defcon
Hello everyone,
Just wanting to see if anyone has had any experience with importing vehicles from japan, or if anyone has delt with http://www.prestigemotorsport.com.au in particular. any help is appreciated. I heard a few qgl people have imported a vehicle, so im just after any advice / stories. :> |
| #0 08:22am 26/10/05 |
got an OACU account - if not get one and read lwells thread in the Motoring forum worklogs about importing his R32 GTR. All the info you could want.
| #1 08:23am 26/10/05 |
prestige seem to be okay, had a couple of people that imported through them. the one thing that i found is that they seem to be a bit pricey when it comes to all the costs associated, and anyway, i found my perfect car here, so why import :)
| #2 08:29am 26/10/05 |
A guy here at work bought a toyota v8 soarer as a grey import about 3 months ago... it has actually been running about 2 weeks of those 3 months! He's had it towed back to the mechanics 6 times !!!@##! It just keeps having s*** go wrong with it that requires replacement parts from Japan & the dude is getting mightily s***-off about it. Even the instrument vdu is all in japanese & is totally useless (unless you can read japanese I spose!).
| #3 09:50am 26/10/05 |
wolfieee
I've imported three vehicles to date, process is reasonably easy and pretty straight forward. You're taking a gamble though whichever way you do it and sometimes its not worth the risk, but sometimes it does pay off and you end up saving some money and getting a good vehicle.
Prestige have enough information on their own website for you to read through that thouroughly explains the importing procedures. That being said there's a huge backlog of cargo in customs at the moment thanks to the implementation of their new system which doesn't seem to be working quite as planned. So importing at this time could be a hassle when your car is shipped by sea. |
| #4 10:46am 26/10/05 |
id just buy a vehicle thats here already
less hassles less time wasting more driving; |
| #5 12:28pm 26/10/05 |
You can even import boats from prestigemotorsport. HI SPOOK last edited by Suhaib at 13:11:13 26/Oct/05 |
| #6 01:11pm 26/10/05 |
just be sure there are no towel head immigrants hiding in the boat.
hi suhaib! |
| #7 01:09pm 26/10/05 |
i'm sorry there are no towelheads in japan.
you lews. |
| #8 01:11pm 26/10/05 |
What are you talking about? theres towelheads everywhere! Infiltrating the world for the next terrorist attack!
| #9 03:13pm 26/10/05 |
Dear spidz,
f*** You. Regards.. From the towelhead in japan. |
| #10 03:14pm 26/10/05 |
applor
I imported my celica GT-4 from prestige
I have two mates who have both imported GT-4's as well and one has also imported a toyota celsior. The only costs you pay prestige is the $1100 service/finders fee, thats it. Their listed prices are estimated for the vehicle landed in australia. You pay compliancing ($1k) and rego/insurance on top of that. The biggest cost is shipping and import duties etc. which came to $3100 for my car. Prestige do a good job and aren't going to run off with your money, however being an import you don't know the vehicles history. We've had a few issues with the imports but we'd still do it because the cheap price makes it still worthwhile. |
| #11 05:14pm 26/10/05 |
0z
Dunno about prestige motorsport, but a mate of mine in sydney got a nice RX-7 from
http://www.j-spec.com.au/ cost him total 7.5K http://www.members.iinet.net.au/~fear./images/RX7-1.jpg http://www.members.iinet.net.au/~fear./images/RX7-2.jpg EDIT:Right blinker thats rooted was done by him here not sold like that. last edited by 0z at 18:05:16 26/Oct/05 |
| #12 06:05pm 26/10/05 |
applor
hey deffy, whats your MSN mate? Its been a while would like to have a chat.
| #13 06:59pm 26/10/05 |
zubhaib sux
my car will be done tomorrow and your ass is mine (in a non homo way) |
| #14 08:17pm 26/10/05 |