Topic: Xbox 360 Launch
Whos getting the 360 tonight, if not when? I'm not sure if i will pick it up tonight or wait until tomorrow arvo.
Along with PGR3, Burnout, GRAW and oblivion.
Not me. Suprised they already had it released in syria a few a month ago when i was there, for twice as much though.

Burnout and pgr rock me hard.
Tonight? What do you mean tonight? Like 12 midnight tonight?
We've got games for it at work already. I wondered why no one has rented them yet.

Tim Tibbetts
I'm sad.
I'll be at Indro EB tonight picking mine up.
If anyone else comes bring your DS! I wanna play some Meteos or Mario Kart.
ill be at eb in the myer centre for the midnight launch after the HIM concert. Getting oblivion, but also pre ordered doa4 for when its released.
*yawn*

Couldn't be assed even buying one...
although i'm keen to get one i think i'll wait till probably jan next year, after xmas. prices will be more reasonable then for the console and the games. also less bugs !
I'd go insane if I had to wait that long.
What's it retailing for on launch ? somehow i dont think i can justify paying that much for whatever it may be.
$650 for premium (I paid $585 :D) and $499 for core pack, but the core pack is a waste of time.
What's included in the premium, and more importantly, how did you get that 75 bux discount ?

(assuming you work for big dub/target or something ?)
Xbox console, 20gb hard drive, wireless controller, media remote, component HD cable and a ethernet cable.
It was 10% staff discount day at target. I didn't even know untill I preordered my xbox and saw how cheap it was hehe :D And what vash said. Not getting a hdd with the core system makes it a waste of time imo.

Did anyone get Perfect Dark: Zero? I'll be up for some xbox live co-op with that one :D
Tim Tibbetts
fpot - I'm getting Perfect Dark Zero.

Also getting Ghost Recon : Advanced Warfighter and Kameo :D

My Xbox nick is Commander_Pants

last edited by Tim Tibbetts at 15:35:28 22/Mar/06
Mine is fpot :D
BTW, not sure if this deal is on in QLD or not..
BigW has a deal on where every xbox 360 game on launch day is $75.
Ohhh I might have to pick up pgr3 if that is the case :/
GRAW, pgr3, burnout and oblivion are the best of the bunch!
I haven't looked into it much yet but I've notice that they only offer Component HD cables, not DVI/HDMI. :(

I was able to check out the Japanese version on display and they used some crazy version of SCART.

Any word on digital audio/visual outputs for AUS?
Tim Tibbetts
DVI and HDMI are not supported. That doesn't mean that someone won't make a 3rd accessory though.
Splash
So who's going to be selling their old xbox for cheap now that the 360 is out? :)

Might have to scope out EB stores in the hope that people have traded theirs in.
Splash im in the same position as you, i got the games but not the box, dieing to coninue with ninja gaiden.

Getting mine in april, my sister is buying it for me.
Is she hot?
And can she buy me one too?
She doesn't have to be hot to buy me one. I'm easy.

last edited by Booyah at 17:00:50 22/Mar/06
Gonna wait and see what happens. Might get the Jap version for multi-region, so can pick up cheaper games from OS.
0z
Just went to eb then they will be getting stock in the morning (hopefully) but gota work tomorrow :(

cant wait to play Oblivion, also does xbox live allow you to download demos? ive got 20 gigs to blow of my qouta. :D
Yep, demos downloable and free :D
Gee free demos, what a neat concept.
Heh, yeh, well, knowing microsoft it wouldn't suprise me greatly if they charged a fee for them. I am thankful that they are free.
Dopefish
i can send games from japan doodz
Dan has written a cool overview of the Xbox 360.

We got a unit last week and I'll tell ya, I'm more impressed than I expected. None of the games we have are particularly awesome by themselves, but they give a really good insight into what the machine is capable of. It looks f***ing lush in HD. The online stuff is really good, though download speeds sound like they're ass (Dear content producers, please have local content servers for anything greater than 1mb in size).

