Greazy
I was on the bus today, watching happily as people went on and off the bus. The bus itself was mostly filled with school kids, and of course everyone knows the cool kids hang at the back and that’s where the majority of them were. However there were a few at the front. As I looked around the bus, I could see some notable characters. There was an old man with white hair who looked a lot like Mr. KFC. Moving along there was a thin (more like anorexic) women madly drawing random things in her sketch book, I could make out the words 'reece'. There was also a man who looked much like a paedophile and an extremely obese women, she was sitting opposite the thin lady. Equilibrium at its finest. These strange characters were all at the front side of the bus, however something else took my fancy.
Two men, both with a look, you know that look. The look of hardship, the look of a painful life, one of stupid mistakes, one that has lead them down a bad path. These two men both looked like thugs, people at any given time might snap and kill someone. As the bus slowly comes to a stop to let people on/off, an old lady hops on. She struggling barely able to get up the bus stairs. But right then the most fascinating thing happened, both of these 'thugs' stood up simultaneously to let the old lady sit down in their spot. Not a school student bursting with energy, but 'thugs'. Indeed these men were not thugs, but men of honour, morals and respect. Edit: As requested dragons http://img79.imageshack.us/img79/8849/untitled1yl5.gif |
| #0 10:19pm 09/08/06 |
I know you are but what am I?
| #1 10:34pm 08/08/06 |
u so greazy
| #2 10:45pm 08/08/06 |
Don't judge a book by it's cover?
Often I find that people who have been through life tough, either become bitter or rough diamonds. |
| #3 10:45pm 08/08/06 |
you caught them on a good day?
| #4 10:50pm 08/08/06 |
always tryna keep a nigga down
| #5 10:51pm 08/08/06 |
u should have 1-upped them and paid for her fare.
last edited by ravn0s at 22:59:58 08/Aug/06 |
| #6 10:59pm 08/08/06 |
Moral of the story is you have a stereotypical perception of the world? It is not fascinating that they stood up for the woman. It is fascinating that you would feel the need to write a thread about it.
| #7 11:00pm 08/08/06 |
tell women's weekly about it, cos we don't care
| #8 11:03pm 08/08/06 |
That doesn't surprise me in the slightest
If I've learnt anything in this life is that people who dress up in suits are usually the first to take a kick when your down and if your generally in the s***, it's the long haired, biker looking guy you think most likely to rob you / bash you etc that just does the right thing cause they can. I should know, I've been one of those scary looking people for as long as I can remember I've even had the enjoyment of staring down a cop (albiet a young one) who was intent on hassling me even after I said, "just cause I look like a scumbag, doesn't mean I am one" I cannot recall the number of times I've just helped out a random person for no other reason than it's just the right thing to do. It's also a nice way of shaming those folk that think they are so high and mighty without being petty or whatever. Besides, you never know when you might need a favour back from a random an it's the best insurance money can't buy |
| #9 11:03pm 08/08/06 |
Maybe the cool kids at the back didnt need to get up for the lady cause they were all the way at the back and the lady was looking for a seat at the front, where the 2 "thugs" happened to be sitting?
If not, society still sucks. |
| #10 11:13pm 08/08/06 |
the seats for the elderly are at the front of the bus
| #11 11:16pm 08/08/06 |
umm.....
Maybe the cool kids at the back didnt need to get up for the lady cause they were all the way at the back and the lady was looking for a seat at the front, where the 2 "thugs" happened to be sitting? |
| #12 11:23pm 08/08/06 |
when i was a youngster on the school bus i'd encourage old ladies to walk to the back of the bus, where i'd beat them within an inch of their life
u glad they didn't sit back there now huh punk i gotta fid some more bad beats cos i can barely read this screen anymore :(:( |
| #13 11:32pm 08/08/06 |
Haven't you ever heard keep your friends close and your enemies closer? They were simply helping her, making her let her guard down so when they DO decide to mug her she won't put up a fight.
| #14 11:41pm 08/08/06 |
did the qgl forums just become a blog? i must have missed something...
| #15 11:43pm 08/08/06 |
smashingpumpkin
Saw a similar thing happen once. Full bus, elderly person walks towards the back looking for a seat and finally of all people a twenty year old full on eminem wannabe gives up his seat. None of the decent looking business types in the front half of the bus even offered. And there i was thinking "what a wanker".
That situation definitely changed my perception of people. |
| #16 12:48am 09/08/06 |
you should have apprached the two "thugs" afterwards and said:
"You know i didnt think a couple of scummy looking people like you would offer an old lady their seat, today you have earnt my respect" |
| #17 01:07am 09/08/06 |
I work with a dude who is your classic Heavy Metal lovin bogan.
He Has the long biker ponytail that he dyes jet black, he has all the shrapnel in his face, he has 'sleeve' tattoo's - one arm has a dragon the other is a massive satanic alien thing with it's vagina on his elbow. Fav bands are Fear Factory and Killswitch. Nicest bloke I know. no bs. |
| #18 01:29am 09/08/06 |
It's cos biker chicks put out. Lots.
| #19 01:35am 09/08/06 |
^ funny as a dead baby
| #20 01:43am 09/08/06 |
My Cock
needs dragons.
| #21 09:24am 09/08/06 |
I'm confused, I typed in http://qgl.ausforums.com/ but I seem to have been redirected to http://www.myspace.com/
| #22 09:35am 09/08/06 |
Captain America
its all about perception and sterotypes ... i know some people of older generations who think anyone that has tatoo's are bad news and are either junkies / bikies or both , well funny that seeing as tatoo's dont mean s*** these days a lot of people have tehm from random people working in offices (me?) to those diving italians |
| #23 09:38am 09/08/06 |
^ funny as a dead baby What about a whole pile of dead babies with an alive one on the middle trying to eat its way out? |
| #24 09:55am 09/08/06 |
Topic: Our Perception of SocietyShouldn't this be titled, "MY Perception of Society"? I don't really see where OUR comes in to this :p Seems like you're the one who judged the thugs before knowing anything about them :) I would like to note the distinct lack of any dragon as well... :/ |
| #25 09:52pm 09/08/06 |
funny as a dead baby I laughed at that :-S |
| #26 09:59pm 09/08/06 |
What about a whole pile of dead babies with an alive one on the middle trying to eat its way out? what about a pile of dead babies turned zombie trying to eat the live baby in the middle? As for society, it's not hard to see todays youth are a bunch of f***ed up little s***s to vandalize stuff and terrorise everyone |
| #27 10:26pm 09/08/06 |
funny as a dead babyi know heaps of great baby jokes. |
| #28 05:23pm 10/08/06 |
Velvet
'thugs' Our views of society are filled with these crazy labels that further segregate people within society influences their opportunities and treatmeant within the community. Maybe they were just two guys and the fact that you thought that they were "thugs" as oppossed to any other person is irrelevant. THAT SAID... it was a very nice thing to do and i do understand what you were getting at. :) |
| #29 07:58pm 10/08/06 |
| #29 |