zectbumo
Sometime this week I am going for my first tattoo or maybe two (both arms).
Does anyone know how long they take to heal? Can anyone recommend any good artists in Brisbane? Any other advice welcome. |
| #0 09:38pm 10/08/05 |
the emotional scars can only heal with your own passing into death
| #1 09:39pm 10/08/05 |
Buddy this is QGL not the arts department of UQ- not to mention most of us are smart enough NOT to go tatoos.
| #2 09:41pm 10/08/05 |
How does having a tattoo relate to intelligence? From previous tatto threads, I think you'll find theres quite a few people here who have them.
| #3 09:44pm 10/08/05 |
No one is stupid enough to get a tattoo right guyz ?
| #4 09:47pm 10/08/05 |
That has nothing to do with the obvious difference of opinion regarding tattoos that i posses. I don't wish to be a preacher so ill just say
(a) Tatoos make you like a bogan (b) they are ugly, no matter how "cool" you perceive them to be (c) why should you need to change your appearance anyway ? (d) they never come off! look like stretch marks when your older and if done incorrectly, well your f***ed. (e) whats the f***en deal with guns, barb wire s*** like that? why do you try to make yourself look tough?? I accept the fact some may disagree with me but im just trying to justifying MY opinion, thats all. |
| #5 09:49pm 10/08/05 |
mine healed in about a week.
nundah is good as far as tatooists go. well im satisfied. they are all pretty f***ing good man. if they arent the kinda get stood over by others in the industry (and youve seen tatooists) because bad tatooing gives the industry a bad name, hence no-one getting tattoed, hence loss of a profession for all. well so is my understanding.^^ i rekon go big but tasteful. |
| #6 09:49pm 10/08/05 |
zectbumo
Tiny I think your tiny.
| #7 09:52pm 10/08/05 |
i saw a d00d at the gym with blue stars on his upper arm
so much symbolism ... |
| #8 09:52pm 10/08/05 |
Yeah nice one, havent heard that before
| #9 09:52pm 10/08/05 |
why should you need to change your appearance anyway ? Ever bought a new pair of pants or a shirt because you like how it looks on you? Ever changed your hair cut because you wanted a new look? I dont see the difference, its not like we're talking plastic surgery here, its just getting pretty pictures drawn on you. Hell, I'd probably get a tattoo if I wasn't a fat f*** thats scared of needles. From the previous threads about tattoos, it seems most people dont get them to try and look tough, they get them because its something they like the look of, or it has some special meaning to them. They aren't getting tattooed to impress other people, they're just doing it because they want to do it, and whats wrong with that? |
| #10 09:57pm 10/08/05 |
(a) Tatoos make you like a bogan If you get a Metallica oriented tattoo, then yes, you look like a bogan and should be shot. Other than that you can get some very cool artwork placed on your body. Extra points for designing it yourself. (b) they are ugly, no matter how "cool" you perceive them to be< So people should be more concerned with your opinion on their tattoo and not get one in the first place? Dude, most people who have -decent- tattoos do it for themselves, not for you. (d) they never come off! look like stretch marks when your older and if done incorrectly, well your f***ed. Yeah it can look pretty ugly later in life. That's why it should be done with a decent budget in mind to get an experienced person to do it. (e) whats the f***en deal with guns, barb wire s*** like that? why do you try to make yourself look tough?? Read Metallica comment above :) Personally I don't have any tattoos but have been thinking about it for a while. |
| #11 09:58pm 10/08/05 |
Jem
Reason: Inappropriate |
#12 10:15pm 10/08/05
^^ NUKED
| #13 10:00pm 10/08/05 |
White tattoos ftw! If i were to get a tattoo i would get a white one.. but i understand most people would HATE it, and would prefer the black ink.
eg: http://www.malutattoo.com/custom-color-sun.jpg http://www.juliestattoos.co.uk/images/white.jpg Not those designs... but yeah you get the idea about what they look like.. |
| #14 10:08pm 10/08/05 |
got bean
AHAHAH JEM
f***ing ow |
| #15 10:13pm 10/08/05 |
mdma
those look cool joanna
| #16 10:15pm 10/08/05 |
masta_blasta
It tends to take about a week to heal, although you can take the bandage off a couple of hours after you get it done.
West-side tattoo is a good place. I got mine done down on the Gold Coast (but I can't remember the name). |
| #17 10:26pm 10/08/05 |
zectbumo
I never even knew you could get white tattoos. They look pretty good.
