Excruci@ting
Got in him with my Americans and he's a pain in the ass. If you want him, come to Morningside and take him now. Otherwise hes going on the porcelain express. Looks like this.
http://www.aquafish.co.il/Cichlid/RedZebraMale.jpg |
| #0 02:33pm 11/11/06 |
Make sure he's dead before you porcelain express him dude :)
| #1 02:38pm 11/11/06 |
eat it?
| #2 02:41pm 11/11/06 |
Excruci@ting
I don't wanna express him, someone come get him.
| #3 02:45pm 11/11/06 |
sorry m8 but my tanks are pretty much full.. also i have americans as well & africans are sposed to have a higher ph & stuff. also my dempseys are breeding atm & they try & rip other fish's faces off. check these 2 pics of my once dominant rivulatus after it had a tussle with the male dempsey.
beat up riv 1 beat up riv 2 just chuck it in a bag & take it to your local aquarium for some store credit... they won't give you much but its better than gurglin' down into porcelain fish heaven :P eat it? the blue ones taste nasty :P also... what is it doing wrong? last edited by demon at 15:05:59 11/Nov/06 |
| #4 03:05pm 11/11/06 |
how would i best prepare this fish for dinner?
| #5 03:01pm 11/11/06 |
Excruci@ting
hes just a bully, stressing the other fish.. good idea about the credit. i might do that.
| #6 03:42pm 11/11/06 |
I don't know anythign about fish but we have a tank with a big fish that sorta looks like that. African Sicilid i think? Is that the same fish? The one we have attacked all the others and wiped them out. He's king.
If this is the same type of fish as the bastad ive got now then i'll take him. Are they likely to kill each other tho? |
| #7 03:44pm 11/11/06 |
Ok yep its the same fish, cept mine is green and gold (go aussie!)
I just roughly measured him and he's like 17cm long or so. How big is yours? I'll take him if there's only a small chance they'll fight each other. There's also 1 other remaining fish - he's small and gold coloured and hides in his cave all day from the big fish...I wonder how he'll cope with 2 big bastards... |
| #8 03:50pm 11/11/06 |
Africans are pretty aggro towards each other. The only way to prevent them from victimising other tank mates is to practically overcrowd the tank. That way, they don't have a chance to pick on any one particular fish
| #9 04:02pm 11/11/06 |
Excruci@ting
Hey Cock boy, :)... sorry mate i already took him down to the Aquarium place... :(
| #10 04:20pm 11/11/06 |
Aww :(
It's dads fishtank and he's away, was gonna surprise him with your big blue bastard for his bday! How much u get for him? |
| #11 04:37pm 11/11/06 |
you guys are f***ign fish nerds..
| #12 04:41pm 11/11/06 |
Wow, you don't waste time.
| #13 04:44pm 11/11/06 |
Excruci@ting
15bucs lol.. i bought some fish food.
| #14 04:49pm 11/11/06 |
Hrm... I could probably feed my fish for a week for that much now :)
| #15 05:17pm 11/11/06 |
can i ask what the fascination is with fish.. like what enjoyment do you get out of it.. like a dog or something you can actually play with i understand.. but why fish ?
| #16 05:28pm 11/11/06 |
U can use a tiny fishing rod and catch them over and over again
| #17 05:40pm 11/11/06 |
LOL. Only u would do that :P
| #18 05:40pm 11/11/06 |
can i ask what the fascination is with fish.. like what enjoyment do you get out of it.. like a dog or something you can actually play with i understand.. but why fish ?mav the same could be asked about your fascination with body building, like what enjoyment do you get out of stairing at hunky naked oily men? like flogging your log over any guy i can understand since you're a poof and all... but why big hunky oily naked men? |
| #19 06:04pm 11/11/06 |
i've explained my reasons for enjoying the SPORT of bodybuilding on numerous occasions.. i enjoy keeping in shape and i admire those that can keep so well in shape and can dedicate themselves to the sport.
having frickin fish in a tank is a completely different question booyah you f***tard so instead of trying to flame me every time you post why don't you actually have some f***ing input for once. |
| #20 06:15pm 11/11/06 |
haha Well I for one enjoy fishing and looks like i just caught a big one! |
| #21 06:25pm 11/11/06 |
i love it how f***heads always use the fishing line when they've just been owned and can't think of a decent f***ing comeback.
i.e. you,loki. |
| #22 06:37pm 11/11/06 |
Watching fish can be relaxing, especially if you have set ups like Hermi and the others here. People take pride in their set ups, just as people take pride in their cars, homes, body building physiques etc.
| #23 06:55pm 11/11/06 |
You're taking things way too close to heart and your attempts at comebacks are nothing more than blowing your load into a fan.
