Topic: state of australians
so i was at the local centro shopping centre today (toombul) and whilst i waiting for 5 minutes to be attended to at the shop i was visiting, i was people watching. what i saw just disgusted me.
i started playing a game in my head, count the fatties count the non fatties. the tally got up to 86 fatties, 23 non fatties. i mean, what the f***? all of a sudden i have realised that this country is just FULL of fatties.

this was further exacerbated when i went up to the food court to get a kebab, the fist thing i saw, a family of super obese people at the dodgy chinese all you can fit on your plate place, they must have had at least 3kg of food on their plates each. each member of this family (mum dad daughter) i estimate to be at least 120kg. looking around at the people eating, it was just fat city. there was an even smaller percentage of non fatties up there.

this was not just adults, this was teenagers (teenage girls seemed to be the highest proportion of fatties) and kids. when i was at school, which wasnt very long ago (finished in 98) all throughout primary school, there would be at the most 1 fat kid for each class. at high school, maybe 5 or 6 for the entire grade!

then this morning i saw 2 infomercials about 2 exercise machines designed to give you rock hard abba dabbas. why dont we see infomercials about a real weight loss program such as not over eating, eating non s*** food, not drinking soft drinks etc, ie a lifestyle change. the people buying these machines are all fatties yet they dont advertise you need a bodyfat % of less then 10% to get visible abs.

i dont know about the rest of you but i feel like a minority having a waist line less then 34in, not having a huge jiggly gut, thighs that dont rub together when i walk and not eating 3kg of food for lunch.
then this morning i saw 2 infomercials about 2 exercise machines designed to give you rock hard abba dabbas. why dont we see infomercials about a real weight loss program such as not over eating, eating non s*** food, not drinking soft drinks etc, ie a lifestyle change.

Cos its easier to pay 36 monthly installments of $39.95 and feel like you're getting fit, rather than making a major lifestyle change and sticking to it.

My diet is pretty bad too, but it doesnt make me fat. f***in' fatties..
yeah i went to this buffet thing for dinner a couple of week ago, and there are these uber fat c***s all there stacking their plate up like 4 and 5 times with crap.

it's like shouldn't you be eating salad
I think it's hilarious seeing overweight people at fast food places. Don't they have any shame?

Even these days I hardly exercise and I eat like a pig and still look f***ing awesome.

B@ssM@n
^^^ Hahaha Rev :)

...meanwhile I'm 6' and weigh 65kgs (cattle grate anyone?) :(
One thing that should be outlawed on fat people, mainly chicks. Lycra pants. These things only look good on hot chicks that work out, not fatties.

>8-(

last edited by Reverend Evil at 13:13:33 18/Oct/05
hey fatties are people too you know. why all of a sudden is it cool to pay out fatties and every other marginalised un-pretty sub group of society.

are you suggesting that people should not go in public if they are fat? what about if they are balding, or have facial warts. they should care very m uch that they do not fit into your particular stereotype of how people should look.

sure they could probably do heaps to make themselves look better and live longer but it's not my business to be telling them, or treating them differently if they choose not to.

sorry, it takes all kinds and shapes and sizes in this world. why not focus on your own deficiencies first, then we can get onto the fatties, but i doubt we'll have enough time.
Tuco
^ agreed, and with the rest of the post. unless you were born fat, get off your ass and away from the dinner table. i was at yatala pies and saw this fat arse mothe and a fat arse father and their fat arse kid all with a f***load of food
Don't they have any shame?
What do you mean?
You guys hardly get on, do you?
No, what does "exacerbate" mean?
why all of a sudden is it cool to pay out fatties

It's been known for eons that being overweight is bad for you. Hell, my niece is fat and she hasn't even started school yet. WTF? If she's like this now I can only imagine what it'll be like when she gets older.

Everyone doesn't have to be super fit but a little exercise ain't gonna hurt someone. Being overweight and going to all-you-can-eat places is just wrong in my opinion.
korbs

I think we are actually the fattest nation per capita in the world (atm). We overtook the US last year :(

Being an ex-fatty myself, i feel both compassion and disgust for my former brothers & sisters...poor lazy f***ers.
i know that some people are genetically programmed to be fat. but not everyone is, search in google for some terms relating to 'australia obese percetage' and look at the massive upward trend in the last 20 years.

its just my personal opinion that people who dont at least try to eat healthy have no self respect, are lazy and are adding to the already overladen health system burden among other things. people with diabetes, heart problems and other weight related diseases are a strain on the tax dollars i pay that goto public hospitals that is a huge ongoing cost for each person with those problems.

isnt that part of the reason why they tax cigarettes ? to pay for the lack of self respect those people have by destroying their bodies leading to the government to spend billions of dollars when they finally get sick and are a burden on society for the remaining 25 years of their lives? why not tax s*** food ? its the same IMHO!
Alot of "thin" people are neither fit nor healthy.
imo. Fit and healthy >> appearance.

Looks can sometimes tell the story, othertimes they lie.

ps. whats your definition of a "fatty" ?
Steele
Very hard to control. You could have it being foods that are a certain percentage of fat or a certain amount of kilojoules per 100g/ml get taxed further. But then what about things like butter or cooking oils?
fat chicks have bigger boobs

win++
like i said there has been a massive upward trend in average weights over the last 20 years. peoples genetics havent changed massively. eating and lifestyle habits have. i'm sure people have seen supersize me. i'm sure people realise that drinking a large coke at maccas which is almost a litre which is full of sugar which unless it gets used, turns straight into fat ? i hope people realise that. i'm sure people realise that eating until you can't move is also not good for you.

if you are able to eat 3kg of food in 1 sitting you are in 2 classes, your name is ronnie coleman or your jarrad from subway when he was a chunky butt.

i'm sure if fatties made 1 lifestyle change, such as reducing food serving and eating more often they would notice a difference. stop drinking soft drink #1, youd notice a difference. stop eating till you cant move mentality. eat breakfast. walk for 30 minutes. anything - its not hard to do.

and my definition of fat people was at the end of my first post in this topic. girls who wear supre clothes who dont fit into them, the muffin top look of waists spilling out of jeans, the big huge belly button that makes an outline in the supre mint green top that all teenage girls seem fixated on wearing. the family of people who wouldnt of seen their feet in the last 10 years at the all you can eat bar. the guy i work with who has a plate of chips and 2 sausage rolls for breakfast every morning then sleep for 30 minutes afterwards because he cant move. the old woman who has cankles where i used to work in sydney who struggled to walk 30metres from the bus stop to where she worked. the fat s*** kids who go for as many coke refills as possible at subway. the fat s*** kids who never leave the house and just eat all day (my sister who is 13 and weighs more then me, and im 24).

as i remember 10 years ago, being 'thin' wasnt being 'thin', it was normal. thin people had annorexia. now being 'thin' is abnormal.
Seven
Some people are 'programmed' to be fat, but how many of them are just too f***ing lazy to make themselves a decent meal or too f***ing tight to buy Subway instead of Maccas. Junk food is similar to smoking IMO, the money could be much better spent and ends up destroying you in the end. The main difference being that healthy people can still eat junk food and know when to stop. I mean f*** me dead, how hard is it to go into Coles or Woolies and buy some bread rolls/loaves, some butter/margarine, some meat, vegetables or both and make a decent lunch.

What also annoys me are the people that think they can just change their diet and they'll instantly and continuously lose weight until they miraculously become fit and healthy. Eating less carbs and more protein isn't the only thing that needs to be done; a healthy lifestyle involves exercise and plenty of it. A few years back when I bought a car, I stopped walking to catch the bus every day and I noticed I packing on the weight. I didn't eat much junk food - the occasional pack of Starburst or Pringles or whatever. How in your right mind do you expect to lose weight if you don't do anything that involves using energy.

/rant until I read this thread again

P.S. Too many chicks have I seen turn to utter s*** because they have taken up smoking or eating tremendous amounts of junk food. The beach used to be a wicked place to go until the whales arrived.
shut yur ignorant word holes thinnies! or at least cram it with some fattie goodness. it is a well known statistic that fat people dont live as long as thin people, especially in the 60+ retirement age. so while all those ancient thinnies are draining the countries resources by no long being productive & not dying.. fatties do the work then drop dead. :D
Seven
But fatties don't do the work, they just sit in hospitals and wheelchairs and at maccas and at the doctors wondering why they have chest pains, rashes between their thighs, no energy, a large appetite and kankles.
like i said there has been a massive upward trend in average weights over the last 20 years. peoples genetics havent changed massively.

Only in western countries, And in a large part this is to do with wealth and standards of living. ps. if you are gunna say s*** like that, get some stats to back it up, I mean I would have to agree with you, but stats is always a good thing.
imo It is to do with a much more sedintary lifestyle. Tv and computers are the new way to entertain kids. Longer work hours for adults and less time for recreation. Plus a greater sense of isolation and or depression across the board.
And in adults, we are as a society required to work more hours and longer hours (I don't know about everyone else but I certainly work more then 36 hours a week) which means less time for "recreational" sports/activities and also leads to greater isolation. How many people actually know their neighbours names ? All of that leads to depression and "comfort foods" or binge drinking etc etc.

