Topic: Car auctions?
hey guys, im getting a car soon, and i was wondering if yous could tell me a couple of those good car auctions from personal experience, or whatever.

Im looking at a VU / VY 2000+ model holden commodore ute.

apparently these sorta cars go for ridic prices
at these magical auctions

p.s dont want those government auctions where all the cars have 200 000 KMs + on them. thanks. (are there individual government car auctions, or do the govt cars just come through these auctions a bit?)
Police auctions? Get some drug lord wog's done up ride.
SuSPEcT
Beads R Us
www.fowles.com.au

www.pickles.com.au

I would say sif get a bogan commodore, but a commodore ute does escape boganville when you need a ute and there's not really many other options... and yea, they'd be cheap as chips.
extra cab hilux bagged over commo ute.
We (Tech Services, Logan City council) Sell our Mitsu Triton Ute's @ the 70k mark... give or take.

Not sure how much or even where, but I don't know when you pulled 200,000k + from.
Eclipsor
Took this from another forum I posted it. The k's aren't very high on most of them. There is a fairly big range though.

I have been to the Qfleet auctions at virginia a few times. Mainly commodores and falcons. A few others usually. The prices seem to be a little cheaper but not hugely. Also depends on the car. It's wierd some cars that seem identical will go for different prices. There are some bonuses with cars like the ex cop ones because they have the "police pack" on the vehicles which include an lsd, bigger battery etc. However, there is the thrashing the crap out of them factor aswell.

Usually the price dosn't include stamp duty and rego etc so beware of that. Make sure to calculate your costs including that. That said, the Qfleet ones have specials where they pay those costs which ran for a couple of months. So keep your eye out for things like that aswell.

You will have a viewing period like any other auction. Usually the day before and possibly some time just before the auction. This is the only time you can really inspect the vehicles and is the only time the keys are available to turn it on. When I have been you havn't been able to take them for a test drive. Depending on if you are getting a wreck or a car to drive away they may or may not have a safety certificate. Also, some of them supposedly have racq check all the cars and they put up a little certificate. Which may or may not mean much to you. Hope this helps.
http://www.pt.qld.gov.au/auctions/motor.htm

those auctions from Zillmere opposites Zillmere Rail station.

get a 4x4!!
Range Rover!!
extra cab hilux bagged over commo ute.

another useless comment

Having known a few people that have bought at pickles auctions, they seem pretty good and prices are fair, and generally not too many k's on the vehicles. Id check them out, but fowles has a larger range, either way there is plenty to choose from ....
p.s dont want those government auctions where all the cars have 200 000 KMs + on them.
Thats what drive through auctions are, either high km's, rough, or something wrong with it. Yes you do get them cheap sometimes, but you do get them at expensive prices aswell, so you're better of really knowing what prices the cars go for and need someone who knows his s*** to check out the cars there and then. You do get the REPO ones, they're alright, also becareful of water damaged ones, as good as they look from the outside, they're f***ed from the inside so becareful and stay clear.

it is hard to find a bargain these days, because everyone is going there and most of them don't know what they're doing, so prices go through the roof. My advise to you is becareful and know your prices, because don't think its an auction cars will go cheap because they don't.

Do take into account their duty fees and other admin fees. if it is a repairable write off and you plan to register it on the road again you have to pay around the $400 dollar mark for the Inspection.

Lot of little things people don't know about. If you wanna know anymore msn me pete you f***ing bogan c***.

last edited by BigZub at 08:25:24 24/May/06
also www.redbook.com.au .

It gives you a *slight* indication how much cars are worth. *Generally* the prices on there are abit lower than what cars are worth.
city motor auctions is another one...

but fowles is the biggest in brisbane.. i'd highly recommend going there.. cept the auctions are held on tuesdays which is a c*** if u have to work.
evetS
get a rav4 HAHAHAHAHHHAHAHAAHHA
shutup bitch... it was cheap as .. and its a powerful machine... its quicker than paveways r31 thats for sure.
any car is quicker than paveways. my corolla would have chopped his.

city motor auctions are pricks to deal with.
thanX for the words of wisdom, noobzuB

my car is gonna owN awwwwww yeah

n0 woRRieS GAnGsTER.
you guys make me laugh :D
ill race you
i'll watch.
Damn, redbook has gotten it's act together.

SL/R 3.3 - $5.5 - 8.9k.

L34 SL/R 5.0 - $39.1 - 50.03k.

A9X 5.0 - $48.2 - $61.1k

A9X Price is a bit off, Haven't seen one go for that cheap in a long time.
Usually around $60-80k.

