Considering this forum has been up for years, as far as i can remember, even when the dreamcast was here (and probably beyond)
I'll get in before anyone else does. Yes you probably should watch the sold. forums for me selling mine within a few weeks. Now thats out of the way, is anyone here even getting a PSP? Theres been alot of media hype over it, alot of good and bad reviews. Comments from "its just a PS2 in your pocket" to "they are the same games only portable" The appeal of some of "those games" being portable IMO is awesome. I've also noticed that EB is doing midnight launches aswell, which can only mean that the hype is working and they have pre-ordered s***loads. Are you getting the standard PSP or the "Value Pack" and what games? |
| #0 10:59pm 26/08/05 |
0z
Contemplating a PSP atm, dunno tho dead pixel issue got me concerned a bit, thinking might be best to wait till they use a better tft screen.
But as far as the console goes, protable gaming rig like that sounds great, coupled with a 2 gigabyte san disk for movies would rock. last edited by 0z at 01:29:24 28/Aug/05 |
| #1 01:29am 28/08/05 |
I will be, as long as it doesn't get lost in the mail :(
| #2 11:10pm 26/08/05 |
$400 is just too much for a hand held. i think ill wait until its cheaper at chistmas time.
| #3 11:12pm 26/08/05 |
I got the DS over the PSP, battery life was an issue. I also think the touchscreen and microphone + wireless will be better in the long run, even though the PSP has more grunt. I also like the backwards compatability with GBA games, I actually have more GBA then DS games for it :/
Spose that is another area PSP is better in, game availability. Tell you what Kaygen, when you sell yours for $100 I'll buy it ok :D |
| #4 11:22pm 26/08/05 |
Tell you what Kaygen, when you sell yours for $100 I'll buy it ok no i will! |
| #5 11:25pm 26/08/05 |
Irhabi
i was thinking bout getting it, but i think id stop using it affter a week or 2 so im not gonna bother.
| #6 12:20am 27/08/05 |
Tuco
DS - i think nintedno is approaching for more short games to play instead of massive. you can play mario kart 64 with 16 new levels and 8 player wireless with one copy which would be good if i caught public transport i guess
| #7 12:35am 27/08/05 |
I reckon it looks fookin' awesome, playing it at EB the other day. I just cant see myself using something like that. Portable gaming not my thang.
| #8 12:42am 27/08/05 |
AdamtehGreat
I got My PSP from Japan for $250 AUD around 3 months ago and LOOOOOVE it. That said, I love it ONLY becuase I can use it for Snes emulation and SCUMMVM gaming... the current PSP games lineup certainly isn't anything special.
Oh, and the movie compatablity is really s***ty atm. You can only use a specific MP4 compression at a specific res for it to work, which makes it super-gay for anyone who wants to just drag and drop their Xvid/Divx movies to the PSP before a long train trip. For $250, its f***ing gold. For $400, its a waste of money. You DO get a web browser on the new v2 firmware though... which is quite cool, even though it doesn't support flash as of yet. Thats my 2c anyway :) |
| #9 02:00am 27/08/05 |
A_W
PSP > All handheld entertainment devices. I do plan on waiting a couple weeks before getting one tho. |
| #10 02:02am 27/08/05 |
phatmike
for gaming, the ds > psp.
| #11 03:14am 27/08/05 |
Tuco
PSP > All handheld entertainment devices.^bait? last edited by Tuco at 10:33:51 27/Aug/05 |
| #12 10:33am 27/08/05 |
A_W
what?? |
| #13 10:34am 27/08/05 |
my friend got one a few months ago, there so awesome :D would love to get one if they werent so expensive
| #14 11:32am 27/08/05 |
Yeah, I couldn't be less interested in the PSP. The homebrew stuff sounds interesting, but I can already do all that on my XBox, and the selection of games doesn't interest me in the slightest. Its not much more than a shrunk down, underpowered ps2, nothing interesting there.
At least the DS is interesting. With its dual screens, touch screen and mic, at least it offers a unique experience. And now that games are actually starting to come out for it, its actually worth buying one. And yes, I am aware of the irony of me defending Nintendo, but what can I say, they actually did something right for once. |
| #15 11:37am 27/08/05 |
I definitely want one, but I don't want to shell out $400 and then not be able to play homebrew stuff. If I could play wireless network Doom with it I'd be definitely into it.
| #16 11:57am 27/08/05 |
bro got a 1st release/batch from japan. went for something like SG$580 at first release i think. It wasn't too bad, but meh, i can't see myself playing it that much.