Take aways another part of the problem. Even the healthy ones, are not as good as a home cooked proper meal. And these days they are cheap and accessible and fit in with our time poor lifestyles.

and my definition of fat people was at the end of my first post in this topic. girls who wear supre clothes who dont fit into them, the muffin top look of waists spilling out of jeans, the big huge belly button that makes an outline in the supre mint green top that all teenage girls seem fixated on wearing

So people who have poor taste in clothing ? I think you need to blame Britney Spears not the average waiste lines for that. And in part I think the current sexy body image is a much healthier one then then old "herroin waif model" look that was sexy.

as i remember 10 years ago

and
im 24

Suggest to me that
1. you are too young to be doing "in my days" let us old farts do that
2. you had a very narrow view of the world as a 14 year old, and probably a less judgemental view.

Yes, Obesity is an issue!

So is smoking.
Alcohol abuse particularly binge drinking.
Skin Cancer.
Recreational drugs.
Child Abuse.
Depression.
Suicide rates.

And none of them are "simple".
A_W

Cainer's last post ftw. very true. :)
One thing that should be outlawed on fat people, mainly chicks. Lycra pants.

I am so wearing lycra the next time I come and see you. And tight leggings too so my cellulite gets all squashed up... SEXY!!!
Once you've got icecream coned shaped legs, then wear the lyrca and come see me.

all the fat men i know are jolly.

like shrapsaq.

well obes for 1 - yes of course i'm talking about western countries, the topic of this post is 'state of australians' i'm not talking about japan or china or africa, its australia.

2 - teenage girls shouldnt have a large jelly belly and if they insist on having a jelly belly wear clothes suitable to hide it from my delicate eyes.

3 - people make a conscious choice to sit on their arse for hours on end playing playstation playing computer, watching tv, some of it is parents fault, but i know i have always said to myself that i will never look like the tubbys i saw today, id never ever let myself get there. people make a conscious choice to goto maccas for dinner instead of spending 10mins getting a healthy stir fry dinner cooked (yes really thats all it takes), or just cooking piece of low fat meat (minute steak for example, cheap/healthy) and whilst its cooking cut up some salad.

4 - if peoples choice in work leads them to think theyre unable to do anything about their bodies, maybe its time they looked for a new job. last time i checked you work to live, not live to work. i often work 55 hours a week. i still find time to eat right and exercise.

5 - and lastly, i'm not too young to do a back in my day speech. i do distinctly recall, and as do alot of my peers who i have this conversation with every time i see a group of fat kids, things have changed alot in the last 10 years. i saw on the news a few weeks back that the average weight for women 20-30 in australia has increased 5kg. 5kg is alot. like i said before, there wasn't that many fatties around when i was at school.
You were at a f***en shopping centre fast food court no wonder everyone where was fat.

Why didnt you stroll down to the local squash courts?
http://strex.ausgamers.com/eatit.jpg
because squash is for homos and if i were to goto a local squash court i'd be classed as a homo by my own logic.

and being at the food court was about 5minutes of my 45 minute journey to the shoppign centre, and kat if u want to know my definition of fat people, go read the last page, i mustve said it at least 15 times on what i think makes a tubby ass bitch tittied jiggle gut
Seven
There are a s***load more people in shopping centres than at squash courts. Also the same would go if you just walked down the main street of a town. Of course the food court of a shopping centre during the middle of the day is going to be bad for old people/derros/fatties observations, but it's still a big difference to how it used to be 10 yrs ago.

When I was in high school, there was a massive difference between the fatty ratio of year 7s when I was one and the year 7s when I left. I say anti-"child abuse" has gone too far. Kids get too much freedom, even I admit I did. There needs to be more discipline, kids want red cordial now? Well go and get a job and buy it yourself. You can have an apple.

i'm not bitter - just amazed at the amount of people with a lack of self restecp
you will be bitter too when your child grows up fat and cant get as many hawt dates as you did.
I am sure they won't lose much sleep over the fact you think they are fat.

Some people call me fat. Using my current weight and height I am in the normal BMI and that is with me being pregnant.

Just because you think someone is fat doesn't mean they are.

And we all have to put up with them hurting out eyes, you should be no different
yeah it can't be healthy to obsess over other people's faults this much. why not let it go dude?

let them eat their fried chicken. it maybe the only thing in th eir miserable lives they enjoy. the hating is so boring.
Some people call me fat. Using my current weight and height I am in the normal BMI and that is with me being pregnant.
Well then you're just a regular healthy baby factory then aren't you?

I am sure they won't lose much sleep over the fact you think they are fat.
Yeah because lol self esteem isn't an issue when you're talking about the motives of individuals for 'letting' themselves go...
Just because you think someone is fat doesn't mean they are.
Lol.. if a person is that noticable that they are indeed 'fat' then yeah i'd be fairly certain that they are.. If their posture is poor, absolutely huge legs, large gut hanging out over the edge of a pair of pants that are struggling to contain it all then yeah i'd say they are 'fat'

Regardless of wether you're standing up for the rights of fat people everywhere kat when it all comes down to it being 'overweight' isn't healthy...

From a parenting standpoint its not doing kids any favours giving them s*** to eat at every meal and not encouraging them to exercise etc... They will die young, they might lose a few limbs in the process, heart attacks whatever.. I honestly couldn't give a f*** what the parents look like, I couldn't give a f*** what they do or eat but when they 'let' their kids do the same, eat the same crap and generally neglect their best interests then that is a royally f***ed up situaiton
cainer quote sources... not "I saw on tv", or "in my day" (ps. not that I disagree, just that you need to learn how to argue your case.

eg. you could say "and its not just me this pdf says we are fatties"
Between 1980 and 1999/2000 the proportion of men aged 25 to 64 years who were obese rose from 9% to 17%, and the obesity rate among women of that age range more than doubled from 8% to 20%.
Then I guess you have to see how they define obesity no doubt it will be based on BMI. Worth mention that someone like Acetame who has sub 10% body fat probably rates as obese on a BMI.

And unfortunately people do increasingly live to work. So they can pay their debts, buy that car, buy that house, put their kdis through school. Not defending them, simply discussing the causes.

All I know is despite having a low resting heart rate, great blood pressure, lung capacity, and a good blood work up. I am technically 10 kilos over my "ideal" weight, And I do exercise everyday, and don't eat much "junk" at all.

ps. I liked your 34" waist as normal... so a 18 year old 4'10" guy with a 34" waist is fine but a 30something year old 6'2" with a 35" waist is a fatty ?

cainer don't mind Obes, he's just bitter because he was a fat f***.
why do i obsess ? because i end up paying for it. so do you. thats why you spend a few hours in a waiting room at a hospital if you get hurt. because theyre all busy tendering to the increasing amounts of sick people. i earnt over 50000 last year so i have to pay the medicare levy. i was at the doctor twice last year, and both times just for doctor certificates because i had the flu. but i still have to pay the medicare levy.

and no i dont think people are happy to be fat, if it were the case, people wouldnt be constantly looking for losing weight easily all scared to put in the hard yards. i dont think the morbidly obese people are happy they can't wipe their arse properly when they take a dump. the dudes with the big guts havent seen their penis in years. get tired when they walk up a flight of stairs. avoid stairs because their knees hurt. back pain, diabetes (proven fat person disease), heart disease the list goes on. i'm sure people love it.
But he isn't anymore... We should commend him on his efforts.

Congratulations Obes on graduating with honours from FATTY university!
Regardless of wether you're standing up for the rights of fat people everywhere kat when it all comes down to it being 'overweight' isn't healthy...

I fully agree. I think obese people are disgusting to look at and they always have to sit next to you on the bus and squash up to you because their arse can't fit on the friggin seat. Or they clutch their bottle of diet coke as if it can drop the kilos off by just sniffing it.

Oh and the unhealthy issue which saturates out mealth system.

I dont like obese people as much as the nest person... BUT.... I have been called fat before so I know that some people have a very unrealistic of what fat and obese are.

last edited by Kat at 15:19:48 18/Oct/05
I think this thead needs more photos

http://images.ausimages.com/upload/2005-10-18/Spring_1.jpg
hubba hubba
cainer... get private medical insurance with hospital cover and an excess of 500 or less and it lets you avoid the levy. ps. I paid it the first year becuase I didn't know. That or marry some wench. If you pay the extra levy a second time its becuase you are stupid, or don't get your tax done by good people.

And yes I pay for fat people, I also pay for criminals (ever see the cost of one of them per year?), drug addicts, aids infested druggies/hookers/fags/sluts, smokers, pregnant mothers, babies, victims of crime ... But I don't get what value there is in crying about it, particularly here ?