We're going up toto! Woo, redbook average on mine has increased base average nearly $4k and upper average almost $3.5k in 4 years.
Could fetch a high price for mine if I fixed s*** up.

Oh, wait, sorry I was just gloating at the appreciating price of my car that clueless noobs like Burt and co. used to like to pretend it couldn't.

Oh yeah, auctions, pfft.

last edited by Loki at 12:35:41 24/May/06
i'm sorry your car is still s***.
Still faster and get's more attention than yours!
VAROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM.
Splash
Attention from people thinking "what a noisy old s***box" ?
yep
Then you turn to the wall and ask yourself...why am I f***ing a Walrus.
f*** it, ill race you AND you..
lol, honestly loki I LOVE old holdens - but yours isn't a 'good example' of one, well at least from the pics...

I'd give my left testicle for an A9X :D
this "friend" of mine goes to auctions and gets some stupidly priced cars. I have no idea where they are though. I think there's some up behind supercheap in springwood there, down a little dirt road

last edited by whoop at 23:59:25 24/May/06
Barrrrooooooom is all that matters on the street HeardY.

You could just buy a replica A9X Torana, they're common enough.

If I could afford to respray my 30+ year old paintjob in some nice shiny ass silver 2pac and these rims like this, I would:
Changed ot linky

There's a few more guys on here that own Torana's.
Hope they don't mind the pics, they're nice as well.

Tref's 454ci Insane <10sec LX
Mooby's old girl
Mooby's which is similarly coloured to mine was re-shaped by his sister I believe :(

Oh here you go HeardY -
Much better SS.

Your opinion is fair enough, I couldn't really give a s*** :)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Anyway, OT - Exis some of those new holden and XR6/8 utes look pretty damn tough and yet still "presentable" enough to not look too bogan for whatever job you might move into etc.

last edited by Loki at 00:57:32 25/May/06
Oh nF.

Maybe you should cut off some more of that exhaust pipe and try harder.
Are you featuring in the upcomming Tokyo Drift movie as well?
I guess not since you can't even afford to run that ricer.

last edited by Loki at 01:03:37 25/May/06
dude, he just said lol.
heh
stpo fighting in my thread u h0m0s

awww vy with 20" chromies pewpew

just kidding ;p
speaking of cars, i'm about to go pick up my $50 dollar excel.

yup you heard it $50 comes with rego and rwc....

some people... :s getting a rwc is just that much L0L pics of the hot beast to come ok.
hahaha superior trolling technique shown by nf.
niklaos
DANGER TO MANIFOLD

also,

at my previous workplace, a guy theres dad goes to the auctions alot. Can get some good bargains. He buys like 7 cars a year (whatever the limit is to not be a dealer), and re sells them.

Makes a tidy sum tax free on top of his pension.
yes taggs.... It wouldn't be because i'd give him s*** regardless of what he posted because he's a complete try hard loser at all...
:|
no matter what the topic is on cars, we always seem to talk about loki's somewhere in the thread. actually sometimes it isn't even a car thread.
Oh mav, angry because I couldn't sort out your personal problems?
yes taggs.... It wouldn't be because i'd give him s*** regardless of what he posted because he's a complete try hard loser at all...

noones trying harder in this thread than you rofl. chill out guy.
actually loki, i wasn't paying out on you at all, but you get all defensive on me now why don't you.

all i was saying is who gives a f*** if someone else thinks your car is s***, if you like it what the f*** does it matter, is nF so important to you that you need his thumbs up to your car, because he's nothing but a forum hero so i think you need to relax a little.

EDIT: P.S. Personal attacks not necessary.

last edited by маvєяık at 14:44:05 25/May/06
Rage on! so raged, oh god wait, i think i'm going to have a heart attack i'm so raged my blood pressure is off the sphygmanometer.

Hahaha, no I think nF is a wannabe try hard.
I'm a tuner bra, fulysik side exhaust to make my ricer sound tough bra, QR bra.

last edited by Loki at 14:49:36 25/May/06
fartinsmelli sux
Oh god, if it isn't the worst of them all.
Have you learnt where to even put the oil into that skyline yet?
yer, i read on the forums that skylines are 2-stroke, so i just put in oil and petrol at the same time

goes real good

smells just like cut grass
hello dave, whats been doing?

hows the skyline? gotta take me for a ride dude :)
sure thing matey
she cains (my wallet)
when i can i climb aboard the SS Broughton?
when the maxe crew cruise!