. why stop youngins from consuming alcohol? if there reaction times aren't affected, something would be. i don't mind the curfuew for people who have spent there demerit points etc. however, if its a blanket ban, its bulls***. last edited by myWhiteWolf at 21:27:12 21/Nov/06 |
| #60 09:27pm 21/11/06 |
It's not so extreme - grab an LS1 powered Crumpledore (VT SS Series 2 - hardly defines the term 'performance') and spend $1200 on a computer upgrade and bammo.. more power but your still driving a Commodore that cant stop or turn a corner. That car would already be considered "fast" by the QDT. I think power to weight ratio is more accurate than saying, "omg that car is a V8, you can't drive it." Because if it was as easy as saying, any car with a large displacement, 6 or more cyclinders and/or turbo/supercharged is too powerful for a young person. Then we'd be seeing alot of smaller cars with interesting motors that aren't forced induced. They will still produce the same result, speed. However obviously will lack torque...which is the most desirable "feeling" for most young people I guess. =\ IMO we should continue to let young people drive V8's and what not. Let natural selection take it's course I say. last edited by EniGma at 21:23:57 21/Nov/06 |
| #61 09:23pm 21/11/06 |
and if thats so. why stop youngins from consuming alcohol? Everyone metabolises alcohol differently. Obviously some dude who drinks methanol every night isn't going to get smashed of one glass of cherry but a 17 year old would probably be more adversely affected by it. Then we'd be seeing alot of smaller cars with interesting motors that aren't forced induced. didn't it say no modified vehicles? so I doubt we'll be seeing mighty boys with 4ag's just yet. last edited by whoop at 21:26:56 21/Nov/06 |
| #62 09:26pm 21/11/06 |
TufNuT
To lower the death toll on our roads i say we ban alcohol, drugs and cars all together. well i say we ban you. |
| #63 09:29pm 21/11/06 |
handles just as s*** as your falcon mr hardware, my r31 has coil over suspension where you still have leaf suspension. and mine is 1300
| #64 02:21pm 22/11/06 |
Actually you raise a good point. Why should it be about age? Shouldn't it be about years of driving experience? Agrees. Driving should be about experience, not just assuming that because of the year someone was born and the subsequent demographic they fall into, that the are going to be irresponsible, risk taking and generally stupid behind the wheel. Thats not to say that there isnt those people out there, but pin pointing an age group over years of experience doesnt seem like the best possible course of action. Speaking of 'bad driver' demographics - how are the elderly monitored? Do they have to take competancy tests as they get older? Or do we just wait until they run into child care centres or dont stop for pedestrians like in the case of Sophie Delezio? In both cases (that poor girl) both drivers were over that age of 60. But do we make the assumption that the accidents happened because of their age like we do with teenagers? |
| #65 02:40pm 22/11/06 |
leaf suspension?
even if your facts were sourced from comparing your skyline to the equivalent year falcon, you would find that it doesn't have leaves. let alone a 2000 model. |
| #66 02:42pm 22/11/06 |
i was comparing to the commodore
my car would probably out handle yours anyway /bait |
| #67 02:49pm 22/11/06 |
i was comparing to the commodore 1. comparing what to a commodore? my falc or your r31? 2. Yeah, probably. If I didn't have a LPG tank in the boot or tired as cab suspension, then i'd win. but in its present state, probably not. |
| #68 02:55pm 22/11/06 |
and it's auto, and i have better tyres and my car is smaller
even with new suspension, it's still a whale of a car even compared to mine, it might be 4 door but it's designed from a 2 door there isn't all that much room in the rear seats and i was comparing my car to the commo last edited by paveway at 15:02:31 22/Nov/06 |
| #69 03:02pm 22/11/06 |
commo's haven't ever had leaves i don't think
and VLs are 1200kgs VNs are 1300kgs VRs are 1400kgs |
| #70 03:04pm 22/11/06 |
heh vl's aren't 1200, thats lighter than a silvia
i'm not actually sure on the actual suspension type they have, but it's completely crap |
| #71 03:07pm 22/11/06 |
Yes they are 1200kgs
And they have coilovers i believe. |
| #72 03:17pm 22/11/06 |
heh well there you go, 100kg difference and i still cain vl's
i've seen a vl with fully sik 18's that had thin spokes and the suspension setup looked wack, i could see the spring, so it deffinately wasn't the same as my setup because the spring sits up in the arch last edited by paveway at 15:20:59 22/Nov/06 |
| #73 03:20pm 22/11/06 |
well thats no big deal
seeing as most VLs are tired family hacks If i ran my AU on petrol, i'd win. |
| #74 03:20pm 22/11/06 |
i don't doubt it
so happy i won't come under these gay modifcation laws, even though i go on my opens in a couple of months rb20 goodness last edited by paveway at 15:44:19 22/Nov/06 |
| #75 03:44pm 22/11/06 |
okay, agreed
| #76 03:45pm 22/11/06 |
also, i found out, that the VL has a 4-link with a coil separate to the shock
so not quite as good as a coilover i'm pretty darn sure my falc is a coilover though, won't be hard to find out cos it rides so damn high |
| #77 03:51pm 22/11/06 |
well it can't be too shagged if it is still riding at the right height, you see so many r31 with the ass sagging cause the suspension is shagged, and at the stock ride height the ass is pretty high
mine is lowered, so it sits pretty level i never doubted in a straight line you'd beat me |
| #78 04:10pm 22/11/06 |
how can you not know what running gear your car has!