And I have some 630 sick hours in the "bank" at work. I don't get sick and yeah I earn over 50grand. And last time I broke my thumb at a tournament I went to a doc not a hospital (never been to a hospital except to visit people usually dead/dying or giving birth). Tho I have been sick this week and have decided I don't like it. So yeah I get the whole having to pay for s*** and not using it thing

Also becareful when you "abuse" people with diabetes. Type 1 diabetes is not a fat persons disease. They are the poor bastards that have been taking needles multiple times a day since before they went to school.
darius
i dont mind fat people, if there are more fat people maybe they will make the airline seats a bit bigger to acomodate them all and i wont have to suffer in those midget sized seats (im 6 foot 3 its f***ed in thos planes)
sif boxhead ... aparently I am a fatty for life

Aparently for me to be a non fatty I'd have to be under 86kg. When I was 89kg I had a 32" waist... to get down to 86 I'd be like 29" or something freaky.
95 atm and I am a 35".

i earnt over 50000 last year

So get private health cover, u can/should be able to afford it.
why do i obsess ? because i end up paying for it. so do you. thats why you spend a few hours in a waiting room at a hospital if you get hurt.

no i don't, i have full private health insurance. when will people get the message that others don't like being told what to do and need to realise it themselves.

preachers are boring. nothing worse than an ex-drinker, ex-smoker, ex-sinner or ex-fatty IMO.

last edited by infi at 15:29:59 18/Oct/05
why should i have to get it. its s*** anyway you end up having to pay the difference for what the health insurance doesnt pay in most cases anyway. why am i expected to pay for private health insurance. enough of my tax dollars go toward public health anyway. i already pay more tax then most people on here, why should i be further burdened because i have a 1/2 decent job. the only way i would get it is IF i needed elective surgery, IF my other half was having a baby and IF i knew i needed some life saving surgery down the track.

and by the way i'm not an ex fatty, i never have been, i'm not an ex smoker i dont smoke, i'm not an ex drinker, i still drink, and i'm not an ex sinner i'm a good boy.
On a similar note, i just watched super size me and was pretty shocked.

After about 21 days he was in danger of dieing from liver falure etc.. thats pretty crazy.

The size of the super coke and chips is f***in ridiculous, no wonder most americans are fat they drink like 8L a day of coke.

last edited by sc00bs at 15:37:33 18/Oct/05
cainer: so let me guess this straight. You as a skinny person deserve free public health insurance but them as fat people don't?
shutup kat, stop convoluting my words to suit yourself.
cainer: so let me guess this straight. You as a skinny person deserve free public health insurance but them as fat people don't?
he deserves an equal share for keeping his end of the bargain.. EG trying to stay healthy and not destroying himself
cainer...tell us please,do you drink,smoke or take drugs??
Show us how perfect you are....
awwww thanx for paying yur taxes guys! like... everyone else :/

Super size me is actually pretty retarded ... well the maccas experiment bit of it anyways (he chooses the worst possible things and eats them to the point of being sick). ps. He is a was eating vegan before the show so he's a weirdo freak anyways.

The investigative documentry bits of it where he actually does reseach and s*** are interesting.

why should i have to get it?

thats why you spend a few hours in a waiting room at a hospital if you get hurt. because theyre all busy tendering to the increasing amounts of sick people.

he deserves an equal share for keeping his end of the bargain.. EG trying to stay healthy and not destroying himself

So where are these figures of yours that show that all the sick 'fat' people attended to all have self inflicted wounds or health problems and all the skinny peoples wounds and health problems are the hand of god?
Oh and the unhealthy issue which saturates out mealth system.
Same place that one came from...

I'll need to check the specific Australian figures but churn through a World Health Organisation speech http://www.who.int/dg/lee/speeches/2005/montrealconference/en/index.html which basically highlights this
Overweight in childhood is a risk factor for chronic disease later in life. In fact adult-onset diabetes type II is now occurring in children as young as nine years old, which is a new phenomenon. Overweight is a major risk factor for chronic diseases such as cardiovascular conditions, stroke, cancer, and diabetes. Chronic diseases now account for 60% of the deaths that occur in the world every year, and 43% of the global burden of disease. These figures will probably become 73% of all deaths and 60% of the burden of disease by 2020
and
Medical expenditure in the 1990s in the USA amounted to over $78 billion for diseases related to obesity and overweight. This reflects a doubling of the prevalence in obesity since the 1980s, to 30% of the adult population.
Oh and
all the sick 'fat' people attended to all have self inflicted wounds or health problems and all the skinny peoples wounds and health problems are the hand of god?
Lol... Define a self inflicted wound (if you limit it to stabbing oneself then leave the thread now) Being overweight at an unhealthy level puts you at risk for disease.. Ignoring the signs, the symptoms or a manner of treatment (like healthier living) is 'self inflicted'

As for skinny people and the hand of god striking them down? Well if they're not overweight then they are at a significantly lower risk level for the same diseases that the overweight people will contract... Therefore for them to be effected with the disease would be likened to being struck down by the hand of god

last edited by Boxhead at 15:59:53 18/Oct/05
Fat people should have to pay higher premiums, just like people that smoke and base jump

edit: by 'fat' I mean 'obese', and by 'obese' I mean whatever 'dangerously overweight' is categorised as by our health professionals.

last edited by trog at 16:02:24 18/Oct/05
I guess next time I have to take my kid to the doctors for having a cold I shouldn't expect to be bulked billed.. because I mean I take her to day care and exposure to that kind of thing so I shouldn't be filling up the health system with issues that can be prevented

The health system is there for a reason. I don't think smokers should get public health treatment... but they do. Big woop.

My entire family is covered by private health insurance and I am not going to jump up and down about the public health insurance because fat people use it. There are worse people rorting the government than fat people. And those people waste more tax payers money then them as well
I don't think smokers should get public health treatment... but they do. Big woop.
Well if you want to get picky they do contribute to it all through tobacco taxes, I didn't notice any fatty tax on the agenda for the howard govt...

As for your kid, well yeah there are things you can do to limit the childs exposure.. Teach them to use tissues, always wash their hands before a meal and after going to the toilet and touching other people.. When they sneeze or cough bring their hand up to their face.. Just some pointers there for you, Maybe you'd like to think about the flu vaccine in the future aswell, i'm not sure of its effectiveness for people during pregnancy but i'd prolly consider it for the new born when they face their first stint of child care (6weeks is the earliest right?)...
hahaha thanks for the advice on how to keep my kid healthy Boxhead... because you know.. it isn't as if I would have any clue on how to do that myself.

I love people who think you can prevent kids from getting sick... hahahahahahahahahaha
WhiteWolf
ok, so there has been some confusion as to what makes a fat person.. (not really, i mean its obvious when someone is fat. HOWEVER i was bored.)

http://concyted.ausgamers.com/whitewolf/fatchicks.jpg

To recap. fat chicks exibit thies symptoms:
Multiple Chinns
Cleavige that looks like an arse crack
boobs that hang past her elbows
Swolen Fingers
Pure Fat that Dangles off her arms
HUGE f*** OFF THIGHS
No ankles

other things that wern't included into the picture.

often exibits a cammel toe
heavy panting and difficulty holding themselves up straight.
swetty clevage (f***ing gross)
has a face that looks like she has constantly got food in her mouth
Arse that sticks out further than her arms can reach.
difficulty grabbing simple things directly infront of them.

fat ladies are also often found sitting down. and rarely move unless towards food.

also. Kat, after cairfull examination of your pictures. i have to conclude that: your not fat. perhaps not the super sexy front page porn model figure, but you certanly gave me an erection ;)

Cos a 4 year teaching degree and countless hours working in day care/after school care doesn't teach me a thing or 2 about kids...

I love how you have no clue!
I work in a office full of social workers. The large arses are everywhere, my godfather they are big. I get picked on cause I go to the gym 2 times a week and I do martial arts twice a week. I just look at them and think, well I aint the one sweating while I eat you over grown lump of lard. But maybe it is just my cruel side coming through. Obesity is a growing problem and it is getting bigger and bigger each year :)
WhiteWolf
The government should put in a fatty fine, or atleast a fatty tax. and only if your a member of some weight watchers club will you be < insert the word that means 'let off' > the fine.

also. i find that alot of the waiting line for the doctors is because of people with just the flue that need a certificate. WHO THE f*** DECIDED TO TREAT ADULTS LIKE KIDS AND SAY 'if you want to take one of your limited sick days off. you have to get a medical certificate', perhaps that might work if you didn't have a limit to the days paid off. but seriously, who doesn't know when they have the flue and shouldn't be at work. "f***, i got a headache and my joints hurt and i feel like hurling, im going to wait, with a suppresed immune system from the mistery sickness, in a hospital full of other sick people. just so some random can tell me "your sick, don't go to work for a couple of days".

cmon boxhead you know better then that. A 4 year teaching degree doesn't mean you know anything about kids health, upbringing and s***. It means you know how to teach kids. You know about learning styles, KLA's, pedagogies and crap. You know how to prepare a class and create a teaching plan. It also hopefully taught you about classroom management and if you are lucky gave you a "teacher voice".

And working in day care/after school care means you know about crowd control for energetic midgets and entertainment of same :p Tho you probably learnt alot mroe about kids there then you did at uni.

Being a teacher is not the same as being a primary care giver imo. Both have their own set of challenges, and both usually think the other is not doing their job properly :p
A_W

Funny stuff (drawing) WW. :)

last edited by A_W at 16:38:20 18/Oct/05
Being a teacher is not the same as being a primary care giver imo. Both have their own set of challenges, and both usually think the other is not doing their job properly :p
I didn't say i was more qualified.. But as always i fail to see how 9 months and a full belly gives people an 'insight' on how to keep kids healthy and on track...

Going back to my example of a few pointers, What ever is pushed in the classroom needs to be pushed at home for it to actually mean something for the children.. Encouraging them to wash their hands, use tissues, cover their mouth when they sneeze etc are genuine medically proven ways to limit exposure to disease...

Obes that what i'm getting at not some magical ability that 4 years of lol uni is supposed to tell me about kids rather pushing concepts both at home and at school is a sucessful way in which to develop a kid edumacationally... So you were right, its all about learning styles and management...
I didn't say i was more qualified.. But as always i fail to see how 9 months and a full belly gives people an 'insight' on how to keep kids healthy and on track...