However, our cat is loves to watch vids on the psp. http://images.ausimages.com/upload/2005-08-27/TN_gumbi1.JPG |
| #17 01:05pm 27/08/05 |
i think the psp is dongs,
so crap to play games on, only features worth noteing, nice screen. plays movies, play mp3s. ds rocks for games thus my choice goes there. |
| #18 01:23pm 27/08/05 |
rogue_squirrel
Ds > Psp,
400 bucks.. GTFO |
| #19 02:05pm 27/08/05 |
i bought my psp in japan back in april for just over $200, and its the version 1.5 so all homebrew works on it. if anyone wants to buy it for a slight discount on what you have to buy them for here ill be interested :)
or if you are really keen on having a version 1.5 psp just find one on ebay. theyre alot cheaper then retail |
| #20 02:14pm 27/08/05 |
Tim Tibbetts
I got Meteos for my DS the other day and it's f***ing awesome. I've played about 3-4 hours of it since Thursday so I'm pretty happy with that game.
DS is good because it's actually got games you want to play. It's got games you can play for 5 minutes while you're on the train, or meetier games that you could play for several hours at home in bed. The price is good - $170-$200, the battery life is excellent 10 hours or so, and although it's not tiny, it's portable since it's got the clam shell design. The PSP is 'interesting'. It's not exactly very portable, you will NEED to put it in something unless you want to totally f*** the screen up..so you need to carry around the case they give you. Also the screen picks up and shows dust pretty easily and can scratch. The battery life is only around 3-5 hours and most games require a reasonable investment of your time (console games on a handheld). Also, $400 is kinda sttep. It's good because there are games that you can play vs people around the world already! It's got a web browser and you can pretty much do any multimedia stuff on it. I own both, I don't regret buying either device, but if I had to give one away it would be the PSP. Still, it's personal choice, and I imagine plenty of people will buy a PSP because you can certainly show off with it...slightly harder with the DS because it's uglier, and the graphics are average. |
| #21 02:30pm 27/08/05 |
yeah ive been playing meteos at work quite abit, soo much fun, live playing it wireless too great stuff.
| #22 02:32pm 27/08/05 |
trillion
the PSP could do with an AM/FM/XM reciever, tears that only Japan gets a TV adapter.
| #23 03:03pm 27/08/05 |
yeah ive been playing meteos at work quite abit sounds like you get a lot of work done |
| #24 03:09pm 27/08/05 |
i work for centrelink man, we dont do anything but f*** people around and play video games all day.
| #25 05:03pm 27/08/05 |
i think a lot of ppl will buy the psp just for the gta:liberty city stories or whatever its called
| #26 05:22pm 27/08/05 |
Yeah, and Advance Wars: Dual Strike just landed for DS as well, that sounds like a must-have game. I've been trying to convince my brother he wants to buy Meteos, but hes not that much of a puzzle game game fan, so I have yet to play it. Got Kirby though, thats heaps of fun and crazy addictive once you swallow your pride and ignore the fact that you're drawing rainbows and controlling a cute little pink ball.
| #27 05:43pm 27/08/05 |
Tim Tibbetts
Advance Wars looks great..I'm going to give it a go, never played an Advance Wars game though so it should be even better for me I guess.
| #28 06:27pm 27/08/05 |
bonsai_boy
Well, I put in an order for my PSP at EB ($30 or something like that, and will pay it off the day it comes, September 1st).