I have always wanted a tattoo since I was a teenager but I have always been in work positions that by having a noticeable one it may have caused problems. Things have changed and I know it’s not a problem now. I don’t know how intelligence has anything to do with it at all? That to me is just a ridiculous comment. I’m not sure why I want one but I know it’s not to look tough. I already look tougher then most and I don’t need a tattoo for that. I see it more as a way to express my inner-self. Whatever I get it will be a well thought out design and hopefully unique. I want to make sure I go to a very good artist as I have seen many dodgy people in my life in all sorts of occupations so I can be sure there are dodgy tattoo artist as well. I don’t want to hear the words “oops, sorry man…” when I am there. |
| #18 10:28pm 10/08/05 |
Go to little mick in the valley. I can't remember the shops name.. high energy or something.
| #19 10:43pm 10/08/05 |
the tattoes chicks get on their lower back, is just hot.
if i was to get a tattoo, i'd probably get it on my arm somewhere, wouldn't be big at all. but asif tattoo's i've got enough scars already. |
| #20 10:49pm 10/08/05 |
möoby
khel beat me to my point about changing apperance. Im replying to this thread cause im getting one between my shoulder blades.
| #21 10:52pm 10/08/05 |
I want to get a beatles one like greyden.
| #22 10:53pm 10/08/05 |
I've got three tatts. Yay!!
Can't wait to get more, just need to think of something worth while. |
| #23 11:01pm 10/08/05 |
Ecstasy
| #24 11:35pm 10/08/05 |
I'm sure I'd get something horribly nerdy if I did get one. Like some kind of secret message written in binary in a ring around my upper arm :P
| #25 12:08am 11/08/05 |
My wife and I got both our tatts done a couple fo years ago to celebrate our 20 years of marriage. Never ever thought I would get one.
We went to the guy on Samford road Alderley just outbound of the Alderley pub on the right hand side. He was very good. Just little ones, one on my r/shoulder of a Rose (thats the wife's name) and she got a 'D&R' with a nice vine along the bottom of it on her left hip. As I said I never thought in a million years I would ever get one but now when I see her tatt and look at mine it reminds me of the reason we got them. Our friends all thought it was a lovley gesture and considering we are a bunch of old goats that's saying something. This Saturday we are coming up to our 22nd anniversary but no more body art this time, were just going to have nice dinner out and get smashed. :P |
| #26 12:17am 11/08/05 |
Tattoos are fine as long as you get them for the right reason and you get something that means something to you. However, something that means something to you now may not in ten years or twenty years. So choose something carefully.
Hey all people are different. Some get tattoed on the spur of the moment, others plan for years etc. Personally I would be one of those people who would plan forever, but that's just me. I would want to know the tattoist's work, check designs, read magazines, look on the net; basically find out everything I could. I would particularly research the tattoist so that I knew I was choosing the best person for me. I would be very wary of getting the following: Bands (unless it AC/DC :) )--Bands come and go, as do people's musical tastes. I guess if you see it as a statement about a time in your life, that's fine. Just please don't get some horrible Green Day logo or some s***. Brands--Unless you're obsessed by some brand, I would avoid it. Like bands, companies come and go, and can change direction or turn bad. You don't want to get stuck with some stupid logo like Coke Is It! Celtic s***--Please, no more. Celtic tattoos are as played out as yo mama. See what I mean though. At first they were all cool and tribal. Now every man and his dog have one and they just say "I jumped on the bandwagon" to me. Naked Chicks--Cool for sailors and bikies. Depends what you are going for I guess. Stars, suns, moons, rainbows--Get original. Look around at other people's tatoos. Try to come up with something you've never seen before. I saw this chick once who had a metallic exo-skeleton totem pole thing runnning all the way up her spine. That was an awesome tattoo. Not on your face--Unless you are Charles Manson, this ain't a good look. Of course that's just my opinion. Do whatever you like, it's your body. Just remember that once you get that eagle clutching a lightning bolt perched on the shoulder of the naked chick with a Whitesnake T-shirt on and barb wire around her ankles, it's for life. |
| #27 12:21am 11/08/05 |
eagle clutching a lightning bolt perched on the shoulder of the naked chick with a Whitesnake T-shirt on and barb wire around her anklesI want that one. |
| #28 12:32am 11/08/05 |
A naked chick with a t-shirt on?
| #29 12:48am 11/08/05 |
Yeh like I said, something no one else has...a naked chick with a T-shirt on.