That's funny... I was sure my kid was 4 and a half.

You posted to me as if I had no idea of the basic hygiene procedures dude.. Don't get snotty when I tell you have no idea about what I do or do not know.
What ever is pushed in the classroom needs to be pushed at home for it to actually mean something for the children
What I think you're getting at is, most parents are useless
You posted to me as if I had no idea of the basic hygiene procedures dude.. Don't get snotty when I tell you have no idea about what I do or do not know.
No i posted as a person who knows that on a day to day basis children have to be constantly reminded to wipe their nose with tissues, wash their hands before a meal after toilet breaks etc etc etc... But keep up the paranoia
A_W
I agree with Trog. everything starts at home, not external places. so peeps need to quit relying on them.
Seven
Fire up Kat, Boxhead was simply offering some advice. Way to be grateful.
xot
imho kat could lose a little weight.

also, fat people are gross. sometimes its funny though
The government should put in a fatty fine, or atleast a fatty tax.

This has been suggested a few times, in the form of some sort of a fast food levy, which is the only way it could really work.

That said, the idea of a "fat police" has some merit. They could be armed with tranquilizer rifles and hunting dogs, their sole mission to bring down fatties and slap them with fines :)
great all we need is more police...
This has been suggested a few times, in the form of some sort of a fast food levy, which is the only way it could really work.
! What! I don't want to pay more for my Big Mac meals than I already am, any more than I want to pay an excess fee on blank CDROMS because people use them to pirate music. Why should the innocent suffer?!
because by purchasing mcdonalds you're helping the advertising done by mcdonalds to get fatties addicted to mcdonalds

reducing ur purchasing = reduction of advertising = reduction of fat

qed
I have no problems with McDonalds and I have no problems with McDonalds advertising their products. I _like_ eating McDonalds. It tastes great!

Stopping McDonalds won't stop people getting fat though. If you took McDonalds away tomorrow, it'd probably have zero effect, because people would just find some other junk food to cram in their gullets, whether it be fast food or not.

The problem is simply that people are lazy and would rather eat stuff that tastes good and not excercise, than eat a balanced diet and try to keep in shape. People are going to keep getting fat as long as their energy intake exceeds their energy output.
Dopefish
Their deli choice roll things are quite nice. Thai chicken ftw.
amyescence
From what I've gathered [both here and from others], obsesity is a strain on our economy. It's not aesthetically pleasing [unless, you know, you like that sort of thing...] and not healthy for those who have eaten themselves into that state. That said...

When obsese people are criticised and thrown under scrutiny like this, it doesn't inspire them to change things... It further damages what is clearly already shoddy self-esteem and leads to them eating more and doing less. I agree entirely that this particular lifestyle isn't doing anyone any favours, but perhaps if we were more positive in our regard for obese people, and approached their weightloss as something to do for their own well-being and general happiness, instead of focusing on the negative aesthetics they present, they would be more inclined to make that change.

I was never obese, but I did have extra padding [still have a little - working on that] and no amount of negative comments in the world inspired me to change it - I hated hearing them, and hated how I was, but it didn't make me get off my arse and make changes. It wasn't until more positive comments came my way that I was given the push I needed to stick to an exercise and eating regime, and I still struggle with it occasionally... and it's much the same for a lot of people. People are ridiculously open to suggestion, whether they admit it or not, and if they see/hear/read other people telling them that they are fat, then that's how they program their brains to think and it makes the transition to a healthy lifestyle all that much harder. Positive comments are what keep me going towards my goal body.

People are essentially like dogs, in that they need positive reinforcement in order to do something and continue doing it, a la exercise and healthy diet.

*end hippy rant.*

last edited by amyescence at 18:41:51 18/Oct/05
Seven
You make an extremely valid point there amyescence. I guess if that's to be done, we need the Life. Be in it. scheme back in the community and we need workplaces to endorse exercise during and outside of work. I know my Mum's workplace has a group which goes for powerwalks during their lunch break. Perhaps this sort of methodology is the answer then.

P.E. and other exercise-orientated activities should be promoted in schools as well, but I know parents can have a huge impact on whether a kid is active or not, so they should probably be the ones to target. Anyone here a large person or knows a large person and what it would take to motivate them to help themselves?
möoby
It tastes great!

ROFFFLLLL!!!
i'm sure if fatties made 1 lifestyle change, such as reducing food serving and eating more often they would notice a difference. stop drinking soft drink #1, youd notice a difference. stop eating till you cant move mentality. eat breakfast. walk for 30 minutes. anything - its not hard to do.

Sure, doing one of those things make a difference, but for many, very overweight people they won't see the difference for months or even years. All the while people, like many of the people in this thread, pool all overweight people into the same basket.

Even if someone has a massive change in daily patterns it can take months to make any real progress. In that time it is /very/ easy to fall off the bandwagon without even realising it. It is even easier people in your extended communities have attitudes simular to many of the negitive opinions expressed in this thread.

People talk about fat people like they know what it is like to be fat, or how people actually got fat. People seem to love mocking fat people as if it is simple work to loose a bunch of weight. People don't wake up one morning and go "man, when I get out of bed I am going to eat 3kgs of bacon and drink 5lt of gravy a day so I get fat", they get taught bad habits from a very young age.

Some habits are hard to break, such as smoking. You know what, permentatly changing to a healthy lifestyle is harder. I should know, I have quit smoking and I am on the road to changing to a healthy lifecycle.

Quiting smoking was easy, even after a decade of hardcore smoking, all I had to do is stay away from places that sold cigs and don't socialise with the smokers during parties. It was a week of feeling crappy and a month of occasionally feeling crappy, but really in the long term it wasn't that hard to break. Quiting eating bad is much harder, the weapons to my destruction are in my fridge.

If you want to mock people simply for being fat, don't complain when people mock you for being whatever your failing is at life.
Fat people should have to pay higher premiums, just like people that smoke and base jump

Do people with a record of injurys playing contact sports pay higher premiums? I don't know if they do, I am just wondering.
so exactly how fat are you typo
As big as your mum lolz
imho kat could lose a little weight.

Shes pregnant d*******....give her some time and she'll loose it.Have you seen may pics of Kat in all of your massive 67 posts xot??? Form your own opinion and get off the bandwagon,im sure if you had an original thought by christ it would be lonely!
there's definately more fat kids now than there were back when i was at school, I also finished 1998.

I think the main problem is that it's cheaper, easier and faster to eat food that makes you fat.
i can still wear pants, so im happy

until kat walks by, then my huge ass boner rips through pants pops up and smacks me in the forehead.
total forehead to foreskin contact, the bruise looks like i got hit by a muffin
haha TK, newb

spidz didn't you say you weigh 105kg
i weigh 105kg
but im still comfortable wearing my purple thong down at southbank showing off to the laydeez
Seven
lmfao @ Fuknukle
A_W
^

ditto.
xot
Have you seen may pics of Kat in all of your massive 67 posts xot???

omglol!

rofledit cos i have nothing better to do which is pretty sad: correct me if im wrong someone, but i believe i was here about 9,922,095 users and 4,187 posts before this fag.

also, i bet someone with under 10 posts probably would have already seen kat.zip and her threads, so in conclusion, i bet TK is fat.

last edited by xot at 22:15:13 18/Oct/05
What do you mean?
You guys hardly get on, do you?
No, what does "exacerbate" mean?
Lol, Shaun of the Dead FTW.

Yeah the obesity epidemic is getting out of hand. A couple of friends and I were sitting at maccas today sipping on DIET Coke* and counting how many women we saw with cankles and shnecks and their fat little kids. It was disgusting. People are bringing their kids in for a Maccas meal at 3-4pm (I assume on the way home from school). However, this seems a little strange to me as it's a little early for dinner, so I assumed these happy meals and larger servings were for afternoon tea... there's something basically wrong with that. When I was a kid, afternoon tea was a pack of two minute noodles or a couple of biscuits and some fruit.

And for those people who say it's all down to genetics, and their genes make them fat, STFU. Seriously. Shut the f*** up. You have no idea what you're talking about. Genes don't make you fat, they just influence how easily you gain and lose weight. If you're a lazy f*** who gets no exercise and consumes 5000+ calories a day, you're going to be fat no matter how your genetics configure your metabolism and other variables. If you get regular exercise and eat a healthy, balanced diet within your daily calory allowance you will be thinner. It's like a bank. If you put more calories in than you use, you have excess calories which become FAT. If you burn more calories than you consume in a day, you'll lose weight. It's really that simple.

I'm currently working on losing my excess body fat. It's a tough climb but I find exercise I can enjoy. I like working out, martial arts and walking with friends so I incorporate that. I'm watching my diet too. Sure I have the occasional treat or binge, but that's good for keeping your metabolism on its toes. If you can't trust yourself to limit yourself to one biscuit a day or a little bit of chips, DON'T f***ING BUY THEM. I just don't buy biscuits, chocolate, chips or any other junk food. If I don't have them, I can't eat them. And don't give me that "oh but it's not fair to deprive the rest of my family those foods" bulls***. Back when I was a kid and my mother started weight watchers, we all took on some of the aspects of the diet. We switched to lower fat milks (trim FTW), low fat snacks and lean meals. It made my whole family a fair bit healthier. You will adapt over time.