The fact that I was never allowed a Dreamcast/PS/PS2/Xbox etc when I was growing up (OMG consoles are from hell etc... :/) means that I havent played any of the games that will be released on the console; thats the main reason why I want one, and watching movies on the way to Uni etc will be pretty cool. The day iPods were released, i skipped school to buy mine, and everyone "teased" (is a bad word) me, saying that I had just threw $600 down the drain... now all my mates are kicking themselves for not getting one earlier... i suspect it might be the same with the PSP. When the software gets better, and more games are released (im looking forward to GTA) the sales will pick up, but at the moment, only hardcore fans (or desperate game junkies) will get them i think... p.s. i was 18 at the time of this reply. |
| #29 06:30pm 27/08/05 |
A_W
p.s. i was 18 at the time of this reply. I can see you've aged alot since that post bonsai. :P |
| #30 07:19pm 27/08/05 |
The day iPods were released, i skipped school to buy mine, and everyone "teased" (is a bad word) me, saying that I had just threw $600 down the drain... now all my mates are kicking themselves for not getting one earlier I'm not kicking myself for not getting an ipod earlier; if you get one now you can get a 60gb ipod photo for just over $500. PSP is the same, it'll only get cheaper as time goes on, and by that stage some games actually worth owning might be released too, so its win-win. |
| #31 01:07am 28/08/05 |
i work for centrelink man, we dont do anything but f*** people around and play video games all day. Thanks for that statement Groydis, you have re-affirmed my disgust for scum sucking bureaucrats. Next time I see some deads*** in the street with a knife to some old ladies throat, I can turn a blind eye to it secure in the knowledge that pieces of junk like yourself and the f***sticks you work with give %100 of their efforts to deliver us all from evil and assist us in time of need. cheers. P.S. Where do I sign up Booyah? |
| #32 01:22am 28/08/05 |
AdamtehGreat
I just spent the last 1 hour of my batteries playing Chrono Trigger on Snes9xTYL(PSP). Goddamn thats a good game. Save stave ftw. Sucks to be you v2.0'ers.
| #33 01:23am 28/08/05 |
0z
Hmm wonder if theres a way to downgrade the firmware on the psp?
| #34 01:32am 28/08/05 |
Since when is it Centrelink's job to stop old ladies getting mugged or killed? Is Centrelink a front for a group of superheroes or something, X-Men style?
| #35 01:52am 28/08/05 |
0z
ahah centrelink employes are all f***wits, they dont give a rat's arse about helping poeple, side note mate of mine lost his job recently and told me his horror story...
i feel sorry for un-employed people dealing with cetrelink staff. on topic seems lots of development going on for psp tho you need older firmware, sigh :( |
| #36 02:02am 28/08/05 |
A_W
Cl is one of the worst performing government agencies out there. Not to mention there's an absurdly high number of rorting going on. And for people that aren't rorting, they barley bother to make sure you do what your sposed to do anyway. Also there's just something funny about being employed at the unemployment office. Just a contradiction of terms. I think so anyway. |
| #37 02:34am 28/08/05 |
phatmike
Meteos is awesome.
Been playing the e3 demo of it and electroplankton, theyre both very interesting and meteos is damn addictive. Nintendogs is a must buy too. Metroid Hunters got delayed till next year, but they are now going to add online play with the WIFI connection to it, so that will be great and should shift a lot more hardware units. PSP is pretty good for viewing videos, but like tim tibbets said, you gota be careful with it, the analog nub thing is s***, and most of the games are just ports and not that interesting. |
| #38 02:45am 28/08/05 |
no Khel but its where she will end up after being f***ed over.
| #39 02:51am 28/08/05 |
Tuco
Also there's just something funny about being employed at the unemployment office1 its more than a 'unemployment office' 2 it isnt funny because someone obviously has to do the work there how could it function without staff? |
| #40 07:30am 28/08/05 |
ahah centrelink employes are all f***wits, they dont give a rat's arse about helping poeple, side note mate of mine lost his job recently and told me his horror story... there is only 2 things that can go wrong when dealing with centrelink 1. you dont have the required documentation easily on hand thus it f***s you about. 2.you get told incorrect information. anyone who has delt with centrelink more then once knows how to get around all the s*** that can happen, and anyone with half a brain can work it out easily enough. and its not that we are lazy its more of the point that the government which you guys vote in provide s*** slack ass policys that allow us to sit around and do f*** all all day. so dont blame centrelink blame the government. i couldnt do more work if i tried. |
| #41 11:29am 28/08/05 |
If its really that bad you should be a whistleblower
| #42 12:03pm 28/08/05 |
Tim Tibbetts
I think that government needs a huge shake up. People that dont' do any f***ing work should be sacked.
I'm contracting with a QLD government department and there is at least half a dozen guys that do virtually nothing all day. One of which has gone to half a dozen 'closed door' meetings about his performance....yet nothing ever happens and he still sucks. There are so many people that would like a job, and would work hard, so why the f*** are slackers like him left with a decent job. It makes me so f***ing mad!! |
| #43 01:03pm 28/08/05 |
Centerlink encorages me to Spend all my money when I earn it and to take my holidays and not save any of it up for a 'rainy day'.