This is a fishing thread and you got reeled in Mr emO |
| #24 07:15pm 11/11/06 |
Excruci@ting
Fish tanks look awesome, and they're great to watch. Thats my reason anyway. Ive know a couple of people that have said the same thing "whats so great about fish". They soon understood when they got a tank themselves... i suppose its an 'acquired taste'.
Sounds like another excuse to post my tank - http://members.optushome.com.au/exz0r3/tank :) Hemi - care to join ? :) |
| #25 07:24pm 11/11/06 |
Splash
we have 2 tanks, both tropical fish
bought a heap of plants for the smaller (2ft) tank today, so i took some pics: http://www.unit3.net/gallery/d/200-2/IMG_3162.JPG |
| #26 08:32pm 11/11/06 |
myWhiteWolf
i personally have no interest in fish, but i could understand how someone could get right into the hoby, just like how people rice up their cars. it serves no purpose, but people like the 'look' of it.
as i understand, fish arn't a pet like a dog / cat is to thoes people. its more of a hoby than anything? and everyones got hobbies! correct me if im wrong hemi / excruciating. |
| #27 08:37pm 11/11/06 |
Really clean, well kept tanks look f***ing excellent. Fish come in heaps of shapes, colours and sizes too. Some of the colours are freaking insane!
IMO a nice fishtank is just a wicked decoration for any house. No different to having a nice painting on a wall. It's a shame I hate cleaning the tank and feeding them so much, otherwise I'd love a sweet setup like some of you guys have. You're just a noob grunt ;) |
| #28 08:45pm 11/11/06 |
Excruci@ting
correct me if im wrong hemi / excruciating. Too right. :) |
| #29 09:06pm 11/11/06 |
Fizzer
Oooeeer a fish thread what a perfect opportunity to post the fact that I just bought a fish tank with two oscars in it. I've always had mates that were mad about fish tanks (fish in general really) and its more of a passion than an actual pet as reload and the others have said.
I admit I was always like pfft they're only fish get over it but after having setup my tank i can see the appeal - even if its just to make my lounge room look cooler. Fish also tend to make herms lans somewhat interesting namely when they spash water on a certain someones powerboard whilst frantically attacking the crap out of something. I'm pretty sure none of the fish the guys are talking about resemble anything like goldfish - in fact i think you'll find goldfishies is dinner. I know f*** all about fish and keeping them :( Any tips from the seasoned fishermen? I went to the petshop and bought these lil packets of frozen meat thats for fish and you push it out into the tank and they gobble it up - but i have no idea how much to give them and how often. Does the light affect them at all? Is it good to turn it off or do they prefer it on. </random questions> |
| #30 04:34am 12/11/06 |
Splash: nice setup
As to why do I do it? I keep fish for a few different reasons 1: Can be relaxing to sit back an observe. Kind of like your very own private underwater documentary cause you learn to understand why each fish behaves the way it does. 2: Fish are about as far from IT as you can get and I enjoy the break 3: I enjoy watching them eat as it helps me to understand how best to catch them when I do eventually get to go fishing. 4: Breeding rare exotic fish hopefully will be an excellent way to earn cash when I retire as it's something I enjoy doing Anyways,. Obligatory snaps... Remember, bear in mind the largest one in the tank is ~ 70 cm (the big long silverish one) http://www.users.on.net/~thevault/HERMITech/Fish/Images/11-Nov-06/Community.jpg last edited by HERMITech at 08:13:45 12/Nov/06 |
| #31 08:13am 12/11/06 |
Fnukle
Fizzer, most fish dont mind the light. the more you leave the light on the more algae grows. so if your getting too much then either get algae eaters like catfish or dont leave the lights on so long.