My advice is to switch the fatty foods you like with a healthier alternative. For example, switch to a lower fat milk. Instead of chips, get rice crackers. Instead of buying some fatty cream cheese based dip, make your own healthier versions or get salsa. Switch to a wholemeal bread. Opt for low sugar/low GI/high protein cereals. These will help keep you feel full longer after breakfast. THROW OUT YOUR BUTTER, MARGERINE OR OTHER SPREAD. And just be creative. Look at the meals you eat and think of how you could cut unneeded fat from them. For example, I love bean burritos but the premade ones are kinda fatty. So, I buy some tortilla wraps, some baked beans and low fat cheese. Roll up some beans and a sprinkle of cheese in a burrito and microwave or grill it and you have yourself a cheap, healthy snack. Oh, and capsaicin (the acid found in chilli) is an appetite supresant. Spice it up!

*A note for people who say artificial sweeteners give you cancer, you're just as dumb as the "genes make you fat" people. The sweetener is made from a freaking AMINO ACID, WHICH YOUR BODY USES IN ITS DAILY FUNCTIONS. Unless you're PKU you'll be fine. Of course, all things should be consumed in moderation. Aspartame did cause an increase in cancer in some test animals, but there is no evidence to suggest there is a severe risk for humans. Basically, there is more risk involved in drinking regular soft drinks because of the risk of developing diabitis. Although some studies have suggested that caffeine can become carcenogenic, so you're f***ed either way :P

/rant
spidz didn't you say you weigh 105kg
98kg now and I'm 6'3". I'm slightly overweight, but I'm fitter than most people. Being a former athlete its hard to make the transition from training diet to normal diet without putting on weight!
i agree 100%

people make their own choices in life.
rofledit cos i have nothing better to do which is pretty sad: correct me if im wrong someone, but i believe i was here about 9,922,095 users and 4,187 posts before this fag.

Well im going by this...xot
Forum Posts: 69
AGN Total: 78

Show me something differant and ill take back what i said.Im guessing your manlissa using a new name eh??
Seven
Three cheers for CT.

The art of a home-made meal is lost on too many. Creatvity is where it's at - reckon you've got no food in the house and have to order in / get maccas?

Apples - Apple Strudle
Rice - Add milk, sultanas, vanilla essence and cinnamon and heat up
Bananas - make a damn smoothie
Bread - add something, anything to it and put it under the griller
Eggs - soft boil for 3 minutes, cut up some toast and dip it in the eggs while in the shells, called 'dippy eggs' or 'eggs and soldiers'
Random vegetables - add some lean beef, water and stock and you've got a wicked casserole

So much stuff can be made with the basics around the house, usually if you've got edible materials and heat you can make anything. Whether it tastes nice is up to what you have and experience. Some of the best meals you make yourself. I love scrambled eggs, dippy eggs, that rice meal above and many types of jaffles.

If you don't have the ingredients, walk down to your local store and grab em, or at least park heaps far away from the entrance so you get some decent exercise. Also get a dodgy trolley so you have to use your upper arms to keep it under control, it'll give you definition.
i bet TK is fat.

Oh and the 10 or so people ive met from QGL can state this aint the case.
Last time I saw TK he wasn't fat but he was pretty big and scary looking
Boo!

Being big and scary helps in my line of work =)

last edited by Tanaka Khan at 22:38:19 18/Oct/05
xot
Show me something differant and ill take back what i said

rofl, why would i want u to take it back
So you guys can be friends and start making out with each other?
Cainer - f***en get over it man. It is there life, not yours, They have the right to do whatever they want, we live in a democracy, freedom of choice, freedom of speech.

If your going to blame anyone, blame the food companys that sell the unhealthy food. They are fat, they know the consequences.

I hate nothing more than peoplee like yourself that sit around staring at others and saying s*** like "omg, look at that fatty" or "ohhh, hes such a mess". Do you have anything better to do with your time. They are fat but they still have jobs, they have to pay for food somehow. Therefore they pay taxes and contribute to society just like everyone else. If they use public health, so be it, they earned it. Now have a COKE AND A SMILE, AND SHUT THE f*** UP. you fatist.
WhiteWolf
we live in a democracy, freedom of choice, freedom of speech.

er, hasn't this been covered by numerous threads etc in the past.. we don't actually have freedom of speech in this country, if we did, the government wouldn't be taking away our right to praise terrorism.

freedom of choice, i could Choose to throw a sharp object at you. yet i should remember that my actions affect NOT ONLY MY f***ING SELF.

that said, specifically about fat pepole. i am very lucky, i ate 1kg of food for lunch, i use to drink about 2lt of coke a day, (don't any more, simply because i don't have any available, and im way to f***ing lazy to walk down the street and get some more) i love junk food. for a while i was eating having a lunch of about 3 cheese burgers from red rooster and a 1.25 lt coke (this was everyday) Im 6' tall.. i post some spoot if you can get within 2kg of my weight.

Agreed Whitewolf. I should have articulated my argument better. But i am sure you understand what I am trying to say.
dice
73 ...
tiny = fatty
we don't actually have freedom of speech in this country, if we did, the government wouldn't be taking away our right to praise terrorism.

you're a f***ing idiot. In America where they actually have a bill of rights, you still don't have the right to praise terrorism. At any rate, the constitution does have the implied right to free speech.
A_W

Of course your rights end when your selfish and/or self damaging actions cause everyone major costs through the burden of taking care of you when things F up. Either that or having to make changes to a wide array of things to suit you.

Gay people want to be different yet demand the same rights as everyone else.

Smokers want to poison themselves on a daily basis cause they have a drug addiction yet insist they deserve the privilage of free public health care like everyone else.

WHERE has the self responsibility gone these days i ask you?? Are there no longer consequences for your OWN CHOICES anymore?

Just a few examples of the absurd hypocrisy certain types of people display. Including the obese who don't help themselves.
A_W

Reload is correct. And also only an idiot would praise terrorism since it nearly all the time involves the murdering of innocent people who have nothing to do with the cause the terrorists are fighting for.

last edited by A_W at 23:47:44 18/Oct/05
pillsy
Gay people want to be different yet demand the same rights as everyone else.

Explain how gay people 'being different' impacts negatively on society? I'm assuming you're referring to their genetic predisposition towards members of their own sex.

Are you inferring that you believe gay people do not deserve the same treatment and rights as any other heterosexual member in the australian community? In your eyes are they being difficult and uncompromising by expecting equal treatment? Or are you just admitting your ignorant bigotry?

Smokers want to poison themselves on a daily basis cause they have a drug addiction yet insist they deserve the privilage of free public health care like everyone else.

Well I'm a smoker and I pay my taxes, part of which goes to that giant pot of gold in the sky known as the 'health system'.

Just a few examples of the absurd hypocrisy certain types of people display.

Smokers aside, I'd like to hear more about the 'absurd hypocrisy' gay people display because a statement like that is just baffling me. Who knows, you might be able to fire back off at me a subjective and thought provoking argument. I would be suprised though, I'm more expecting a 'but god hates fagets and they wear pink' type reply.
Spook = egotistical, immature, judgemental person. In short, you are the s*** stain on the underpants of society.
Seven
I can see where A_W is coming from with the gay+different approach, but fear he is going off track with it. However the smoker angle makes sense. You see pillsy, I am not a smoker, neither are many others in this country. However when you get lung cancer and choose to pop into a public hospital and demand treatment (you're entitled, it's what makes Australia great) monies from the giant pot of gold in the sky help pay the lovely doctors and nurses that help you get better. Seems fine, right?

Well lets relate it to the roads of Australia and registration of ones' vehicle. Vehicles who do large damage to the road like trucks pay high rego, while motorbikes and other similar vehicles pay a lower rego. A truck or a car requires more money to be invested into fixing pot holes and whatever cause they do more damage. Motorbikes barely make a mark so they pay less. If we relate this to smoking and the health system, even though I have chosen not to smoke (comparatively riding a freakin' scooter) I still pay the same amount of Medicare Levy as someone who chooses to smoke (drive an 18-wheeler).

This is where the system has f***ed up. You choose elective surgery, you pay for it; you choose to smoke, you pay for the related problems that come with that; you choose to eat 6 big macs wrapped in bacon and 3 pints of lard every morning for breakfast, you pay for the problems that come with that too.

I can see problems arising such as 'well where does it end?' and 'but everyone gets cholesterol and cancer'. Well right now fatties and smokers are big burdens on our health system so they sure as hell better pay their own way through or quit whatever the f*** it is they're doing. God help those who are fat and smoke.
Fat people are ugly, there for no worthy of my time.
DigitaL

Australia, full of fatties
Tuco
At any rate, the constitution does have the implied right to free speech.
where? please point this out
A_W

Pillsy said: Explain how gay people 'being different' impacts negatively on society? I'm assuming you're referring to their genetic predisposition towards members of their own sex.

Im not sure how you get "explain how they impact negatively on society" from "they wanna be different but expect same rights" . I didn't say a word about any kind of "impact" they might have on society. They don't have one. And choosing the homosexual lifestyle is not genetic, don't be rediculous. everyone is born the same, what you do with your life is up to you as an individual with free will.

Pillsy said: Are you inferring that you believe gay people do not deserve the same treatment and rights as any other heterosexual member in the australian community? In your eyes are they being difficult and uncompromising by expecting equal treatment?