I bet no one else in the world has that tattoo... :p |
| #30 01:05am 11/08/05 |
Once I'm a buffed up (not as buff as acetame, but toned) I want to get a lion rampant done right on the top of my arm (just over the delts). The idea is that it's high enough to be covered by a short sleeve shirt so it doesn't f*** up job prospects in teh future.
Also, when your tat gets old and s***, you can: a) get it lasered off (not perfect, but the technology is slowly improving) b) get it reinked http://www.rook.org/heritage/euro/images/redlionrampant.gif |
| #31 01:35am 11/08/05 |
Celtic s***--Please, no more. Celtic tattoos are as played out as yo mama. See what I mean though. At first they were all cool and tribal. Now every man and his dog have one and they just say "I jumped on the bandwagon" to me. f*** off and die. I happen to be proud of my celtic heritage, and would like to display it. 99% of those s***ty "celtic" tattoos aren't even celtic anyway, some smacktard just made up a design to look celtic. It's an easy mistake for the untrained eye to make. |
| #32 01:40am 11/08/05 |
0z
Agreed with trin go see lil mick, hes the best :)
also dont get colour ones look s*** imho, black shaded tat's ftw. edit: meh yer celtic tat's own, let's see tat of a dolphin or something gay or really cool awesome celtic design... last edited by 0z at 02:10:04 11/Aug/05 |
| #33 02:10am 11/08/05 |
[qoute]Once I'm a buffed up (not as buff as acetame, but toned) I want to get a lion rampant done right on the top of my arm[\qoute]
why not get one now!! what are you waiting for? you think the lion will make you tougher? |
| #34 06:28am 11/08/05 |
Goody
he's concerned his muscles increasing in size (go Crizane !!!) will distort the tat if he gets it now. and pls Tiny, just say you dont like tatts and move on. thread does not say "/repeat sook about how bogan tatts are".
| #35 06:33am 11/08/05 |
im pretty sure its a given that anyone with a tattoo is either a criminal or a circus freak (same goes for piercings on boys or girls (other than ears))
i would never do that to my body my body is a temple /*heads off to maccas for brekky |
| #36 07:50am 11/08/05 |
Even temples have paintings on them.
| #37 08:09am 11/08/05 |
my temple is teflon coated
| #38 08:13am 11/08/05 |
0z
^^ lol.
| #39 08:14am 11/08/05 |
yer im thinking of getting a tattoo soonish aswell. Probaly the leo zodiac sign on my shoulder or inner right arm. =)
(will be in black tho not pansy red or gold :P) last edited by sc00bs at 08:18:22 11/Aug/05 |
| #40 08:18am 11/08/05 |
Aw, Tiny is trying to be tough on the internet. You go girl! |
| #41 08:35am 11/08/05 |
slap69
Does anyone know how long they take to heal? 1. Use bepanthemene cream.(sp). It's normally used on mothers nip's and babies asses. Scab will be off in 1 week, use cream for 3, NO SUN. Keep covered.Take pics while the ink is black, after a year it goes green. 2. Pyscadelic at Mt Gravatt is where I got all my tatts done. Cheap, on-time. The dude that looks like eminem is a Degree quafied whatever, and helped me put all my tatts from my imagination to my skin 3. Don't buy a tatt. Design one mentally that means something to you emotionally. Get it Hentai'd first, 2 months at least. Check the mirror A LOT before you get the ink done. That is all. last edited by slap69 at 09:02:38 11/Aug/05 |
| #42 09:02am 11/08/05 |
zectbumo
Thanks for the info mate.
Do they normally go green? Is there anyway around that? Also how long does the Hentai last? and do the place at MtGravatt do it? |
| #43 09:11am 11/08/05 |
I want a tattoo but I don't think I'd want it there my whole life... I want a happy medium between having it for life and those crappy temporary ones that don't really look real. I want one that lasts for say a year and looks real. :(
I wanna get one that goes from over the back of my shoulder blade, all over my shoulder and all around and down my arm to about 3/4 down my bicep. Cept I dunno what I'd actually want on it. I think tribal s*** looks cool on black c***s and Maori's, but looks f***ing gay on white people, so meh! |
| #44 09:31am 11/08/05 |
Don't think about getting a tattoo, go and get one. It's not like it's gonna ruin your life unless you get it done on your face.