oscars are messy and very aggressive. dont put your finger in the tank :) i feed my tank twice a day. one bloodworms or shrimp block and a few pellets. Sometimes chuck some flakes in when im feeling totally crazy. feed em too much bloodworms and they get Gut Rot. try to mix it up. shrimp are clean as are all ya pellets and shizzle. tho oscars are very hardy fish so i doubt you'll kill any. just make sure you always netrulise the clorine from tapwater. and nitrate from them s***ting. i use Prime, pretty choice stuff does everything. |
| #32 09:12am 12/11/06 |
Wow, WW has posted a few decent things here and there recently and has moved up a rung or two.
i love it how f***heads always use the fishing line when they've just been owned and can't think of a decent f***ing comeback.Yeah, nah he was definately fishing. Even the tardiest of the tards could spot that one from miles away. It was like a bright lure glistening in the sun, there was no treachery or subtlety to that bait and you still took it. |
| #33 11:46am 12/11/06 |
Good setups are pretty amazing, but they cost a FORTUNE and the upkeep is tedious.
If u wanna see the coolest tank setup ever, go to Toowong Shopping Village. There's a random tank in the centre which has been there for years, and its f***ing incredible! Has living coral, sea slugs, star fish, and like 20+ of the most pretty fish ever. Even has a couple of nemo's. I can stare at that tank for ages. However my tank at home which has a african cicilids and crayfish - kinda boring and a pain in the ass. 1 cicilid killed all the rest except one. We have Crayfish in there though too and they're taking over. They just keep breeding and breeding, and getting bigger and bigger. Quite incestuous! Should probably add some foreign crays in to prevent deformaties...although a cray with 3 claws would be kinda cool... |
| #34 12:26pm 12/11/06 |
we have a coupple of gold fish in a old bathtub out the back. does that count?
| #35 12:27pm 12/11/06 |
Gamble
Any of u guys keep marine?
I have been keeping them for a while, look better than frsh i think but are much harder to keep alive and require alot more setup cost |
| #36 12:57pm 12/11/06 |
Lunch
I guess while we are all showing pics Ill do the same. Whomever was saying fish arent like cats and dogs is right in a way that they are ornamental, but I find they definately exibit personalities, and no two fish are ever alike, even with the same species.
Gamble, I agree its harder and more expensive to keep than fresh, but after its all setup I do just as little to the marine tank as I do to the freshwater tank :) Once a month water change is about it. Although I had alot of problems with red bacteria on the sand floor for a while that I had to try a few different options to get rid of. The Full tank http://members.iinet.net.au/~rips/tank1.jpg Big Mumma, the female Maroon Clown hiding near her Anemone with one of the Yellow Tangs checking her out. http://members.iinet.net.au/~rips/tank2.jpg Mandarin Fish on the right hanging with the Blenny. I cant remember but I think I showed this one last time. http://members.iinet.net.au/~rips/tank3.jpg last edited by Lunch at 13:11:15 12/Nov/06 |
| #37 01:11pm 12/11/06 |
Thats awesome lunch! Looks a lot like the Toowong tank.
How much do u think it cost u to setup? |
| #38 01:42pm 12/11/06 |
Lunch
Probably cost around $8k over the space of a year. Most of the money is in the filtration/lighting. You could definately do it for alot cheaper and get a similar effect.
edit: I'm fcked when the missus reads this now lol :| |
| #39 01:50pm 12/11/06 |
When I'm a richass tycoon I'll definately get a sic saltwater setup in my pad. They're fkn classy I reckon. They're a great artistic feature. As long as there's someone else to look after it :)
But yeh i find the freshies boring. |
| #40 02:14pm 12/11/06 |
I'd love to get a marine tank. Only reason I don't do it at present is due to the fact that I am renting and don't want to have to pull it down should I have to move.
If I ever get around to buying a house of mine own, I will definately set one up then. |
| #41 03:25pm 12/11/06 |
Fizzer
Heres another noob question but whats a marine tank? Aren't all fishes marine? Not taking the piss I genuinely don't know.
| #42 06:11pm 12/11/06 |
Lunch
basically salt water setup (for corals, salt water fish etc) = marine
freshwater is that, freshwater. |
| #43 07:28pm 12/11/06 |
Fnukle
marine refers to saltwater.
others are freshwater such as lakes and rivers |
| #44 07:29pm 12/11/06 |
and bogtroll's refer to ugly chicks
| #45 08:45pm 12/11/06 |
Splash
http://www.unit3.net/gallery/v/fishes/3foot/
some pics of our other tank in a bit of a mess at the moment because i'm stripping it down |
| #46 08:56pm 12/11/06 |
Excruci@ting
Fantastic Lunch... one day I shall move into the Marine industry also, that looks great buddy!