Games like Oblivion look heaps good and apparently the new Ghost Recon is really awesome as well - that's pretty much the first title I'll be interested in (RPGs don't do much for me, even when they're not of the MMO variety).
... it does currently only support limited file formats. Resourceful members of the community have already released software designed to transcode other popular formats such as Xvid on the fly from a Media Center enabled PC, but of course encoding quality is further lost in the process so modded Xbox owners might not want to be writing off good old XBMC just yet.
Another reason to wait and see methinks.
phatmike
nice overview. my mate is picking up a console and oblivion (already got pgr3) and will be running it on my newish hdtv tonite..

thats a question i have for people. of all people buying it, are you goign to be running it in HD? i don't see a point in buying one if you dont...
HD here.
0z
allready got a RGB 15 pin D-Sub cable will be running it off a 100HZ 78cm widescreen TV and prob a 17' lcd :D

EDIT: also Acer DLP Projector in 1080i :D

last edited by 0z at 20:08:00 22/Mar/06
Tim Tibbetts
Got HD here as well.
Dan has written a cool overview of the Xbox 360.
Woo, my first in-depth article, go me!

I didn't think I'd be as interested in a lot of the titles as I am but online Gotham 3 is pretty addictive, expect a GameArena review on that one pretty soon. I'm almost scared to pick up Oblivion now.
If I buy the version with the HDD built in (20gb isn't it?), can I use it as a media centre like I can with my modded xbox?

That's pretty much the most appealing part, heh. That, and Oblivion.
Phar, not with divx and xvid you cant.
0z
with the media it can be streamed from a mce 2005 box.

last edited by 0z at 00:23:45 23/Mar/06
Can you play any media back with that Oz? such as Xvid and stuff?
0z
from the video's ive seen yes, but you still need a mce 2005 box witch acts like a server for the 360, ill be using my mce 2005 P4 3.2/HDTV to steam live video... hehe :)

EDIT: seems it transcodes the video on fly, more info here.

last edited by 0z at 00:50:52 23/Mar/06
are you on msn or irc oz?
So, if I had a wireless network set up, I can have my PC in the computer room, xbox in the loungeroom, and stream movies / TV shows from the PC to the Xbox?
no you need windows media centre

also i picked mine up from eb in the city, it was most enjoyable except for 3 young nerdy boys who were loud and very stupid, i believe the guy who actually bought the box, the handles on his bag broke and had to come back, so if it was any of you, pull your f***ing head in when your in public cause my friends and i were secretly laughing at the stupid things you said, some of the stuff you said was stupider then what the eb staff usually say.

also oblivion f***ing rocks.
Tim Tibbetts
I got mine last night and played until 4'ish in the morning. I was pretty f***ing tired as I had been since 5:30am the day before so I found myself just setting up Xbox Live and then playing Geometry Wars and some crazy Marble Game.

This morning I tried out Perfect Dark and GRAWF - just played on Live and went OK considering I had never played on Live before, and had never played Perfect Dark either. GRAWF is very pretty, seems like a great game. Haven't played Kameo yet I'm going to do that now.

At Indro I would have said there were 200-300 people..it was busy. And yeah "average" gamers are f***ing stupid..some of the stuff the guys were saying behind me was so wrong - lol/
Mate's bag broke too. But this was in canberra. Guess they need stronger bags.
phatmike
just picked up GRAW for $22 with some s***ty old games traded in at EB
0z
Got mine, love it worth every cent... downloading PGR3 :D

So, if I had a wireless network set up, I can have my PC in the computer room, xbox in the loungeroom, and stream movies / TV shows from the PC to the Xbox?

with a MCE2005 box yes, divx is kinda supported takes a bit to get going but not impossible, will test it it out soon as i can with hdtv streams over ethernet, bastards at eb had no wireless network adaptors for the 360 :(

last edited by 0z at 20:29:02 23/Mar/06