That's exactly what im talking about. What is so damm hard about realising that you can't change the world to suit you just cause you choose an alternative lifestyle from most others. You make a big decision in life you have to accept the benefits AND, consequences that come with it. It's that simple. Can i demand council change laws because i want to be different and camp in the botanical gardens to live? NO. Can i demand the government lower taxes so petrol is cheaper because i want to be different and drive a huge humvee everywhere. NO.

I don't hate gay people, they are perfectly fine. Just like religious nuts, they don't try and preach to me, i don't hate them. The only thing that pisses me off about gay people is they are whingers, freaking whingers. Like everybody else around me i make decisions and i live with the results like an adult should. WHY CAN'T THEY DO THE SAME?? They chose the lifestyle they can deal with it. Everyone has too. They don't deserve any special treatment. period.

How bout i marry my cat or dog, and then demand they get the same rights as humans. including marriage laws and other benefits. Why not? im being different , im a minority group, i DESERVE special treatment and laws to be amended just for me. You quickly see how absurd this can become when you apply the same principles gay people want and push for when it's applied to anything else. Tolerence is a smokescreen, there is no such problem, it's thier intolerence to accepting the downsides of the choices they made as an individual with free will that's the problem.

Pillsy said: Well I'm a smoker and I pay my taxes, part of which goes to that giant pot of gold in the sky known as the 'health system'.

(pretending i have my own car for a minute) I pay my rego (road taxes), does that allow me to speed and other forms of reckless driving and then when i hurt myself get taken care of and made all better again in public health? YES, BUT is it the right thing to do? NO. Because i am the cause of the problem and take up alot of money and peoples valuble time and space while they look after me. I pay my taxes why should i care. An extreme example and rather hard to prove, but the same principles apply.

Smokers are no different. you pay your taxes too, everyone does. so what. But when your self damaging habit you choose to do regulary gives you lung cancer, bad teeth, weight gain, emphacema (you can't walk down the street without stopping to catching your breath a 100 times) , or just poor general health are you allowed to just waltz into public health and expect them to take care of you? YES. BUT, is it the right thing to do? NO. You directly caused the problem yourself, and unlike the road injury example, smoking damage is 100% provable. So when you F yourself up in anyway, YOU should have to pay for it, because it's YOUR FAULT. Not just go "oh i pay my taxes, so im entilted to place a large burden on people of cost, time and space." Let me tell you, bugger all of that billions of cigarette taxes goes into the healthcare system. It has it's own set budget. Public healthcare is for people who can't afford it and/or just have to use due to lack of access to special private care for various reasons. It's for the general populations benefit. Private healthcare is a luxuary and a privilage not just an alternative you can go to. Depending on illness requirements, costs can be substantial. even for average people that aren't "poor" or getting by OK.

Public healthcare is not a system for people like smokers to abuse by causing problems for themselves and then going in and getting made better. no worries, no cost. And im done now. that took about 45 mins to type. phew. :) and was posted at 3:58am, but typing errors needed several edits.

last edited by A_W at 04:09:24 19/Oct/05
And choosing the homosexual lifestyle is not genetic, don't be rediculous. everyone is born the same, what you do with your life is up to you as an individual with free will.

Theres a known genetic link in some cases. Look it up. From memory i think thats something like 1/3 to 1/4 of all cases of loving the cock. In the other cases there might be link we don't know about yet. However its highly unlikely that its enviromental, and its clearly not a choice. The lifestyle you choose is, not your orientation.

last edited by nF at 04:58:09 19/Oct/05
If your going to blame anyone, blame the food companys that sell the unhealthy food.

Hm, last time I checked, I was a responsible adult capable of making my own decisions. I blame people for making poor lifestyle decisions. I blame people for not having interventions for their dangerously overweight loved ones. And I blame parents for teaching their children poor food and activity practices. When I was a kid, I was taught that you can't sit on your ass playing video games all day, you have to move around a bit. I learned responsible food practices.

Seven's road analogy rocks! The system really is f***ed though. There's a morbidly obese woman who lives accross the street from my grandparents. For over a decade, doctors have been telling her to lose weight or she'll die, that simple. Then she gets diagnosed with cancer. They can cut it out and perform life saving surgery, but they need her to lose weight. But no, she didn't. This woman never had a job, children or contributed to society in any way. But the Australian tax dollars had to pay so much extra money to get this fat, lazy bitch her surgery because it took so much longer to do because of all the fat they had to cut through. The fat makes teh surgery far mroe complex, time consuming and therefore expensive. Then she gets type one diabetes and we all have to foot the bill for the rest of her life.

I know there are layer upon layer of emotional and psychological issues that go hand in hand with obesity, but one day you'll realise that nobody is truly sane, and we're all just in varying degrees of insanity.
I think A_W reall should just stick to bandwagoning and stop expressing his "opions"
atm im on the CSIRO healthy eating plan for life. this thing rocks. completely flexible, awesome tasting recipes, and having that sort of thing there makes me cut down on all the random s***e that i would normally justify during a general day.

I cant begin to describe how awesome it is, but basically im eating healthier food, i enjoy it more than the greasy s*** i used to eat, and the big clincher, even with very minimal exercise, ive lost 5 kilos in about 6 weeks. When i start properly exercising, its going to be better too.

Its not a fancy diet, its something you do for the rest of your life. when you reach your optimum weight, you can start eating s*** agani but in moderation of course. the other thing that surprised me, is the amount of meat im meant to eat at lunch on a sanger, its like twice as much as i normally would. but it means im not hungry mid afternoon and eat bad stuff then.

all it takes is being proactive about it, theres so many different ways to lose weight, pick one that you can stick to, and its the win. ps, i start playing netball next week, and indoor cricket soon too, and tennis on weekends. so im gonna be teh win.
At any rate, the constitution does have the implied right to free speech.

There are basically no individual rights in our constitution. You have watched too many American TV shows. Yes the high court has ruled that there is an implication of freedom of speech but on in relation to "Freedom of communication relating to the affairs of government". And even then only under specific types of comment and in certain types of cases.

The protection of individual rights is mainly left to the federal and State Parliaments and in common law (i.e. judge-made law via the courts), and our last appealate court (i think thats the right term for an appeals court) The High Court.

The only explicit rights we do have are.

• Commonwealth acquisition of property must be on just terms.

• Trial on indictment of any offence against a law of the Commonwealth shall be by jury.

• Trade commerce and intercourse among the States shall be absolutely free.

• Commonwealth may not make any law for establishing any religion or for prohibiting the free exercise of any religion.

• A resident of a State may not be subject in any other State to any disability or discrimination.

No free speech there ....

There are some high court rulings that suggest its implied we have free speech but as I said... only in relation to "Freedom of communication relating to the affairs of government".
Thats the thing though Tung...you shouldnt diet,you need to eat correctly and stick with that.People who diet will loose several kilo's,think how good they look,then forget all about it until they stack the kilo's back on.One good thing when i discovered i had diabeties years ago(if it could be called a good thing) is that it totally changed my eating habbits around.I cook my own meals where i can,i try to get creative (ok so ive made myself sick several times =P),and given up what was pretty much the cause of my problem....Coke.When i was younger i was drinking a minimum of 2 litres a day not giving any thought to what it was doing to me.
Obes is right. besides, the argument goes in america as i understand it that inciting terrorism exceeds the Bill of Rights protection to free speech.

I think you will find that freedom of speech is generally permitted in Australia except for racial vilifcation, inciting terror and defamation laws. unless it fits one of those categories i can't think how it would be forbidden, so we have a pretty good lot concerning freedom of speech issues.

just don't act like a possible terrorist and you'll be right.

last edited by infi at 10:05:38 19/Oct/05
You make a big decision in life you have to accept the benefits AND, consequences that come with it. It's that simple.

So what, i can go around killing gay people and pissing on their corpses? Cos you know, thats just a consequence of being different?

Please point out what "rights" gay people are demanding that are so unreasonable to what everyone else gets? Surely you're not just talking out of your ass here...
i've given up caring about what gays want... the gay lovers will change the laws to suit the gays evewntually, in those very few areas that remain ungayified.
yeah, this isnt a diet, its just a plan that shows you how you should cook food, how much of each you should eat, and how much exercise you should do to counter bad stuff you eat. and its not limiting, i can eat kfc, but id have to do a bit more to counter that for the week.
Ja, Obes and Infi are correct in regards to freedom of speech. I was more focusing on the stupidity of whitewolf's comment.
Lyco
Obes, the word is actually appellate. Aside from that, your post is amazingly (for QGL) legally correct, congratulations!

We only have an implied freedom of political communication. Basically, if a certain law places a burden on political communication, it could be invalid. However, if it is appropriate and adapted to a legitimate purpose, then it will still be valid.

For anybody interested to learn more about this area of Australian constitutional law, go and read the High Court decisions in Lange v Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Coleman v Power, and to a lesser extent, the recent decision in APLA Limited v Legal Services Commissioner (NSW). They can all be obtained from http://www.austlii.edu.au, follow the links to Commonwealth then High Court of Australia decisions and do a search.

As somebody else pointed out, our freedom of speech is not really that limited anyway. Australia does not have a Bill of Rights like the US. This doesn't necessarily mean that our rights are not well protected however. The theory is that our system of responsible government still protects our rights because if enough people think our rights are being trampled, they will vote the government of the day out at the next election. In countries where a Bill of Rights exists, the problem can be that the document does not move with the times very well. This leaves it to the judiciary to come up with more and more inventive ways to protect rights that were never contemplated when the Bill of Rights was instituted (like in the US).