My quick story to show this: Whilst working at Ausy Post, I never took any of my holdiay's I just let them keep stacking up, I figure I'd keep em in case I get really sick or I'm stuck away from work for a week or two. Anyway saved up about 40hrs of work. I quit work so I could do uni full time (too many clashes of timetables). I goto centerlink who tell me that, ha ha sucked in, The payout money from your holiday pay counts as income for the 8 weeks after your last day at work. I WAS going to use that money to pay for my uni stuffs over the next 2 years. I SAVED that money for a productive purpose, to further my career. Funny thing is, if I had of been lazy and taken my holidays when I got them, and be at risk for not having enough days off work if somethen harsh happened. I would have started getting money from centerbling when I quit work. So it would have worked out that I would get MORE money for taking my holidays. Also having no real income for 8 weeks has really sucked away my savings, now I have only a bit left to pay for uni, maybe next 2 semesters if centerbling dont to find another way to rawt me. P.S. The guy at the counter was really helpful and could understand how much it sucked to be me at that moment. edit: I figure they are getting me back for the day I countered their rawting by previously getting them to date-stamp and photocopy everything I handed into them. CL: 'I'm sorry, you havnt handed in X paper work' Me: ' Yes I did, here is the photo copy with your date-stamp on it' CL: '...' Me: 'own3d, now gimmie my blings' CL: '...thwarted..' last edited by Tollaz0r! at 16:10:54 28/Aug/05 last edited by Tollaz0r! at 16:13:16 28/Aug/05 |
| #44 04:13pm 28/08/05 |
Centrelink = Psp?
| #45 04:36pm 28/08/05 |
i am confused by that too
| #46 04:57pm 28/08/05 |
Yer, didnt you know?
| #47 05:03pm 28/08/05 |
Greazy
Kaygen I am waiting for you to sell your DS if you have one :)
| #48 07:10pm 28/08/05 |
0z
Damn Toll that bites :(
My Mate was in a similar situation with holiday/leaving pay, bastards wont pay him for like 2 months or some s***, dunno the full details only what he whinged about. Back on topic any psp owners here, whats the go with the tft screen any dead pixels? Spoke to a dude at eb and he reckons there using diffrent tft screens for aus model then the jap/us psp's tho dont know how credible his source is... |
| #49 01:34am 29/08/05 |
AdamtehGreat
The word with Dead pixels: Sony are c***s. "You got a dead pixel? Sure! Send it back to us! We'll make 5 more then send it back to you." Thats the word I've got from most of the US/Jap dead pixel problems. So basicly, if you have a dead pixel (like I do
| #50 04:24pm 29/08/05 |
Tuco
heh it seems sony are going more for cool factor, useless additions and therefore higher cost and now trying to stinge on production?
| #51 07:19pm 29/08/05 |
ahah centrelink employes are all f***wits, they dont give a rat's arse about helping poeple, Sorry to bring up again, but if i was working at the centrelink office, and see some of the scum that i see lining up at the centrelink office - i wouldnt give a rats ass either. /hijack |
| #52 08:04pm 29/08/05 |
0z
Cheers for the info AdamtehGreat.
and fireblood, sif i care my mates a dumb f*** for loosing his job. :P |
| #53 10:01am 30/08/05 |
Taz
Im still thinking about getting one...I'll think about selling my DS to afford a PSP if anyone wants a DS for $170 with Mario, ive only played it enough to be charged 3 times so its in good condition.
| #54 11:29pm 31/08/05 |
phatmike
with the dead pixels thing surely you can run the app that flashes rgb continuously. I heard it fixes dead pixels, and it has also worked on the DS...
| #55 01:13am 01/09/05 |
That'd depend if its a dead pixel (the little lcd light which projects the color for the pixel is blown and completely not working anymore), or a stuck pixel. If its dead, I can't see how flashing anything on the screen could fix it.
| #56 01:38am 01/09/05 |
AdamtehGreat
Nah mike. The Pixel is dead. I have moved on.