| #79 04:13pm 22/11/06 |
I dont understand the whole hands free mobile kit is just as bad thing. Shouldnt their be a law against having a conversation with your passanger as well as looking at advertising and listening to the radio... why is that any different? All of them are as 'hands free' as a bluetooth ear peice etc
| #80 04:25pm 22/11/06 |
My running gear is 4 x Bridgestone Potenzas .. its awesome, they make the car move and everything!
| #81 04:42pm 22/11/06 |
what sort of potenza's ticman?
| #82 04:43pm 22/11/06 |
I dont understand the whole hands free mobile kit is just as bad thing. Shouldnt their be a law against having a conversation with your passanger as well as looking at advertising and listening to the radio... why is that any different? All of them are as 'hands free' as a bluetooth ear peice etc There is a huge difference between talking to someone in person, and talking to someone over a device. One difference is that people in the car are 'in context' to your situation. i.e when you're driving down the street talking to a passenger and say the traffic density increases (thus increasing cognitive load) studies show that both the passenger and the driver stop talking, or at least take long pauses in the conversation. However, if the driver is talking to someone who isn't 'in context' to the situation the remote party has no idea what cognitive state the driver is in and thus there isn't any pausing between conversations. A second difference is based around a lack of non-verbal communication between remote communication. Somewhere around 80% (or at least a metric f***ton) of person to person communication is non-verbal, which leads remote communication to require high cognitive loads to transmit the same level of information. These two differences combine into a sustained level of heightened cognitive load for drivers talking to remote participants compared to local participants. Of course, as drivers gain in experience the cognitive load required to do tasks becomes less and less, as such, driving on a mobile phone is less of a risk for experienced drivers over novice drivers. read this for a more formal explanation and if you still have questions most of the references are a good source to look at after you're finished. |
| #83 05:28pm 22/11/06 |
235x40x19 is the size from memory - dont know the specific model.
| #84 05:30pm 22/11/06 |
thats what i meant, model
| #85 05:38pm 22/11/06 |
Prolly something trashy like GIII's lol.
| #86 09:43pm 22/11/06 |
there is nothing wrong with g3's fyi
| #87 08:56am 23/11/06 |
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A 245/40/19
| #88 09:08am 23/11/06 |
Heheh, Typo, if someone cant feel the differance between talking to someone remotly and to someone in the car, they shouldnt be driving and talking untill they do :P
| #89 09:32am 23/11/06 |
IMO we should continue to let young people drive V8's and what not. Let natural selection take it's course I say. nice one retard. What about your Mum and Dad cruising down the road to go to the supermarket when blammo some punk who cant drive his suped-up commo naturally selects them out of existence. yeah Merry f***in Christmas dips*** thats right. |
| #90 09:37am 23/11/06 |
i take it you feel strongly about this?
| #91 09:43am 23/11/06 |
well it must be an ok law cause uncle Pete told me so ok.
don't make me send him over to 'eyeball' you infi. |
| #92 11:59am 23/11/06 |
Corrupt
infi your a retard oh its all for the kids is it, nazi.
| #93 03:13pm 23/11/06 |
read my post on the first page you wang
i can only hope. young drivers are really bad and killing other people's kids sux. I think you need to go on a forum P plate newb |
| #94 03:18pm 23/11/06 |
ticman, you should get some simex centipedes in 36x13.5 15
| #95 05:21pm 23/11/06 |
nice one retard. First off this crazy kid needs a commo, then it needs to be suped-up (lol) and then he needs to drive like a crazy c*** during daylight hours in TRAFFIC on the way to the shopping centre. Hah. I'm going to assume these type of people exist in Logan or something. <_< But accidents happen and you're a prime example of that SCOGGEX. Knee jerk reactions don't save lives, they keep voters happy. I'm gonna go out on a limb and say MOST hoons have a brain cell or 2 and don't f***en go nuts in dead traffic in peak hours or on weekends on frequently used roads (especially by famlies). What hoons want are long stretches of roads with MINIMAL traffic or some where out of the way so they aren't hassled by cops. But yes you do have the few who are just dead set retards. -_-; |
| #96 06:42pm 23/11/06 |
Hah. I'm going to assume these type of people exist in Logan or something. yeah well thats your first mistake. Since its pretty obvious you wouldn't know s*** from clay I'd suggest you dont go around assuming. you might end up looking stupid. I'm gonna go out on a limb and say MOST hoons have a brain cell or 2 and don't f***en go nuts in dead traffic in peak hours or on weekends on frequently used roads (especially by famlies). there you go being stupid again. just shut up. |
| #97 12:35am 24/11/06 |
I'm gonna go out on a limb and say MOST hoons have a brain cell or 2 and don't f***en go nuts in dead traffic in peak hours or on weekends on frequently used roads (especially by famlies).LOL, that is honestly the most naive view I have ever seen in my life. |
| #98 12:38am 24/11/06 |
I think you guys are sterotyping then. If you think hoons are only 25's and under with "performance" cars.
