I had a tattoo done at All Star in the city (in Skinny's) a while ago. Long story short, it was a nice easy tattoo, they told me to come back after 4 weeks if it needed some touching up (which it does to a small degree), and left it at that. The problem is, they make it really f***ing difficult to get in there for the touchup. "Oh sorry I don't *do* touchups on weekends, only *real* work. I finish at 5pm every other day. What's that? You work fulltime. Well tough luck, buddy!". So I'm basically not really happy with the service.
I'm looking to expand on my original one now, and my fiancee is going to get one as well. We don't wanna go back to All Star, because they seem to enjoy being difficult. So has anyone got any positive tattoo stories to tell from places around Brisbane? Good artists, good service etc? I'm looking for recommendations. Cheers. |
| #0 06:51pm 30/08/06 |
lil mick!
i havent got a tat, but alot of ppl i've spoken to reckon this dude is the shiz. |
| #1 07:00pm 30/08/06 |
Heaven and hell down at cleveland
*insert good story* Heaven N Hell Body Art (TATTOOING) (BRISBANE SURROUNDS) (Australia) I know it says city but they are worth the drive and open late some nights last edited by Astroboy at 19:10:26 30/Aug/06 |
| #2 07:10pm 30/08/06 |
man i went to a little place at nundah (northside) pete davidson's tattoo shop, not sure if it's called that, but it's just on the main drag almost opposite the comm bank.. i had no troubles at all went in on a pretty busy day said i wanted one done today he said come back in just over an hour and a chick did mine up within 20 minutes, had no problems at all and she said if i wanted a touch up within a month to let them know as well, i didn't it looks brand new still imo, compared to my other one anyway which seemed to have faded quite quickly.
http://www.creativetattooart.com/nundah.html 1277 Sandgate Road, Nundah QLD 4012 AUSTRALIA PH: (07) 32666065 last edited by маvєяık at 19:13:10 30/Aug/06 |
| #3 07:13pm 30/08/06 |
yer, wifey got hers at nundah
when i get my facial spiderweb, ill be going there also |
| #4 07:10pm 30/08/06 |
Did she get a facial?
| #5 07:11pm 30/08/06 |
from the tattoist? no
from me? yes, just this morning, why do you ask? |
| #6 07:15pm 30/08/06 |
yeah, go see little mick at high energy in the valley, hes awesome, ps hi pharycyde :)
| #7 07:15pm 30/08/06 |
what are you getting added phar?
| #8 07:16pm 30/08/06 |
Thanks for the awesome replies guys :) P.S Hi Trin! :)
I got a Checkered 5 point star on my upper bicep. I f***ing love it, but it looks really plain. I'm not really into getting meaningful tattoos or anything like that, I just want something that looks f***in' cool. I don't know what I want added there, which is why I want someone who will be able to help me with some sort of design too *shrug*. So Lil Mick eh? Is that the tattoo shop in McWhirters (just down from where maccas is, near the Halal butcher?) |
| #9 08:05pm 30/08/06 |
um.. its like, if your'e coming from the royal bris hospital, you turn left before you go down that road towards the mall. Theres like a sex shop on one corner, some pub on the other, little mick is a few shops down the road <----- that way from the pub..
| #10 08:08pm 30/08/06 |
theres a place at the gabba up from the chalk, i only recomend going there if you are getting something simple like an outline done, and dont get them to design anything, in saying that they are the cheapest place you will probably find.
| #11 09:06pm 30/08/06 |
Furgle
Stay far away from nundah... I got mine there, a small one on my wrist. A couple of other artists saw it and told me it was done too deep which is why it's not as sharp as it should be and why the scarring is more visible.
| #12 10:51pm 30/08/06 |
My Cock
I find that whenever someone asks for a good tattooist referal u get 100 different responses. Everyone thinks "their guy" is the best.
I dunno, maybe see if there's some kinid of "tattoo awards" and go to the winner or something. |
| #13 10:56pm 30/08/06 |
I got mine at all star at indropilly and had no issues with them? as far as i konw the city store is run by totally different people (and not as many). Mate of mine uses wild at heart and highly recomends them.
| #14 11:02pm 30/08/06 |
just find a place, ask to see there work, make sure it looks clean, then go to the next place and do the same, repeat till you find a price that works for you and an artist that is decent.
ive had all my tats done at the same place, but by 3 different people. the first 2 werent so good at it so i tried to keep the designs simple, and the 3rd guy i couldnt tell so i just gave him an outline and told him to ignore the shading, eveyr other artist and "tattoo know it all" ive run into tell me its some of the best outlining they have seen, then they get blown away by the ever so cheap price it was. |
| #15 11:11pm 30/08/06 |
| #15 |