By the way, sorry about being fairly off topic, but Obes sort of touched on that point about our rights as well :-).
It's a big conspiracy, all the fast food mobs have entered an agreement with weight groups and exercise machine manufacturers, who have also paid current affair shows to play fatty stories every week, and the television networks for advertising rights.
Theres a known genetic link in some cases. Look it up. From memory i think thats something like 1/3 to 1/4 of all cases of loving the cock.
it's called the Y chromosome and its generally found in WOMEN!
WhiteWolf
A_W had some good points (although i disagree with his theory on homosexuality being a choice), i wonder how much cheaper the hospitals would be to run if we didn't have people who smoked, drunkdrive, took drugs and over ate themselves.

half the people in there are part of that group.

another point rased is that they should tax maccas more. i strongly disagree with this, because its unfair to thoes who do have self control (or like me, who are extreamly lucky, (btw, 65kg))
although i disagree with his theory on homosexuality being a choice

So you were born into it WW?
A_W you are a retard. Gay people are asking to allowed to be legally married to other gay people. What is the problem with that? Does it affect you? Does it have any impact on you at all? No. Does it benefit them in the same way that the legal status benefits everyone else? Yes. So whats the problem? You are a bigot and a f***tard.

Oh and you completely missed the point about smoking you tool. You do realise that cigarettes are taxed right? Very heavily taxed. The tax income from cigarettes is massive and is there to counter-act the cost to the health system. Stop preaching your stupid s***...

Oh and how would you know if gay people were born into it or made a life choice? Huh? Unless you smoke the cock, (which wouldn't be surprising), you don't have any clue. You're just talking out of your ass. Were you born into acting like a f***wit or did you make a "life choice"?
so much angor. closest fag i'm guessing.
Erm, do you mean "anger" and/or "closet". I don't like picking out spelling mistakes on the net but if you can't spell five-letter words how the crap do you function in society...
My cat is overwieght.

As long as I put food in the bowl she will eat it.

I think there is a little something in that for all of us.

ive-letter words how the crap do you function in society...

Wlel, the biran is a wudroneos tinhg. Truns out croerct spinlleg inst taht ianimportt wehn reniadg.

People who cant understand what someone has written because the person who wrote it made a spelling mistake probably are the ones of limited intelligence. As the overall context of the message can help the reader understand what the person intended to write.

last edited by Tollaz0r! at 14:37:12 19/Oct/05
WhiteWolf
heaps of angor, must be closest fag

So you were born into it WW?
Yes.
Tuco
being a fag is all fun and games until you get the hiv. then you wish you hadnt stuck your dick near any f*****
A_W
nF said: Theres a known genetic link in some cases. Look it up. From memory i think thats something like 1/3 to 1/4 of all cases of loving the cock. In the other cases there might be link we don't know about yet. However its highly unlikely that its enviromental, and its clearly not a choice. The lifestyle you choose is, not your orientation.

Yes i've heard of such cases. If your thinking of the same thing i am. Im referring to odd instances where people claim to be "out of place" , or feel like they are one sex in another sexes body. It is known, but rather hard to prove or document. It's pretty strange. But back on the general issue, unless you have gay parents that raised you, you don't grow up gay, you just happen to go down that path at some stage. most likely conscious choice. This is the case for the great majority of gay people. However it is possible to not turn out gay even if you had gay parents, just depends on the person.

CT said: Hm, last time I checked, I was a responsible adult capable of making my own decisions. I blame people for making poor lifestyle decisions.

CT speaks truth. is self responsibility going out of fashion or something? last time i knew im pretty sure i was responsible for my own actions. If this has changed, someone please tell me, so i can do things without worrying about the outcome since it wouldn't be my fault.

Maxe said: So what, i can go around killing gay people and pissing on their corpses? Cos you know, thats just a consequence of being different?

No. of course you can't murder people. However you can look here.

Taggs said: Gay people are asking to allowed to be legally married to other gay people. What is the problem with that?

Something you can't see. They choose to live a way of life that excluded them from certain rights and privilages and now they want us to change the laws to suit them? THAT'S the problem. Im sorry but, no, it just aint ganna happen. It's thier fault, it's thier problem. live with it. This again shows my point about self responsibility. Where is the difficult part in grasping the concept of it's thier fault? Im not a bigot, gay people just act like spoilt rich kids who want everything when they don't deserve it or aren't entilted to it. That pisses me off because it's a non-issue since it's thier fault.

taggs also said: You do realise that cigarettes are taxed right? Very heavily taxed.

Hmmmm.......

A_W said further back: ......all of that billions of cigarette taxes.....

taggs also said: The tax income from cigarettes is massive and is there to counter-act the cost to the health system.

Really? Perhaps with your extensive knowledge on governement policy regarding tobacco tax dollars you could tell me where all the money goes then? I think the overall system wide very poor shape of QLD public health paints an interesting picture.

I look forward to your next counter arguments so we can debate this further.

last edited by A_W at 16:55:27 19/Oct/05
CT speaks truth. is self responsibility going out of fashion or something? last time i knew im pretty sure i was responsible for my own actions. If this has changed, someone please tell me, so i can do things without worrying about the outcome since it wouldn't be my fault.
Wow you're one of the incredibly lucky in society who actually have a choice to act 'responsibly'... You'd be surprised at the great many in society through either poor up bringing, a less then acceptable social standing or some other influence that simply aren't able to choose something else or are able to choose the responsible course of action.

Something you can't see. They choose to live a way of life that excluded them from certain rights and privilages and now they want us to change the laws to suit them? THAT'S the problem. Im sorry but, no, it just aint ganna happen. It's thier fault, it's thier problem. live with it. This again shows my point about self responsibility. Where is the difficult part in grasping the concept of it's thier fault? Im not a bigot, gay people just act like spoilt rich kids who want everything when they don't deserve it or aren't entilted to it. That pisses me off because it's a non-issue since it's thier fault.
I suppose we should go back to beating aboriginals, african americans should continue to be slaves and africaans should be keep control of the wealth in south africa? I mean come on its their problem, they've been given a life thats excludes them certain rights and privilages and now they want us to change the laws to suit them? That's the problem.. I'm sorry but, no, it just aint gonna happen. Its their fault, its their problem. live with it...
LOL homosexuality is a lifestyle choice haha, whatever you reckon A_W.
No. of course you can't murder people. However you can look here.

I wasnt trying to be funny, and in either case you didnt answer my question which I will restate: "What rights are gay people demanding that are above what hetero people have"?

Once again when a reasoned arguement is directed at you, you refuse to answer and counter with some lame call like "post some more photos of yourself lol" because its so obvious what a f***ing spastic you are.

Might I direct your attention to this thread, and particularly these rules:

- Don't get into an debate or argument with a one-off post with a radical idea or concept that you're not prepared to follow up on after everyone has shot you down in flames.
- Try not to talk about politics until you have the faintest idea what is going on in the world and have a remote understanding about current events, history, and general human psychology

Heres an example of you posting in direct contradiction to the above:

Im not a bigot, gay people just act like spoilt rich kids who want everything when they don't deserve it or aren't entilted to it

Your trying to tell taggs to back up a very reasonable assumption about the taxation system in this country, yet you go ahead and make blanket statements about every gay person in this country. You done any research on that? Got anything to back it up.

f*** no, you dont. You're posting bulls*** like you have from day 1. f*** off, noone wants you here.

Nows the part where you reply with "WELL YOU SUCK!"
A_W
Good, but no cigar Boxhead. Abo's don't choose to be beaten and black americans don't choose to be slaves. The tradgergy in SA caused by the mugabe dictatorship is a big issue needing a future thread. It's not relevant here.

So Opec, you can tell me how people end up gay or lesbian then?
fyi:

mugabe is in Zimbabwe
no slaves in america anymore
and abbo's often deserve a beating as much as the white bloke next to him.
A_W
Correct about M in Zim spidz, and what use to be a shining example of what can happen in SA and what was at times referred to as SA's bread basket is now in ruins.

Maxe your bitter, give up. or you can respond with another long winded post. oh and taggs never mentioned the taxation system in this country, i believe it was specifically about tobacco taxes.
Maxe your bitter, give up.

give up what? With every post you make me more and more correct. You cant answer the question(s), the best you can do is some bulls*** semantics like "oh it was specifically about TOBACCO TAX so your question isnt valid".
A_W
I haven't seen any relevant questions from yourself that i need to answer. Can you post them again?
black americans don't choose to be slaves
You're right they chose to not die of starvation in Africa... ohhhh wait a minute then they were opressed for a time then there was a war then slavery or opression of slaves was abolished.... All because they wanted to be treated like human beings... hurmmm so thusly

What rights were black americans people demanding that are above what average joe white american people? Answer was none..

or alternatively

What rights are gay people demanding that are above what hetero people have?
They choose to live a way of life
You're a f***ing idiot. Have you ever spoken to a gay person? While some are perfectly happy with their lifestyles, many others wish every day that they could be heterosexual.

I suggest you ban yourself from any discussion more complicated than today's weather because you are clearly retarded.
They choose to live a way of life that excluded them from certain rights and privilages and now they want us to change the laws to suit them?

