Topic: New car - how much discount can u really get?
Grimy
I'm going to have a look at a new little car for my fiance, either a ford fiesta or a suzuki swift. Now both these cars retail for around $16k even plus onroads (by the way, how much r on roads roughly?). Now im guessing its gonna be about 18-19 drive away, and theres where the negotian starts. How much realistly can u push to get off? i'm not trading anything in and i will have my own finance (is that technically cash?). also i figure theres some june30 end of financial year thing coming....any ideas?
Monaro
My new ute was 22990, after all the on road cost and stamp duty and delivery and that it cam too just under 27000, maybe 26500. But i had to pay an extra 500 for delivery as mine came from melbourne.
TufNuT
DONT get a ford fiesta, those things are just s***, they have a small fule tank so it feels like they cost less to fill but its the same as other cars in it class, also it is really s*** at going up hills with the aircon on, i have a friend who has one of these, it band new and the thing almost dies going up the hill at my house.
Suzuki Swift 100% dude

as for negotiations, ask Suhaib

Suhaib looks like a terrorist, theyll do anything to get him outta their car lot!! (Love you!)
Suzuki Swift FTW Grimy. I got one of these for my wife late last year and she loves it. We bought our's through Suzuki on Sangate road Nundah because a good mate of mine is the general manager :p

You wont get as big a discount as we did, but I'm sure he could give you the best deal you'll see. PM me if you wont contact details.
Aim for around 16k, just pretend the onroads don't exist...

I just got a new Astra, which is quoted at er $22 plus onroads, after going around from dealer to dealer I got it for $22...

Basically you get to the point where (bigger dealerships are better for this, because they want quantity, even if its at a small loss) you call the place up and say "I need a lightning silver CD Astra with roofracks today for $21,500, can you do it yes or no"

Then they'll call you back and say - "I've spoken to our sales manager, who called the Queensland Manager, Who spoke to the Australian manager, who spoke to the CEO of Holden, and the best price we can do is $22,200

Keep doing that over and over and you'll be surprised how low you can get. Keep quoting the previous price less $500.

So I got it for the advertised price with free racks, towball, mats, tank of premium, etc

Once you've worked out the exact car you want, don't go into the dealerships, because they're scattered around the place like lepers, just call them, and if you leave them with the ultimadem of a sale today, they'll always come through...

They'll also try and press you to use finance with them, because obviously they can make a mint out of financing, so if they're losing money on the car, they'll try and make it up in 10% finance, but same applies again here, tell them you've got a business representative at CBFC who is offering you 8% and they'll come through on that as well..

Hope this helps, but of a brain dump
If it's not too late - check out the Hyundai Getz. I bought one for my GF and its an awesome car.

It's a complete redesign and change from an Excel for starters so it isn't s***. It's efficient, comfortable and has a good selection of features for its starting price of around $15-16k.

And if you like Top Gear - Clarkson picked this as his most favourite "Pacific Rim" car as it felt more like a European car than a cheap Asian car.
my sister just bought a pajero and shaved about 7000 off the retail price. they are practcially giving them away these days.
lol cos pajero's are s*** buddy, well mitsubishi in general (exception for evo's...mmmm dreamy evo's)

btw , all those new car dealers are making $+4,000 on each car. You just have to be persistent and stick to your price. If you can't take off atleast $1,000 of the price and get free on road costs, stamp duty paid, Extended warranty etc then you're doing something wrong. Just be a real staunch c*** to them.

btw go the suzuki. Ring up insurance and see the difference between both of them, just gotta do the maths.

are you going to be trading in your old car? if so what car is it?

edit nearly forgot, because its near tax time, all the car yards are trying to flog off their cars, so it should work with you on getting the car cheaper.

last edited by BigZub at 10:55:06 10/Jun/06
You should be able to get a fair bit of a discount.. Just gotta be tough with them and don't let in.. Make yourself sound like your a student or something so they assume you don't have much money.. Just to give you an idea, I bought a brand new holden astra last year. It retailed for around $29k including onroads and the old man gave me a hand at beating down the price and we walked away with a brand new car for $24500
Crusher
i bought a new car in 2001. All up it came to $32,900 on the road. I ended up paying $28k even on the road.