8-) |
| #45 10:41am 11/08/05 |
darius
im going to get this one some time soon but same as crizane will wait a bit while im into this gym thing, from the last time i was into the gym routine i got stretch marks on my biceps so not sure if they will come back or can they be tatood over?
http://members.cox.net/adzimitrowicz/pollog~1.jpg |
| #46 10:57am 11/08/05 |
how am i trying to be tough typo? that was a comment not a threat.
| #47 11:24am 11/08/05 |
slap69
Thanks for the info mate. Do they normally go green? Yes Is there anyway around that? Yes, get it redone with new ink, traced yearly and do the place at MtGravatt do it? Dunno, I already knew what I wanted before I went in, just explained to him and did did it after a massive night on the bourbs, so it bled, cause my blood was thin with lot's of alcohol and vinegar in it. Plus I had an antihistamine. I'll post a pic later when I have time, a year ago, and now. |
| #48 11:25am 11/08/05 |
Bands (unless it AC/DC :) )--Bands come and go, as do people's musical tastes. I guess if you see it as a statement about a time in your life, that's fine. Just please don't get some horrible Green Day logo or some s***. I think band tatts are fine aslong as the band had been together for 15 or 20 years, a band that you've liked everything they've created and/or they've split up and cant screw up your impression of them haha... Ones I may get would be : Morbid Angel, Iron Maiden or something like that... |
| #49 11:48am 11/08/05 |
slap69
Design one mentally that means something to you emotionally that is the only reason anybody should alter their body permanently for. anything that can be tied to this statement somehow seems to be a fair reason? you dun need a fkn reason anyway, you own your body. |
| #50 11:52am 11/08/05 |
Deathwalker
Get it done at Westside Tattoo in West End by either Judd or Matt, they are both prob the best tattooists in Brisbane, very good clean shop too. If for some reason you cant do it at Westside next best would be all star tattoo.
| #51 12:38pm 11/08/05 |
Get it done at Westside Tattoo in West End by either Judd or Matt, they are both prob the best tattooists in Brisbane, very good clean shop too. If for some reason you cant do it at Westside next best would be all star tattoo. I got mine done there and I'm very pleased with the results. |
| #52 12:47pm 11/08/05 |
Mighty Mouse
Lil mick ftw! :) that guy is talented. He hooked me up.
| #53 02:44pm 11/08/05 |
Goody and Darius have the right idea. I've already got some stretch marks on my shoulders from working out. I don't wanna get a tat now that's gonna look all distorted in a few years.
| #54 02:57pm 11/08/05 |
Do they normally go green? My first tatt that I got done about 15 years ago is still black, dunno what you guys are smoking. Actually, none of my tatts are going green. The only green part on one of them is where there is actually meant to be green. |
| #55 03:06pm 11/08/05 |
0z
dunno what you guys are smoking. Something green? ;) |
| #56 03:09pm 11/08/05 |
Just don't get anything stupid like someones name over your heart OMG! Rev you have tatts????? I can't look at you the same way anymore last edited by Kat at 15:32:58 11/Aug/05 |
| #57 03:32pm 11/08/05 |
sLiNky
Well if you have tatoos you can't be burried in a jewish cementary.........................Go for it!
i might get one one day.............when im a little bit mroe in shape |
| #58 03:54pm 11/08/05 |
cant look at someone in the same way anymore?
I just found your nipple licking gif kat.. talk about not being able to look at someone |
| #59 03:57pm 11/08/05 |
N-Dude
May I ask what "Hentai"ing is? I'm supposing we're not talking about the scuzzy way?
| #60 04:21pm 11/08/05 |
Little mick ownz all when it comes to tattoo artists "High energy" tattooing in the valley i think they moved from st pauls terrace a mate at work has full sleeves and left leg all done by Mick and its simply stunning work. All my work was done by Expert tattooing @ stones corner but they went the way of the dodo (left calf and both shoulders) so think long and hard about "what and where" you get inked.
| #61 05:01pm 11/08/05 |
xJimmyx
http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/3668/knuckles5ix.jpg
last edited by xJimmyx at 17:03:44 11/Aug/05 last edited by xJimmyx at 17:03:47 11/Aug/05 |
| #62 05:03pm 11/08/05 |
And where do we get these free drugs.