Well now that about 2000 Brisbanites at least have their PSPs, Can you guys check the version you have? I have read reports of the european (seems we're included in that) PSP packs being released with v1.52. Now, if you have v1.52 and want homebrew FOR THE LOVE OF GOD DO NOT UPGRADE YOUR FIRMWARE! Apparently WAB (group) have worked out a way for force firmware downgrade on v1.51 and 1.52 systems. They'll be releasing a method soon apparently. Enjoy your PSPs Gentlemen. Have a (v2)background I just bashed together :D http://www.paperpolypixel.com/psp/gr_wallpaper.png |
| #57 02:09am 01/09/05 |
trillion
Whats the big deal about all this homebrew? I downloaded that Agena donationware fuffle and almost had a hemmy trying to figure it out, not at all like homeworld claim. Not that Im in any hurry to upgrade the firmware on mine from v1.50 to v2.0, but imo the most useful application doesnt even care which version firmware youre using (pspVideo9)
Anyone buying games from Liksang? Was thinking Mercury and GT4 when its available. |
| #58 12:21pm 01/09/05 |
AdamtehGreat
What the f*** are you on about? Playing mp4 files on your PSP isn't homebrew, its using the system with a movie folder in it.
Ever heard of K-EXPLOIT? Thats the 1.5 exploit which allows homebrew (read: user made code) applications to be played on your psp. THAT means: 1) Emulation 2) media centre apps (Divx/Xvid coming soon) 3) ogg players + visualisations 4) applications like notepads and stuff 5) hardware exploits (Exploiting IR and stuff for use with other products. eg. using the psp as a remote for your stereo) 6) ****z 7) Homebrew games Check out sites like PSP Updates and Maxconsole for exploit/homebrew news+ releases. Also: Apparently Yoshi (from wab I guess) is releasing the downgrader sometime today or tomorrow. Thats the rumor on IRC anyway. |
| #59 04:03pm 01/09/05 |
trillion
Youre kidding me you know how to use Google? Youre on your way mate.
I just dont see why theres so much buzz around the homebrew side of things for the psp, sure its neat running Linux/Win in the Bochs/other emulator or whatever else you want to do, but its a big stuff around and just seems like the next phase of wank factor. No keyboard No mouse just the analog input which moves the cursor one pixel at a time. Nothing worth keeping on the memory stick once youve seen it boot a few times. When the media centre programs/device integration improve like has happened with Xbox Media Centre then Ill tune back in. Also if someone gets Halloween Harry running on a DOS emulator with the digital pad input pass the instructions this way :-P |
| #60 04:48pm 01/09/05 |
0z
Id love to see a mame port on mips....but unfornatily its sad on ps2 but might be more intrest on psp hopefully.
| #61 04:52pm 01/09/05 |
AdamtehGreat
Trillion Shut the f*** up, patronising me like that. I practically live on PSPupdates so don't tell me whats f***ing what.
If YOU had used google OR checked the sites I listed you would see that there is in fact a dos emulator out (beta) and it runs some games (at low speed). also what the hell do you think the IR port and the USB interface can be used for? Exploiting either of these devices may very well lead to an easy keyboard shell for use with other apps. Also Mame emulation is available. Not sure how good it works because I havn't tried it, but I know there's been a few releases. |
| #62 10:37pm 01/09/05 |
Greazy
Question: How do you update your firmware? Do you have to download the update on the computer and then connect the computer to the PSP? Or Does the PSP let you update it if it picks up a wireless connection?
| #63 11:40pm 01/09/05 |
AdamtehGreat
It'll either launch from the UMD demo disc provided or download to your mem stick and launch from there. You need to yave your power plug in though for it to start. Once again, let me stress to you that you cannot run homebrew code on v2 systems.
Wab seems to have pushed back their release date with the downgrader, though they've posted more info on maxconsole about it. also, shells ftw: http://www.paperpolypixel.com/psp/alphabuild-r6.jpg last edited by AdamtehGreat at 15:32:07 02/Sep/05 |
| #64 03:32pm 02/09/05 |
trillion
Ok that shell is looking good, where on teh net did you bust that out from?
| #65 06:02pm 02/09/05 |
Tuco
typing must be fun on it
| #66 06:31pm 02/09/05 |
AdamtehGreat
The shell is called PSIx. It's being realeased by a guy called Naoneo.
I think his website is down atm, but its http://www.Naoneo.com |
| #67 09:23pm 02/09/05 |
| #67 |