A good rule of thumb is take the on road price and offer 15% under that as your drive away price.
you probably sucked the salesman`s cock crusher.
Crusher
you probably threatened to fly a plane into his showroom, rape his wife, sell his daughters into slavery and sacrifice his sons to allah
and all that , it still turned you on.

Toyota Yaris, Suzuki Swift or Hyundai Getz.

If you buy anything else you are a fool.
^ You are a raging homo...or you are a hairdresser...
i drive an excel, you got a problem with that? biatch.
i do
they sark
i dont even want your pink slip
one tip I've read is to buy in the last 10 days of the month or so, when they want to meet there monthly quota's on sales. They'll drop prices a bit more then so they can meet sales requirements.
And what Skitza you are a latent homosexual, rev-head bogan?

We are a match made in hell

fkn loser
Greazy
Suhaib looks like a terrorist, theyll do anything to get him outta their car lot!! (Love you!)
Shouldnt you be playing Wow?
Crunch
What jmr said. If you can get your car driveaway for the advertised retail price i reckon you've done OK. Also don't phone around - send faxes. Make sure you include exactly what you want (even colour) so they know you're serious and mention that you're getting three or more quotes and whoever is cheapest will get your business. Now is a good time to buy with EOFY.
Also don't phone around - send faxes
you'd want to text drive and see the car in person.... f***ing lol.. try to haggle over the phone? good luck.
Grimy
alrighty, went for a test drive in the fiesta and swift, my opinion, fiesta a much better/nice drive. the swift is quieter in the road noise department but its too soft, the seat and suspension so squidgy, hell even the carsalesmen understeered around the round about (in the wet mind u). The swift has nice little features standard like the buttons on the stearing wheel but the interios seems a little sub par. not bad, but almost like a version 1, whereas the ford's is version 2.0. overall we gonna go the 4 door fiesta, same price drive away as swift. now we gonna start haggling with different dealers.
i will say that the head space in the swift is ample, but rest of car nothing special.

by the way, whats dealer delivery actually cover? i was quoted $18200 for the 4 dour fiesta with about 900 bucks worth of options but of that $1995 was dealer delivery... crazy
But its a Ford mate!!!! Did you try the Yaris? I know a few ppl who have bought them and recjkon they are the bomb.

last edited by sLaps_Forehead at 17:50:29 10/Jun/06
you'd want to text drive and see the car in person.... f***ing lol.. try to haggle over the phone? good luck.

I'm saying, once you've decided on a car, you cant drive around to every f***ing dealership, thats just stupid
jmr and Crunch are absolutely right.

My old man always does this trick. Finds out a price from one dealer. Finds out a price from another dealer. If it's lower, go back to dealer 1 to see if he can better the price. Find a third dealer. See if he can better the bettered price. Play one dealer off the other. Be real nasty and cunning, cos thats what dealers are.

'Dealer Delivery' - what the f*** is that? they put some fuel in the tank, they unload it off the truck. $120 to the govt. big deal! As if thats worth $1200-$2500. It's just profit margin. NEVER EVER EVER PAY A CENT OF DEALER DELIVERY.

PS personal opinion time: Yaris & Swift FTW, Ford for the boring, Getz FTL.

At a very minimum you should be able to get it for no on roads in real terms.

When I got mine I basically talked it down to 1 grand (5%) under their rrp with free on road and free tinting.
It's ok to carry a handbag around Slaps, I won't judge you.
y old man always does this trick. Finds out a price from one dealer. Finds out a price from another dealer. If it's lower, go back to dealer 1 to see if he can better the price. Find a third dealer. See if he can better the bettered price. Play one dealer off the other.
why would you bother with the f*** around? it can be done alot easier... f***ing haggle bitches.

joe, you're raced motherf***er, let me just fix my waterpump :P
/me pats evo.... so innocent, ohh :)
one tip I've read is to buy in the last 10 days of the month or so, when they want to meet there monthly quota's on sales. They'll drop prices a bit more then so they can meet sales requirements.