| #63 05:25pm 11/08/05 |
LOLOLOL tips hat @ Shad LOLOL
| #64 06:02pm 11/08/05 |
Presdick
It may be geeky as f***, but I love it, in november for my 22nd im getting the stargate symbols for earth across my back in print about 1" x 1"
| #65 07:40pm 11/08/05 |
^^ does that mean that someone big ol jafa can punch the co-ordinates into your ring to dial homo? |
| #66 11:30pm 11/08/05 |
im getting the stargate symbols for earth across my back in print about 1" x 1" Ppfftt, boring. If you were going to do the Stargate reference, why not do something interesting, like getting your name or some message written in Ancient accross your back. |
| #67 11:41pm 11/08/05 |
i'm thinking of tattooing every girl's name i have sex with on my ass
edit: in Ancient last edited by Persay at 23:48:54 11/Aug/05 |
| #68 11:48pm 11/08/05 |
i'm thinking of tattooing every girl's name i have sex with on my ass And Persay shall die without a single tattoo on his body... |
| #69 02:40am 12/08/05 |
wolfieee
he'll be able to tattoo a lot of guys names on there though...
last edited by wolfieee at 12:10:00 12/Aug/05 |
| #70 12:10pm 12/08/05 |
slap69
Oh as if Rev, it is not black. They go green, that's how it is.
Also, http://sold.ausforums.com/x/1536545?agn=thread&id=2339172 |
| #71 12:12pm 12/08/05 |
Irhabi
hi dude, i dont really have a tat and i dont know any good places but i just wanted to say that when you go to get one try to find a "clean" place, from what i understand you can get some nasty things from those needels including AIDS.
not trying to put you off getting one, this is just a small warning to keep an eye out for dogey places. last edited by Irhabi at 13:09:28 12/Aug/05 |
| #72 01:09pm 12/08/05 |
xaltd
I got a tribal arm band (small) that went 3/4 way round my right bicep, Above sleeve so its out of sight when im wearing a shirt, with the Libra Zodiac sign in the middle.
I got it for me and no1 else =) Took about 2 weeks to heal fully, and you can take the bandage off about 1-2 hours after you get it done. I also got plain black ink for the band, and green for the zodiac symbol, which faded from light to dark green. I like it =) |
| #73 05:44pm 12/08/05 |
haha jimmy xMITCHx is a f***ing tool
EDIT: and the war is s*** too last edited by reload! at 18:29:14 12/Aug/05 |
| #74 06:29pm 12/08/05 |
xJimmyx
xThe.Warx were better than you all.
| #75 06:43pm 12/08/05 |
IM DTD OK
| #76 07:23pm 12/08/05 |
xJimmyx
rad. sif drink.
| #77 07:56pm 12/08/05 |
lol I'm not really. dtd people are just as stupid as sxe tools. Anyone who takes themself that seriously about anything is clearly a cock knocker
| #78 07:57pm 12/08/05 |
xJimmyx
LAL you really ain't a part of DTD. LAL.
You listen to pop-punk whatever, you ain't a part of nothin' |
| #79 08:00pm 12/08/05 |
Neither are you. You're just as much of a poser as the rest of them. You go from trend to trend and still pretend to be sxe for life!
| #80 08:02pm 12/08/05 |
xJimmyx
LAWL. you got me there.
| #81 08:05pm 12/08/05 |
What happened to being punk for life?
| #82 08:06pm 12/08/05 |
xJimmyx
I'm still punk.
Down with the system and all. |
| #83 08:11pm 12/08/05 |
| #84 08:12pm 12/08/05 |
Hey xJimmyx is that you in that picture?
that is seriously f***ed up if it is. like s*** dude you fully drew all over yourself! SOMEONE TAKE THE CRAYON OFF THAT GUY! |
| #85 08:25pm 12/08/05 |
I know someone who got H.T.I.D tattooed on his back! in HUUUGE letters apparently.
Anyone who doesnt know, htid means "Hardcore Till I Die" ie a "rave slogan"(if it could be called that, its so lame) Imagine waking up in 20 years and looking at ya back going "wow i was drug f***ed when i was younger" I found it funny anyway..... |
| #86 10:03pm 12/08/05 |
darius
got too impatient and just got mine done :|
http://members.iinet.net.au/~seroka/tat.jpg http://members.iinet.net.au/~seroka/tat2.jpg last edited by darius at 22:57:38 15/Aug/05 |
| #87 10:57pm 15/08/05 |
darius, pic doesn't work for me =(
| #88 10:43pm 15/08/05 |
darius
fixed also now that i look at it i think it could have been lower, oh well its not like i can rub it out and draw it again lol
| #89 10:48pm 15/08/05 |
fixed also now that i look at it i think it could have been lower, oh well its not like i can rub it out and draw it again lollol |
| #90 11:19pm 15/08/05 |
| #90 |