You complete f***ing moron. If the government passed a law saying that only gay people could get married would you be able to "choose" to be gay or straight? Would you sit back and say, "Well it's my fault for choosing to be straight!" Please answer me that.

But back on the general issue, unless you have gay parents that raised you, you don't grow up gay, you just happen to go down that path at some stage. most likely conscious choice. This is the case for the great majority of gay people. However it is possible to not turn out gay even if you had gay parents, just depends on the person.

Erm, most gay people come from straight families you dips***.

Perhaps with your extensive knowledge on governement policy regarding tobacco tax dollars you could tell me where all the money goes then?

It's irrelevent where the money comes from or goes to as long as $x spent on tobacco related health problems = X4 brought in from tobacco taxes. I am fairly sure that the taxes would make up for the health spending.

A_W can you see how many people are telling you to shut the f*** up? You're making yourself look like more of a retard every time you post. f*** off already.
A_W
Well that wouldn't happen since straight is the natural norm. So i don't have to choose anything.

Yeah that's right, i didn't say that they didn't.

Well you can be fairly sure, but it's not the case. QLD wouldn't have such a broken system if so many billions from taxes on health dmagaing products all went into the health system.
Do we know what percentage of tabacco tax actually goes into the health system?
A_W

Probably another hidden figure just like secret surgery waiting lists.

you lose at karyology :)

XX fyi
möoby
^ what?
Your chin says Y Kat.
who cares what percentage goes into the health system really
And my eyes say "No fukin way we're reading this huge arse big posted crazy ass s***house thread"

You're being facetious, right?

Women have XX chromosome configuration and all their eggs contain the X chromosome. Men are XY and their sperm can carry an X or Y chromosome. That's why gender is random, cub.

Gender determining chromosomes have nothing to do with sexuality.

last edited by Crizane Tribal at 00:28:18 20/Oct/05

So Opec, you can tell me how people end up gay or lesbian then?

LOL if you need someone to explain that to you, then you're not even qualify to comment on anything on this subject seriously. Like I said, having a "serious opinion" doesn't suit you, stick to what you know, you know like, stating the obvious for other people like "OMGZ I SO KNOW IT'S PHOTOCHOPPED MEANZ" or just bandwagon riding.
A_W
Well obviously you must know since you don't think it's the way i said.
As far as I know the reason people are homosexual is a mystery ie. you can't do a blood test or something to find out.
i had a huge discussion on this with my gf the other day. basically if it was genetic, theoretically it should die out because of the inability to procreate :)

i believe it is a subconcious mental reaction to environmental stimulus. take two brains, put it in two environments with the same triggers etc, and they react and grow differently. There could be some mental facet that reacts to the surrounding environment, and changes the state of their sexuality.

i dont think its a choice per se, but i do think its a reaction to environment and stimulus. it doesnt have to be traumatic or blatant though

Well obviously you must know since you don't think it's the way i said.

That's the point, nobody really does for sure, but it's not as simple as you put it.

Unless you have an authoritative knowledge on this subject - which I highly doubt judging from the glib and superficial responses on this matter, I hightly doubt you can say for certain.

Tung, homosexuality/bisexuality also occurs in nature - particularly well documented in primate so it's not just us bipeds that choose this so called "life-styles". Here are some links

http://www.primates.com/bonobos/bonobo-info.html
http://www.awf.org/wildlives/12672

a_w: I haven't seen any relevant questions from yourself that i need to answer. Can you post them again?

maxe: Please point out what "rights" gay people are demanding that are so unreasonable to what everyone else gets?

Answer it

boxhead: I suppose we should go back to ...africaans should be keep control of the wealth in south africa?

a_w: Good, but no cigar Boxhead. The tradgergy in SA caused by the mugabe dictatorship is a big issue needing a future thread.

I don't know if you've noticed, but Robert Mugabe (which as spidz pointed out is president of Zimbabwe, not South Africa) is black, not Afrikaans. He is killing white farmers in Zimbabwe. How is that 'tradgergy' in South Africa caused by Mugabe?

taggs: The tax income from cigarettes is massive and is there to counter-act the cost to the health system.

a_w: Really? Perhaps with your extensive knowledge on governement policy regarding tobacco tax dollars you could tell me where all the money goes then? I think the overall system wide very poor shape of QLD public health paints an interesting picture.

Why does it matter where the income from tobacco goes to? That is no longer an issue for smokers to work out, that becomes the governments problem and you should be attacking them for f***ing the health system, not smokers. Smokers are still paying to smoke.
again ive never said it was a choice, i said it was a mental reaction to stimulus.

take two people, put them in an environment, the only ones that could react exactly the same would be genetically identical twins that have been nutured the same way since birth.

in every other case there would be differing reactions (even a slight differing counts)

so it is more than possible that homosexuality/bisexuality (which the latter apparently doesnt exist) is a direct product of the mental state reacting to environmental stimuli.

again im not saying gay parents raise gay children, or a boy that doesnt have his father around turns gay, etc etc, thats a copout from what im actually trying to put across
Mebbe tung. A fairly good friend of mine from primary school is gay and I've talked to him about it and he says that he kind of always knew he was gay. Like he could tell something was different even from when he was a little kid. Don't know whether that's built into his brain or if he reacted to his environment that way..

But either way, everyone here apart from A_W accepts that gay people don't wake up one day and say, "you know what, I think I'll be gay from now on." Grow up A_W, look back a few pages and see how many people think you're a complete tool for talking all the s*** you do.

Tung my post wasn't meant to contradict your thoughts on this subject, I'm simply saying that it also exists in the other primate. I can accept your reasoning, it could be mental stimuli but then again it might not since chimps will have totally different environmental stimuli to us, different social values etc. so perhaps it's a combination of things but who really knows. That was my point, A_W seems to think he knows the cause of this which I doubt he even know about half the stuff he's talking about in depth.

Anyway if A_W is trolling he should be pround because, he suceeded in derailing the thread :)
haha for sure

the thing thats interesting is that originally it was just dolphins and humans that have sex for pleasure, now it seems that primates are also joining in on the fun.
opec, tung and a_w all are gay
since i skipped the majority of the thread, to long :D i saw 1 thing

i know that some people are genetically programmed to be fat. but not everyone is

few words, ever seen a fat P.O.W?
obes is a primate that has sex with monkeys for pleasure
few words, ever seen a fat P.O.W?

So we should round up all the fat people and put them in concentration camps? Ingenious!

Meh half the fatties today walk around shrouded in self pity, say they always try to lose weight but its easily seen through. It aint hard to eat less, walk / run a bit... does wonders..

and if all that fails, concentration camp.

last edited by Raider at 14:03:17 20/Oct/05
A_W
Reload said: Answer it.

They aren't demanding anything everyone else doesn't already have. So i don't know why the question was even asked.

Reload said: I don't know if you've noticed, but Robert Mugabe (which as spidz pointed out is president of Zimbabwe, not South Africa) is black, not Afrikaans. He is killing white farmers in Zimbabwe. How is that 'tradgergy' in South Africa caused by Mugabe?

Like i told Spidz, i know all that crap. SA was a region description, not the specific country.

Reload said: Smokers are still paying to smoke.

Duh. I still pay for bread and milk too. They aren't free to manufacture, so of course "Smokers are still paying to smoke." . heh.

Raider said: few words, ever seen a fat P.O.W?

Good point. It's mainly due to bad amounts of feeding by the captors and any forced labour they'd do would just make it worse.
bread and milk isnt isnt taxed at 300 percent
and the fat pow thing, dysentry. it does wonders for weight loss.
A_W
True. And it should be higher.
A_W
yup, that's the other thing i was trying to think of. Disease from poor living conditions.
but basically that just destroyed your argument. Cigarettes were taxed so high because they were detrimental to health, and the money woudl be absorbed by the government and hopefully indirectly spent on the health system.

so what they shoudl be higher, you just said that you buying bread and milk was akin to buynig cigarettes.
A_W
Which it is, you still have to pay for them. But im sure Reload actually ment "still paying" as in a way besides simple cost. Like "your ganna pay for that" , an extra negative imposed on an already poor choice of action.
Cigarettes were taxed so high because they were detrimental to health, and the money woudl be absorbed by the government and hopefully indirectly spent on the health system.

The government also justifies the tax by claiming the high price of cigarettes is a deterant. Unfortunately, the inbred retards who are still dumb enough to smoke still do so anyway. THe real problem is in poor white trash families where a price rise in ciggies means the kids get less/worse food. That really makes me sad.

We should have a system like South Korea where fat kids are made to do compulsory exercise.

So we should round up all the fat peoplejews and put them in concentration camps? Ingenious!

Fixed it :P
ever seen a fat P.O.W?

Since when are they letting fat people into the military ?
Yzaerg
As far as I know the reason people are homosexual is a mystery ie. you can't do a blood test or something to find out.
Its because they are f***ed in the head.
WhiteWolf
Its because they are f***ed in the headArse.

Fixed!
a_W: SA was a region description, not the specific country.

hahaha wtf are you talking about. Seriously can't you just acknowledge you made a mistake. No one would connect "wealth being controled by Afrikaaners" and "robert mugabe in zimbabwe" unless they had nfi about either of them. As with pretty much all of your arguments in this thread, you're speaking s***.
After the way ignorant people treat homosexuals you really think people choose to be ostrasized?