**bang** winnah!@#$

visit the dealership if you can - if they don't have a salesperson who looks to be running from natural selection, then just try another. Most dealers have at least one 'bitch' on site to do running around/s*** for them/sales. 'come the end of the month, this guy will almost sell his soul to boost his numbers to get out of his bind.

god I love teh interweb
C'mon Skitz if you are gonna insult me because of your rather obvious sexual insecurities, please make an effort. The 'handbag' put-down went out with the Dinosaurs.
He really should have said 'yo mumma's fat'.

I made that one earlier today and I reckon it just might catch on.

But to the cars I reckon the Fiesta or the Swift would be the ticket.

Fiesta's seem really well built and apparently are pretty good to drive, however, I suspect long term ownership costs would be higher than the others due to its Euro heritage.

Swift's are probably not as good to drive but would be cheaper all round. We still have a 89 Swift GA and it won't die. For a cheap car built 17 years ago it's pretty impressive.

Either way you can't go too far wrong.

As mentioned the Yaris may also be worth a look....?

last edited by mission at 13:07:30 12/Jun/06
Who said I was insulting, pointing out the blantant obvious!= insulting :)

Buy a Golf... u fags.
i drive an excel, you got a problem with that?

you sir, are the biggest fag of the lot.
meh i don't care. i'm loving my fuel economy
Good tips in here nice s***!

if they don't have a salesperson who looks to be running from natural selection

Haha
http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/6236/gil7jj.gif
Shouldnt you be playing Wow?

Havnt played since end of Febuary.....
'Dealer Delivery' - what the f*** is that? they put some fuel in the tank, they unload it off the truck. $120 to the govt. big deal! As if thats worth $1200-$2500. It's just profit margin. NEVER EVER EVER PAY A CENT OF DEALER DELIVERY.

Dealer delivery is not delivery to the showroom floor from their warehouse or whateva. Dealer delivery is delivery from the the manufacturer overseas which is costly. But ofcourse they would make "some" profit off it.
But isn't it the same cost whether the car is made locally or imported?
It's pretty pointless speculating what costs are actually involved in getting a car from where it was made to your dealer, there's so many factors involved and they try and charge you for it whether you think it's valid or not. It's up to you to make sure you don't pay it :)

I reckon buying new cars is fun, I actually enjoy the whole game that car salesmen play. In my opinion you have to be at the dealership and sitting down on their terms to get the best deal possible - I've found that phoning up is definitely useless, faxing might be a bit better but probably not much - basically they need to feel that they can get you to sign the paperwork right there that visit before they'll _really_ play ball - so you need to make them feel like that's where you are at, without necessarily being at that point.

Then the games begin :)
My new car back in 2003 was listed as 42,500 on the road, I got it for 37,500 on the road with tinting, paint treatment, undercar noise reduction thingy (I think they paint it with tar), roof racks, extended warranty, oh, and floor mats!! :D ... and a stressed out salesman ;)

I think it was a combination of EOFY, a low sales quota for this particular guy, and we had very specific needs (i.e. 7 seats), and I really didn't want to buy a new car in the first place. I kept saying "no", they kept saying "we'll give you !!", my wife would pester me afterwards, I'd say "no"... Eventually I realised that EOFY was coming, they'd offered me 5k off and about "2.5k" of extras, and thought "s***, that's a pretty good deal!".

If they can do that though, it just goes to show how much they're making in the first place...

Grimy
all valid points, only thing to note is you will get less off because its a much cheaper car i.e. 5k on a 40k car is an 8th off, an 8th off a fiesta rrp is $1220. The final price i have from one dealer is $17.5k for the 4 door (extra 500), with about $900 options with about $1200 listed in there as dealer delivery. The current end of financial year run out deal is $16.5k for the basic 4 door. I now off to visit another couple dealers.