It's great to meet all sorts of "enthusiast". That includes the vast age range and ethnic background. And you're kidding yourself if you think they keep their cars on a leash everytime they take it out on public roads. -_-; So why not take it to the track you ask? Convenience. Some of these blokes work 6-7 day jobs to get their car exactly how they want it. They're not about to go WOT while you're parents are going to the supermarket to buy you food while you sit at home and play games. So chill :) Maybe some of you spend too much time on boostcruising heh. yeah well thats your first mistake. Since its pretty obvious you wouldn't know s*** from clay I'd suggest you dont go around assuming. you might end up looking stupid. You're from Logan and don't drive a Commodore/Falcon? :o |
| #99 09:34am 24/11/06 |
hey nigs, gordon is from logan and he drives a pulsar!
and there were all those fags that would race out the front of the netcafe down in logan, they didnt drive commodores and falcons! |
| #100 10:40am 24/11/06 |
Yer they drove N/A Supra's.
LAWL. Yer anyway, they were all hoon's including us Dave. I don't think this law solves anything but inconvenience a whole lot of people. Especially those following the rules. It be interesting to see how many fatal accidents involved or were caused by imports/modified cars on QLD roads. |
| #101 07:25pm 24/11/06 |
I'd have to agree with Enigma. Most hoons i know don't hoon in the middle of the day in traffic.
We wait for quiet times to go WOT. Much more fun. I drive like a granny 95% of the time. I do the speed limit, even 50 down the back streets. I have a morbid fear of hitting some kiddy. But if its 11pm, some backroad, no-one around, i flick on the high beam and give it a bit of a squirt. My mates agree, this is the only way to do it. |
| #102 12:11am 25/11/06 |
giving it a squirt would put out your mileage/fuel consumption though ? :p
| #103 01:04am 25/11/06 |
Hah. I'm going to assume these type of people exist in Logan or something. <_< don't you mean wynnum? |
| #104 01:17am 25/11/06 |
Cross St, the one right next to mine is full of those little traffic island things... they make you speed because it's so fun to. It's a 50km/hr backstreet and these are meant to slow you down to 30 - 40km/hr or so... but every single person that goes through there pushes over a 100km/hr because it's a challenge.
Like why even bother, if I can go 135km/hr through them in a $100 sigma... they're not really doing there job are they. I don't do this now, so don't cry about it. last edited by CHUB at 01:32:00 25/Nov/06 |
| #105 01:32am 25/11/06 |
yeah my gf got some of those things near her house, they make you do a slight curve so you don't speed, motokhana time!
| #106 09:38am 25/11/06 |
These ones don't make you curve at all, they are actually placed either side, OUTSIDE the lane. It slows old people and s*** drivers down to 20km/hr for some reason... but everyone else, it encourages you to speed.
| #107 10:22am 25/11/06 |
Those islands suck. It does encourage the few to go even faster. I hate it, speeding in suburbia = kiddies = bad.
The point I was trying to make a few post back was. Some of you sound like your s*** don't stink. Most if not all people hoon a little. In everyday traffic I see soccer mum's speeding and cutting in and out of traffic while on the mobile. I personally think that's a tad more dangerous than someone giving it a squirt 1st, 2nd and 3rd when no one is around. But cops aren't going to be policing heavy traffic. They're on the side of the road @ 1am on a public holiday trying to "save lives". And as proof, observe a area that has alot of businesses around. i.e industrial type area (during business hours too). You'll see a wide range of cars comming and going (WRX/SS Ute/XR6T/FPV F6/Assortment of Nissans and lots of bikes). They all give it plenty of gas on corner exit :) I'd say a good 60% or more would be over 25. Some in there late 40's with M3/AMG's ripping it up. If you had any balls and a ounce of passion for speed then you'd understand. But if you're sterotyping hoons then that's no better than assuming is it :D |
| #108 12:28pm 25/11/06 |
| #108 |