| #47 09:03pm 12/11/06 |
the main reason i keep aquariuns is that i like watching the strange behaviour that many cichlids & some other fresh water fish exhibit. in particular thier mock fighting routines :] sure they aren't pets like dogs or cats... they dont make much noise & they stay where they are put :P also the tanks make a good display for when i have visitors.
http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/fish/4foottank.jpg one day i'll do a marine tank... when i'm sick of cichlids probably. |
| #48 09:23pm 12/11/06 |
step
Must borrow camera!
Is it just me or is the handle part of the glass cleaner on the inside of the tank Demon? |
| #49 09:47pm 12/11/06 |
looks like it but the handle part is even bigger. it's a floating type magnetic cleaner which at first i thought was a good idea coz it was easy to retrieve the inside piece when you pilled the handle away from the glass... but it lacks the strength of the heavier magnetic cleaners so you have to go over the same spot like mad to get algae off :[
| #50 11:28pm 12/11/06 |
Here's a 15 cm Rivulatus that swam down into the rocks at a bad time
http://www.users.on.net/~thevault/HERMITech/Fish/Images/11-Nov-06/Rivulatus_rip.JPG At the bottom of my tank in the rocks is one particularly large crayfish who is constantly reinforcerd with the ones that breed in the undergravel filter I have. |
| #51 12:57am 13/11/06 |
Learn 2 resize for f***s sake.
| #52 12:59am 13/11/06 |
^^LOL
But yeah I can't make out what that picture is supposed to show, it's too big. This forum should just have a maximum allowed size so it doesn't break. |
| #53 01:04am 13/11/06 |
dunno wtf is going on there
I uploaded the wrong pic, the uploaded an replaced with the resized one an it still won't display... meh |
| #54 01:05am 13/11/06 |
oh wait, now it does
| #55 01:06am 13/11/06 |
Looks like _just_ a fish head...with possibly a hook in it?
| #56 08:07am 13/11/06 |
another cool thing about having crazy lookin aquarium fish is the photography! i have learnt more about my digicamera's features & manual focus & the like from trying to capture fish in motion than i have before.
hermi: that must be a muthrfukr of a crayfish to do that to a 15cm rivulatus!@#! |
| #57 05:38pm 13/11/06 |
Splash
bump
what fish forums do you guys visit? |
| #58 04:22pm 15/11/06 |
none regularly... i sometimes visit QldCichlid forums just to check ou thier aquarium trader forum to see if there are any really good deals going. the general discussion forums is too noob with 75% of the discussion about old internet junk rather than aquariums :P i also occasionally browse cichlidforums.com ... but i gotta be pretty bored. :P
we should start an ausgamers aquariums forum! :D coz i really just wanna see pics of other peoples setups / fish / plants / aquariums stuffs. |
| #59 04:54pm 15/11/06 |
Splash
heh fair enough
i drained out 3 foot tank last night to change the gravel, making it into a cichlid tank gonna go looking for fish this weekend also need to find some cheap rocks |
| #60 04:59pm 15/11/06 |
i like using slate in my tanks... its flat n easy to make caves with. i went to an old blue metal quarry in narangba, near where my parents house is, & got a heeeeeep of slate.. free! :D 20mins of looking through one rubble pile was enough to get me a couple of bucket loads of slate. took it home & smashed it into smaller pieces with a hammer & then soaked it for a few days in hot water to kill any bugs.
go the cichlidz! :D |
| #61 05:48pm 15/11/06 |
Splash
got any left over?
otherwise i'm just gonna go check out some landscaping mobs, see what they have |
| #62 05:50pm 15/11/06 |
only a couple of crappy bits that really arent worth your while :( i gave the last few decent bits to dethon for his tank :/ landscapers could be the go... as long as they are gonna give you the offcuts cheap!
i'll be going on another run for slate in the next couple of weeks though... i want some more & another mate is just setting up a 4' tank n is keen for some.. so i'll keep ya posted when it happens. |
| #63 05:59pm 15/11/06 |
is there still a zebra child for sale???
| #64 06:51pm 15/11/06 |
| #64 |